Customer Reviews


259 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squeeze this one in
This is an excellent book for children from one to five - and beyond. The rhyming story and the colourful artwork appeal to very young children from the start while slightly older children enjoy `reading' along. The story is inventive, with just the right level of repetition and it pulls off the rare feat of being entertaining to the adult reader as well as to their...
Published on 23 Oct. 2006 by MacCruiskeen

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars be careful what size the book is book
the book is really great but i made a mistake by ordering hard back not paper back and all our other julia books are large so just be careful what size it is .
Published on 21 May 2012 by casscurler

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Squeeze this one in, 23 Oct. 2006
By 
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for children from one to five - and beyond. The rhyming story and the colourful artwork appeal to very young children from the start while slightly older children enjoy `reading' along. The story is inventive, with just the right level of repetition and it pulls off the rare feat of being entertaining to the adult reader as well as to their audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A squash and a squeeze, 16 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
A hilarious rhyming story that had myself and a class full of 30, 6 year olds in stiches!
Two delightful characters - a little old lady (essential grey hair in bun!) and a wise old man (long, curious white beard!)with the help of numerous farmyard animals assist the old lady to realise that the house she thought was tiny wasn't as small as she thought. An important lesson in appreciating what you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must for any child's book collection, 17 May 2006
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
Another Donaldson/Scheffler hit! Wonderfully flowing rhyme and beautiful illustrations make it a joy to read especially if you don't mind putting on silly voices for the little old lady and the wise old man.

Your child will be introuduced to various animals who all move into the old lady's tiny house on advice of the wise old man causing chaos and her ultimate realisation that perhaps her house isn't as small as she first thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appealing & beautifully illustrated rhyming story, 14 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. My 2 year old daughter demands to hear it every night and loves the pictures, and because the rhyme is so funny and is perfect to read aloud, I don't get tired of reading it to her, so everyone's happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a squash and a squeeze, 26 Jan. 2005
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Hardcover)
my three and a half year old just adores Julia donaldson books she likes looking at this one on her own after I have read it to her It teaches children ryhming or so i believe she is also an excellent author and shiffler is a fantastic illustator I would reccomend this book to anyone its highly entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wise Old Man...., 3 Oct. 2011
By 
Puzzle crazy (Walsall, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
I am currently completely in love with Donaldson/Scheffler books, and am working my way through the whole collection. I bought A Squash and a Squeeze about a year ago, when it was on BOGOF promotion at Waterstones. I bought this one and the Gruffalo, also by the same author.

The illustration on the cover makes it instantly recogniseable as a Donaldson/Scheffler book. I think it has something to do with the eyes of the characters! On the cover we see a bemused old lady with her animals, a cow, a goat, a pig and a hen. On the rear of the cover, we see a "Wise Old Man", whose kindly advice helps the old lady with her problem that there is not enough room in her house!

As with other books by this author, the story is in rhyme and has a bouncy rhythm to it. You can almost sing the words rather than read them. What I love about these books is the small details in the pictures that you don't notice the first time round. Also, I love the repetition in the text, in this case: "Wise old man, won't you help me please? My house is a squash and a squeeze." Because this phrase is repeated so often, I would defy anyone to read this book without their children having the urge to join in!

This is a fab book to read with kids, and will appeal to kids between the ages of 2 and 6. The beautiful pictures give you lots to talk about and the sing-song text gives lots of opportunity for audience participation. It is not a long or wordy book, and most of the pages are taken up with the large illustrations, so this is a really good book for helping young children with their reading skills.

In my opinion, everyone with kids should have at least one book by Donaldson and Scheffler in their collection, and although my first choice would be the Gruffalo, I would highly recommend this book too, which costs £5.99 for the paperback version, but as I have said, it is worth waiting for the special offers in Waterstones. Some books are good to borrow, others better to have in your personal collection. This is definitely a "keeper".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and educational - for now and later, 3 Feb. 2008
By 
Andrew Kerr "Alabony" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
A Squash and a Squeeze is a great book, with a deeper meaning than most small-childrens' books. It's a good enough, simple story with rhyming verses and nice illustrations, that lilts along at just the right pace for my 16-month-old daughter to choose it again and again from her shelf of bedtime books.

But it also has a deeper, more philosophical message for her to pick up later. And that message is essentially 'be thankful for what you've got, because your life could be a lot worse'. This, of course, is not an easy message for small children to grasp, but one which I think most parents would be happy for them to understand at some later point in their childhood.

All in all, it's a cheerful, colourful and educational book with messages on different levels for children from toddler age to young school age, I'd suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Childrens Book, 25 April 2007
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Squash and A Squeeze (Paperback)
This is a very good book. I bought it as my 3 year old on liked some of the other books that the author had written, namely the gruffalo, the gruffalo's chid and room on a broom which are all excellent books.

However I did not find it quite so good as the 3 I have mentioned, mainly because its simply a bit less exciting...

As you can see from the other reviews it can tell your children lessons in life about valuing what you have, rather than hankering after other things, but 3 year old children like a laugh and a good story. This gives them both, but not quite up there with the others by the same author.

However still a very good childrens book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous fun!, 16 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Paperback)
My two year old son is transfixed by the fun drawings and the silly rhyme - it could be set to music. Inventive and educational. Teaches kids about animals and the abstract notion of space and room. We all enjoy reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sing along, 5 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: A Squash and a Squeeze (Hardcover)
I'm probably the only person old enough to be able to 'hear' Floella Benjamin singing this song as I read the book. The song was on a tape produced by the BBC many years ago in association with the much-loved children's programme Play School. Anyway, with or without music, this is a wonderful story that will help children learn to appreciate what they've got and not always be wanting more (probably!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Squash and a Squeeze Big Book
Squash and a Squeeze Big Book by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 5 Jan. 2007)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Snail and the Whale
The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 3 Sept. 2004)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (526)   
Buy new£1.99
In stock

Superworm
Superworm by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 5 Sept. 2013)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (326)   
Buy new£3.00
In stock

Tabby McTat
Tabby McTat by Julia Donaldson (Paperback - 6 Sept. 2010)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (280)   
Buy new£3.49
In stock