Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOING ROUND IN CIRCLES
The best book I have read since my son died three years ago. Grossman is a master of metaphor. He knows about a parents grief inside out - its complicated and simple both at the have all been stripped away. When the man decides to go there, there is of course no 'there' and his wife knows that if he goes he will not come back - all bereaved parents will have expressed...
Published 6 months ago by Jimmy Edmonds

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great read if you fancy being plunged into deep blue, sad times.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs L Godfrey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOING ROUND IN CIRCLES, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling Out of Time (Hardcover)
The best book I have read since my son died three years ago. Grossman is a master of metaphor. He knows about a parents grief inside out - its complicated and simple both at the have all been stripped away. When the man decides to go there, there is of course no 'there' and his wife knows that if he goes he will not come back - all bereaved parents will have expressed this desire to see their child just one more time and most will have contemplated suicide as the means to that end. Grossman explores the horror and the ultimate impossibility of such thoughts with huge imagination - grotesque in parts, certainly otherworldly but always grounded in real emotion. Written as a long form poem and presented as a stage script Falling out of Time has echoes of both Shakepeare and Beckett and will be read as such. But it is no less original for that.

When my son died - time did indeed stop. And I have been going round in circles ever since. I am now more ready to accept this as my own fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving and simply brilliant, 1 Mar 2014
By 
L. Winn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling Out of Time (Hardcover)
Most unusual and a book that touches on so many depths. If you are finding your way through loss; work with bereaved; simply want to read something different, then I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing storyteller, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Astonishing book if hard to follow st times. Highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys poetry as well as prose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falling out of Time, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Falling Out of Time (Hardcover)
Set in a nameless village, this is a harrowing account of a group of grief-stricken parents mourning the death of their children. Written in very short sentences, the novel takes the form of a long poem of mourning. The sparse use of language and visceral flow of words captures the horror of parental loss in a way I have rarely seen. Each page gauges your emotions and you reach the end feeling emotionally utterly drained for you too have vicariously experienced this unbearable loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read if you fancy being plunged into deep blue, sad times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Falling Out of Time (Hardcover)
haunting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Falling Out of Time
Falling Out of Time by David Grossman (Hardcover - 6 Feb 2014)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews