Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving fable
Niffenegger's art and writing come together to create a mythic story about a postman who goes to deliver a letter to a nest and finds a raven chick. Panels of text are interspersed with full page panels of Niffenegger's drawings, much in the style of a fairy story.

The postman takes the chick home and she grows and fledges but always stays close to him. In...
Published 10 months ago by Jo Bennie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A promise unfulfilled
When I read about Audrey Niffenegger`s Raven Girl project on Goodreads, I was fascinated and ordered the book. Here was an author/illustrator who worked hand in hand with a choreographer, Wayne McGreggor of the Royal Ballet in London, to create a book and a ballet. There's a distinct appeal to linking across art forms in a quest for new ground. The story idea was...
Published 9 months ago by Alan McCluskey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A moving fable, 23 Aug 2013
By 
Jo Bennie (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
Niffenegger's art and writing come together to create a mythic story about a postman who goes to deliver a letter to a nest and finds a raven chick. Panels of text are interspersed with full page panels of Niffenegger's drawings, much in the style of a fairy story.

The postman takes the chick home and she grows and fledges but always stays close to him. In time they fall in love and have a child, hatched from an egg but human in appearance. Raven Girl cannot speak, only caw, and is more interested in raven stuff than child stuff but she is bright and intelligent. As Raven Girl grows she realises she wants to be more raven and sets out to try and find a way to have wings and fly.

I was touched by this story, it's full of metaphor about flight / inspiration / freedom and as with all fairy stories you need a little suspension of disbelief. The metamorphosis elements of all the best stories are there, a touch of the myth of Leda and the deep human need to find a place where we belong. Niffenegger's drawings are just lovely, beautifully observed and her use of muted colours with a few significant patches of red complements and tells the story along with the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper fairy story, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
Written in the style of traditional fairy stories, this time as a starting point for Wayne McGregor to build a ballet.
All the right ingredients, love in an unlikely match, sometimes dark, metamorphosis, a prince.....all illustrated with Ms Neffenegger's own aquatints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange but compelling, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Matthew Pritchett (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
I loved the illustrations, the story is very odd, in the tradition of a fairytale but modernised to include themes such as metamorphosis through plastic surgery. It's quite dark and not really for children, but worth owning as a lovely book to look at. See the ballet it inspired if you can- it's incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A promise unfulfilled, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Alan McCluskey (Saint-Blaise, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
When I read about Audrey Niffenegger`s Raven Girl project on Goodreads, I was fascinated and ordered the book. Here was an author/illustrator who worked hand in hand with a choreographer, Wayne McGreggor of the Royal Ballet in London, to create a book and a ballet. There's a distinct appeal to linking across art forms in a quest for new ground. The story idea was fascinating, too: a postman falls in love with a raven and they have a girl together, who, when she grows up, longs to be a raven and fly. From the word go, it smacks of tragedy and possibly unrequited love.

The book itself, when it arrived by the post, was particularly attractive, with its clever jacket design, by Audrey Niffenegger, signifying simultaneously the girl and the raven as one. In addition, the red of the hardback cover peeking out from below the jacket matched the red lines of the girl and the gold tinted edges to the pages promised richness.

My first disappointment came when I opened the book and discovered it was a long story told short. I had expected a novel and I got a fairy tale. I suppose it is unfair to judge a book not on itself but on my expectations of it, as a reader. All the same, it was frustrating to have to sail over a multitude of story avenues that begged to be explored and developed. The story had so much potential that remained unused.

I know little of the fairy-tale genre, so I can't judge if the frequent jumps in narrative were due to a "fairy-tale" license that allowed the author to leave gapping, often inexplicable, holes in the story. Whether that is normal or not, it disturbed me. In particular, the way the story abruptly came to a close leaving me feeling short-changed.

Review originally published on Secret Paths: http://about-books.secret-paths.com/?p=249
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raven Girl by Audrey Niffegger, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
A true 'Chimera'
Raven Girl was an unexpected fantasy tale. A 'page turner' read in one sitting as the characterisation was so believable.
Very enjoyable indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Ravenously mediocre, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
Best known for her novel The Time Traveler's Wife, a book I've never, nor ever will, read, I'm familiar with Audrey Niffenegger's "illustrated novels", all of which I've read. The latest, Raven Girl, is a modern fairy tale conceived for a dance production, and is also the least interesting of the four illustrated novels.

A postman and a giant raven produce a human girl who wishes she was a raven. When she grows up and enters university, she meets a visiting biology professor who reluctantly agrees to graft wings onto her and does. Raven Girl flies - the end. It's Hans Christian Anderson meets Dr Moreau!

This is a fairy tale so I'm not going to critique the setup, but I will say that it's not a very imaginative fairy tale. It basically follows the archetypical metamorphosis trope found in nearly every fairy tale - frogs turning into princes, princesses turning into swans, and so on and so forth. In this book, a girl turns into a raven. Yeah - and?

Art-wise, Niffenegger paints and draws in the same style as she did in her last couple of books but with much less visual flair - The Three Incestuous Sisters and The Adventuress both had much more eye-catching and memorable art than the few drab illustrations in Raven Girl. The book is really well produced though - glossy, high quality pages are used and the book feels and looks well-made.

I can't pan the book entirely because it's designed for a dance production and there's only so much you can put into a story that would work within a dance show, so it needs to be necessarily simplistic. That said, reading it isn't much fun and it's story is all too forgettable. Maybe as a dance it's great - I'll probably never see it - but as an "illustrated novel"? Nope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars intriguing, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
I bought this for a friend, she loved it, thanks - very quirky and with excellent illustrations ! highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's fine but lacks the zing at the end, 30 July 2013
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
"Once there was a Postman who fell in love with a Raven." So starts this tale of an unusual, but not a forbidden, love. The love story ambles along and develops, which is a surprise in itself. Then along comes a half-raven girl child with the mind and desires of a raven trapped in a girl's body. This girl is called simply "Raven Girl," and we study biology along with her.

A visiting professor, "The Doctor," who "looked fairy ordinary," was however, capable of miraculous transformations in his laboratory. It is during her biology lesson that the modern world properly intervenes with stem cells and operations. Raven Girl asks for an operation to give her a raven's wings so that she may fly. The Doctor replies to her wish quite honestly, "I don't know if I can do this ... Most of the things I do for people are aesthetic, not functional." The book is itself beautifully presented - the drawings are haunting.

There are some ups and downs as are expected in a fairy tale, but not in a direction the reader would necessarily expect. There is originality shown. Is there a fable in here? Is this a morality tale? If so, it might be about mixed-gender individuals who identify with one gender while their body conveys the other more strongly. That is only one postulation. My gripe would be that there isn't the sense that the highly-read author is giving a message. The words "fairly tale" are included in the book flap, which conveys the authorial intention to this reader. Isn't the whole point of a fairy tale to leave a message that lingers with the reader? That is what the time immemorial fables do. The lack is the reason for this score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book as a basis for a ballet, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Francis Ball (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
The book was written as the basis for a ballet. In the same way that the most famous classical ballets are based on impossible fairy tales, the story in this book is an impossible fairy tale.

In the tale, a postman mates with a raven, who lays an egg. A baby girl comes forth from the egg and she develops in the same way as any other human female but with light hollow bones. She then encounters a doctor who is able to replace her arms with wings. This is a fairy tale suitable for children, so nothing whatsoever is made of the mating or of how the girl manages without arms. The only moral issue raised is the replacement of the girl's arms with wings. In the end the girl becomes united with the raven prince.

The book is probably necessary reading for those with tickets for the ballet. It is an easy read.

As an object, the book is a pleasure to handle and read. It is nicely laid out and illustrated with childlike etchings. The page quality is high. The edges of the pages are blocked in a very dark shimmering colour. The dust jacket stays in place when the book is read. The book is probably the nicest book to handle that I own.

However, the story is quite short, there are few words on a page and the book can be read completely in a couple of hours, so you don't get much story for your money.

Grimms fairy tales have a moral, Christian, basis. The prince, for example, represents the saviour. However, I found difficulty in discerning any moral meaning in this book, other than the point that there is part of our nature that cannot be changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The raven girl, 9 Jun 2013
This review is from: Raven Girl (Hardcover)
I ve read a few of audrey books but I just could not put this book down. I just had to read throughout the night. Amazing story yet again Ms Niffenegger!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raven Girl
Raven Girl by Audrey Niffenegger (Hardcover - 2 May 2013)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews