Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read it if you want to understand capitalism
The book is of course a classic. I don't want to give a detailed academic review or critique, because I'm not qualified. I just want to explain its personal relevance to me.

I came to this after thinking about abstract questions after the financial crash in 2008. What are the theoretical justifications for the free market? What are the theoretical / pragmatic...
Published on 18 April 2011 by andy1980

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ideologue
It has taken me some time to read Freidman and I think there were no surprises. He writes convincingly and delivers some home truths about the failure big government. But he is a fundamentalist and ignores the failures of neo Paternalistic-classical economics for his own agenda. His work is rooted in the assumption that capitalism is inherently stable. Of you accept this...
Published 11 months ago by Timsread


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ideologue, 28 April 2013
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
It has taken me some time to read Freidman and I think there were no surprises. He writes convincingly and delivers some home truths about the failure big government. But he is a fundamentalist and ignores the failures of neo Paternalistic-classical economics for his own agenda. His work is rooted in the assumption that capitalism is inherently stable. Of you accept this his writing is difficult to argue with. However I would suggest recent events prove otherwise. His analysis of th great depression is a convoluted excuse that is an absolute contradiction in terms of u understanding today's monetary failure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that should be treasured by all freedom lovers., 19 Aug 2012
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
This is a great book by an extraordinary economist and political thinker, who firmly defended Individual Freedom and Diversity throughout his life. On the other hand, it is a book which will seriously upset all those that defend collectivism, socialism and, in the end, human slavery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More relevant than ever, 21 Jan 2012
By 
Brendan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
The financial crises has given me a great interest in economics and Milton Friedman here, spells out his ideas. I found it deaply interesting and very radical. I agree with his point in that government has become too overbearing and that the individual can best make his own decisions. When governement interferes, it leads to waste due to the bureaucracy and indeed it is goverment who have fostered big business - the current "big interests" who many blame for the financial crises. Redistubutative measures, condemn people to a life of servitude to the state. Like adam smith before he argues that it is individuals trying to better their own interest is the most fundamental concept and when someone intereferes with this though redistributative measures, tariffs, minumim wages, the results to not always follow the intentions. I think it is a great read and when you look at the overindebted western ecomonies with thier huge state/public sectors I believe some of this type of radical thinking is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage, yet compact, Friedman, 24 May 1999
By A Customer
In the tradition of Hayek, Friedman's Capitalism and Freedom attempts to show the dangers of centralized power. Although it is rather short, much like the Road to Serfdom, and lacks the comprehensiveness of a Free to Choose (also by Milton and Rose Friedman) it still comes across rather forcefully. His attention to principle's, something lacking in our 'pragmatic' politics of today, and his ability to come to logical conclusions is remarkable.
I gave the book five stars because I welcome such analysis and believe the book to have achieved what it set out to do (at varying points in the book Friedman would point out that this book is not meant to be 'thorough' in the sense of a complete exposition and refers the reader to alternate books for further discussion). A must read for all politicians and government types alike (whether in Canada or abroad).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a good book it is, 13 Nov 2010
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book as a way to learn more about ECONOMICS. I just read the chapter which is "government role of education", It does help me a lot. Moreover,in this chapter, he fully explained investing in human being training and capital, which is more much relevant to the contemporary society.Overall, it is a really good book to read and the person "MILTON FRIEDMAN",a legendary person in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Correlating economic freedom with political freedom, as only Friedman could have!, 21 Sep 2008
By 
Gaurav Sharma (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
This book, printed in various formats and languages, is some indication of the fact that Milton Friedman's arguments have not lost currency in the 21st century, even though many people hotly contest their rights and wrongs. The old master of economics hardly wastes time in triggering a debate by stating in the very first chapter: "History suggests only that capitalism is a necessary condition for political freedom. Clearly it is not a sufficient condition."

Capitalism and Freedom has been derided, criticised and lauded in equal measure and for Friedmanites it remains the bible. Love him or hate him, the author himself was never one to shy away from controversy. In this book he has pened his thoughts on issues such as the control of money, fiscal policy, role of government in educating the masses, distribution of income, social welfare measures and alleviation of poverty, among others.

Some of his one-liners and thoughts here are hugely engaging. Despite being vehemently opposed to Government intervention in free market economies, he writes that "the existence of a free market does not of course eliminate the need for government. On the contrary, government is essential both as a forum for determining the rule of the game and as an umpire to interpret and enforce the rules decided on."

The book is also packed with what some might interpret as below the belt remarks, if not properly contextualised. For instance, he writes, "With respect to teachers' salaries .... Poor teachers are grossly overpaid and good teachers grossly underpaid. Salary schedules tend to be uniform and determined far more by seniority." (Chapter 6: Role of Education in Government).

Overall, Friedman has made a case for what he construed as competitive and constructive capitalism and I immensely enjoyed reading the Nobel laureate's thoughts. The longevity of his chain of thought is perhaps what makes this book a valuable reference point. That aside, it has been written is an easy to read format which still fans its popularity over forty years after the first edition went to press.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. A classic relevant today., 29 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
It is surprising how relevant this book is to the present state of affairs having been written originally in the 60s.
Friedman goes through the issues of capitalism, freedom and related issues on an easy to understand manner; with a few exceptions where he gets a bit too technical for the general public (e.g. monetary policies). Nevertheless a very enlightening text by the Noble price.
A must read for anyone interested in liberalism, economy and politics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A manifesto for liberty., 28 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
This is the work of classical liberal considering how a free society should operate and what role the state has in a free society. To do this he considers some of the cases where the automatic assumption among many is that the government has to regulate, ban or provide services and argues, usually persuasively, that government intervention causes more problems than it can hope to solve.

There are instances where he proposes an idea that seems so extraordinary that it appears that only a madman, an ideologue or someone living in a fantasy world could even consider it, such as the case that abolishing medical licences for doctors would improve patient care, but then after examining the case it great detail the underlying assumptions believing in a need for licensing are demonstrated to be much weaker than initially believed.

The fact that it was written in a time when the intellectual climate was very hostile to classical liberal ideals is reflected in the manner in which he writes to persuade those who disagree with him rather than simply to preach to the converted, as so many current authors do.

As the title suggests capitalism is inextricably intertwined with democracy and that despite the sincere desires of those who wish otherwise, political freedom cannot survive without

This edition of Milton Friedman's seminal advocacy of classical liberalism includes two additional prefaces, one from 1982 and from 2002, in which Friedman discusses how his ideas have developed over the course of the previous 30 and 50 years. When the book was first published the ideas had no takers on the political stage, the age of free markets had died after the Great Depression. Yet by 1982 a few countries had elected government's sympathetic to his ideas and by 2002 some of his policies had been implemented with great success throughout the world. Whilst Friedman credits most of that to the experience of thestatist experiment rather than his advocacy of freedom he is being modest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 16 Oct 2005
By 
Geoffrey (London, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
Friedman is a very intuative economist, of this there can be no doubt. However, his correct intuition, in my opinion, stretches no further than economics. His chapter on political freedom for instance, has many holes in it, and although he raises some very thought-provoking ideas, in the end I felt it impossible not to disagree on many counts.
This said, I would strongly advise this book to anyone, beginner or advanced; it's simple style that presents challenging ideas will suit almost all readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A warning for our times, if a bit late..., 18 July 2009
By 
Conor Murphy "ronoc" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
Now is the time to get this book. If you wondered about how Big Ideas work in reality first look at communism, then read this book and look around you. Big Ideas do not work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6e1960c)

This product

Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition
Capitalism and Freedom: Fortieth Anniversary Edition by Milton Friedman (Paperback - 17 Dec 2002)
8.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews