Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (145)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squeeze this one in
This is an excellent book for children from one to five - and beyond. The rhyming story and the colourful artwork appeal to very young children from the start while slightly older children enjoy `reading' along. The story is inventive, with just the right level of repetition and it pulls off the rare feat of being entertaining to the adult reader as well as to their...
Published on 23 Oct 2006 by MacCruiskeen

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars be careful what size the book is book
the book is really great but i made a mistake by ordering hard back not paper back and all our other julia books are large so just be careful what size it is .
Published on 21 May 2012 by casscurler


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squeeze this one in, 23 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for children from one to five - and beyond. The rhyming story and the colourful artwork appeal to very young children from the start while slightly older children enjoy `reading' along. The story is inventive, with just the right level of repetition and it pulls off the rare feat of being entertaining to the adult reader as well as to their audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A squash and a squeeze, 16 Jun 2002
By A Customer
A hilarious rhyming story that had myself and a class full of 30, 6 year olds in stiches!
Two delightful characters - a little old lady (essential grey hair in bun!) and a wise old man (long, curious white beard!)with the help of numerous farmyard animals assist the old lady to realise that the house she thought was tiny wasn't as small as she thought. An important lesson in appreciating what you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for any child's book collection, 17 May 2006
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
Another Donaldson/Scheffler hit! Wonderfully flowing rhyme and beautiful illustrations make it a joy to read especially if you don't mind putting on silly voices for the little old lady and the wise old man.

Your child will be introuduced to various animals who all move into the old lady's tiny house on advice of the wise old man causing chaos and her ultimate realisation that perhaps her house isn't as small as she first thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appealing & beautifully illustrated rhyming story, 14 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. My 2 year old daughter demands to hear it every night and loves the pictures, and because the rhyme is so funny and is perfect to read aloud, I don't get tired of reading it to her, so everyone's happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a squash and a squeeze, 26 Jan 2005
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Hardcover)
my three and a half year old just adores Julia donaldson books she likes looking at this one on her own after I have read it to her It teaches children ryhming or so i believe she is also an excellent author and shiffler is a fantastic illustator I would reccomend this book to anyone its highly entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous fun!, 16 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Paperback)
My two year old son is transfixed by the fun drawings and the silly rhyme - it could be set to music. Inventive and educational. Teaches kids about animals and the abstract notion of space and room. We all enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia Donaldson delivers again, 24 Aug 2007
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
We are a big fan of Julia's books in our house and have many of her others. Our 21m-old son loves the rhyming prose.
I agree this is not quite as good as room on a broom, but still definitely recommended and still 5 stars.
Great price too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Childrens Book, 25 April 2007
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
This is a very good book. I bought it as my 3 year old on liked some of the other books that the author had written, namely the gruffalo, the gruffalo's chid and room on a broom which are all excellent books.

However I did not find it quite so good as the 3 I have mentioned, mainly because its simply a bit less exciting...

As you can see from the other reviews it can tell your children lessons in life about valuing what you have, rather than hankering after other things, but 3 year old children like a laugh and a good story. This gives them both, but not quite up there with the others by the same author.

However still a very good childrens book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sing along, 5 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Hardcover)
I'm probably the only person old enough to be able to 'hear' Floella Benjamin singing this song as I read the book. The song was on a tape produced by the BBC many years ago in association with the much-loved children's programme Play School. Anyway, with or without music, this is a wonderful story that will help children learn to appreciate what they've got and not always be wanting more (probably!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love The Graffalo this book will not disappoint!, 4 Nov 2006
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
We bought this book because we love the rhyming prose and 'twist at the end of the tale' of The Gruffalo. It fulilled all our expectations and our 3yr old son and 1yr old daughter are delighted by it, as they are by the Gruffalo. Our son especially enjoys helping out saying the "My house is a squash and a squeeze" at the end of each 'verse'. I'm looking forward to our 2mth old son being old enough to appreciate it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Squash and a Squeeze Big Book
Squash and a Squeeze Big Book by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 5 Jan 2007)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews