Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for the prompt delivery of this reference book.
I would recommend this reference book for degree students studying English language related subjects, for example, English language and linguistics.
Published 19 months ago by mr david g silvers

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing radical, but effective
Although this book claims to be 'for students and non-specialists alike' somewhat school-masterly language such as 'be careful not to....' and 'you can avoid this mistake....', and what it covers give it away more as a book aimed at school and college students. In fact, the author is an examiner for A level English language and the book seems to be a clear, fairly light...
Published on 10 Jan 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing radical, but effective, 10 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Although this book claims to be 'for students and non-specialists alike' somewhat school-masterly language such as 'be careful not to....' and 'you can avoid this mistake....', and what it covers give it away more as a book aimed at school and college students. In fact, the author is an examiner for A level English language and the book seems to be a clear, fairly light introduction for such a reader. Having said that, if you've already read a general interest book such as 'Mother Tongue' by Bill Bryson and are interested enough to want a more in-depth, systematic account then this book covers an impressive amount of information in an accurate and informative way.
In the same way that the book takes the middle line between a textbook and a popular science book, it takes a fairly traditional approach to the task of describing the frameworks of English, whilst dealing with more modern ideas such as pragmatics (what people are trying to achieve through their language) along the way. Separate chapters deal with lexis (vocabulary), grammar, discourse (structures at greater than sentence level e.g. paragraphs and conversations) and phonology (pronunciation).
The strengths of the book are the explanation of jargon in the simplest possible terms, both during the text and in the glossary, and the fact that it covers so much in one compact volume (291 large text pages). It's major weak point is the fact that takes more of a descriptive than a self-discovery approach, meaning you are less likely to remember what you've learnt. For students, the lack of any practice exercises could also be a handicap.
.
It's not a book you would want to sit down and read through in a couple of days, but I found it an interesting read and learnt a fair amount despite having already read quite a lot on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for the prompt delivery of this reference book., 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frameworks of English: Introducing Language Structures (Paperback)
I would recommend this reference book for degree students studying English language related subjects, for example, English language and linguistics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Can be confusing for first years especially if you haven't done much about English language, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frameworks of English: Introducing Language Structures (Paperback)
I bought this book for university because it was on our set list. However I found it quite awkwardly written - it didn't seem like it was written for students. It made simple ideas confusing and I had to keep referencing back to other pages which was a bit annoying. Personally, if you have to buy this book for uni, I would try and find it in a shop first, have a look through and see if you can find something similar that isn't as wordy and explained in a more direct way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great resource book, 1 Oct 2009
By 
S. Barton (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Frameworks of English: Introducing Language Structures (Paperback)
If you're studying English Language at A Level, this book will be invaluable to you as a resource. I used this book with pretty much every piece of homework I was set, every bit of exam revision I did and for looking up anything I was unsure of in class. It has a glossary at the back which will help you to better understand linguistic terms, as well as a breakdown of the main 'frameworks' of English; Lexis, Semantics, Grammar, Discourse, Phonology etc. It is a well written, easy to understand book but still has enough relevant and useful content to aid you in your studies.

However, if you are looking for a more in-depth look at English Language (perhaps for beyond A Level), I would suggest Mastering Advanced English Language by Sara Thorne (ISBN 0-333-62832-2) which gives even more detailed information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Frameworks of a lesson?, 4 Jun 2003
By 
Jason Presley (Dela, Monte Negro) - See all my reviews
I found this book a little drab in that things arent really teaching, more like preaching. In other words, it didnt help me to practice nor develop, in fact, it was rather keen on cramming everything last minute.
On a more positive note I would like to say that the contents page was usefull as well as the section on grammar in the various stages of the "nonsence subject" as it states cleverly "Those who can do, those who can't... teach".
Avoid this book if what you want is a simple way to learn the frameworks and what goes into the development, I would consider reading the similar but MUCH more elaborate book by Kauffman who touched upon more topics, in less time, and without using all that teacher-esque talk mentioned in the above review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Frameworks of English: Introducing Language Structures
The Frameworks of English: Introducing Language Structures by Kim Ballard (Paperback - 21 Aug 2007)
Used & New from: 6.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews