Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Love this book. So interesting and insightful. Very easy to read.
Published 6 months ago by DR H.

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a bit repetitive
The basic proposal of the book is that non-human animals have 'morals'. The definition of morality is not as I would define it. Using a narrow definition, they authors basically say that other animals have 'rules' as to how they behave in their own societies. It is not really ground-breaking and their evidence is Ok but repetitive. It's more of a 'filled'out' booklet than...
Published on 30 Sept. 2010 by Anne Spencer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but a bit repetitive, 30 Sept. 2010
By 
Anne Spencer (Clifton Campville, Staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild Justice: The Moral Lives Of Animals (Paperback)
The basic proposal of the book is that non-human animals have 'morals'. The definition of morality is not as I would define it. Using a narrow definition, they authors basically say that other animals have 'rules' as to how they behave in their own societies. It is not really ground-breaking and their evidence is Ok but repetitive. It's more of a 'filled'out' booklet than a book. But could stimulate discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Justice: The Moral Lives Of Animals (Paperback)
Love this book. So interesting and insightful. Very easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a scientist that explains the truth about wildlife, 20 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marc Berkoff explain with absolute clarity animal behaviour and understand completly that animals experience the same feeling and emotions as humans do. He explains his research finding with absolute clarity.

Mark reminds us that in order to understand animals, we will not find the answer by dissecting them, injecting them with harmful chemicals or keep them in an unnatural laboratory environment, which does include zoo's. Marc is no quack or ageing hippie, but a highly respected Professor at Harvard in the study of Animal ethology

A fabulous book written by a first class psychological ethologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars animal morality, 3 May 2013
By 
J. oconnor (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Justice: The Moral Lives Of Animals (Paperback)
I bought this as a gift for a relative, but had a quick peek before sending it off. It certainly looks very good and is on a topiic that is of great interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Justice: The Moral Lives Of Animals (Paperback)
I love Marc Bekoff's books and this is one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Justice: The Moral Lives Of Animals (Paperback)
100+ pages on an idea that could be serviced in 20.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is not Science! Only speculations!, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As another reviewer writes (on Amazon.com); too much "cover your ass", actually so much of it, that it works the other way around!
It Got me thinking "when they have so much to explain, then they have a very weak case".
As an example (which very nearly caused me to throw the book directly in the bin); on page 43:
"... What we see on the outside tells us a lot about what's happening inside animals' heads and hearts ..."
IN THE HEARTS???
How?
If the writers still thinks that morality resides in the heart, they have a very Big problem!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Justice: The Moral Lives Of Animals
Wild Justice: The Moral Lives Of Animals by Jessica Pierce (Paperback - 25 May 2010)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews