Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite
I have several style guides for reference during translation work. This one is rapidly becoming my favourite ... which surprises me given how irritated I often am by some American (ab)use of English. It's main competition is the New Oxford Style Manual, which is authoritative, if a little "old school". Of the two I consider this book better when writing in English for a...
Published 2 months ago by Gareth Greenwood

versus
1 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Chicago manual of style
This is certainly a seminal work for anyone editing or proof-reading material in American English. The particular book that I purchased is in mint condition and I'm very satisfied with it!
Published on 28 April 2012 by JessMn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
I have several style guides for reference during translation work. This one is rapidly becoming my favourite ... which surprises me given how irritated I often am by some American (ab)use of English. It's main competition is the New Oxford Style Manual, which is authoritative, if a little "old school". Of the two I consider this book better when writing in English for a modern global audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Copyeditors' bible, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
No self-respecting copyeditor would be without this manual - especially as it is the usual style guide for most publishers. While we may not always agree 100% with some of the rules, we still need to respect them. This is an absolute necessity - and it is clearly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicago Manual of Style, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
This is a must-have for anyone who is editing work for the American market, and who needs to know how Americans prefer puntuation, spelling etc. Everything you'll need to know is in here regarding the correct way of doing things. Any proofreader or editor will come across something that needs clarifying and will find the help given here really invaluable. I can't do without this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Item, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
As an English Author I have to say I prefer The Oxford Dictionary for Writers and Editors and Hart Rules - however this book is comprehensive and has everything you need for consistent style and American English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must have for all writers, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
Consistency is key to style and with this book a writer can be sure of being consistent as it is clear and easy to understand and very comprehensive. I don't know how I did without it till now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, 11 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
I'm a writer and freelance editor/proofreader and this book is my bible. I use it for every little query I have and it never lets me down. I'd be lost without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For style a Necessity, 14 May 2013
By 
Dr. G. Kennedy (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
Comprehensive, though I am uncomfortable with US spelling. Authoritative and it will help you when preparing your manuscripts for publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
This is an extremely useful manual for writers, editors, and students using Chicago style. I first had the 30 day trial for the online version of the manual and though it wasn't bad I thought the hard copy would be more useful and easier to navigate. I was not wrong. The only negative comment I would make is that the book arrived with slightly dented pages. Not really a problem, but considering the price it was a bit unfortunate. Otherwise, very speedy and prompt delivery, as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference work, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Roderick D Crews (Frome, Somerset, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
Set out very well, as you'd expect, and whatever you want to query seems to be dealt with in professional style. Recommended highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Standards and rules, 16 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers (Hardcover)
There is much to learn. I need the CMS to know what I do wrong by some accepted standard, or to check how things should be formed nowadays, as standards and rules slowly change. I hope the 16h ed. will appear as a CD soon at an affordable price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chicago Manual of Style: The Essential Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers
39.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews