Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
what an interesting delivery of a long-known subject. I bought two, one for my husband and one for his son and grandson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book and will be a collection item in the future. The print production quality is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great War a novel way to present the battlefield., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
Very interesting, Im going to Belgium this Spring and I'll take it with me. Clever way to present the battlefield of World War 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous read, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
This is a well written and illustrated book. A great read for
those interested in the First World War. I bought it as a present for
my husband who has thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great War, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
Bought this as a Christmas present for a family member as it was significantly cheaper than buying it in a shop. I was impressed with how well it was packaged and how quickly it arrived :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pictures speaking louder than words, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
A beautiful panoramic book that is sobering in its depiction of and notes on the Somme. It is an adult book but the black and white picture has lots of details for children to look at and find and it is not too gory, so would be suitable for schoolchildren doing WW1 at school- but as you unfold the picture and read the accompanying notes the sadness and terrible toll become clear. To me the portrayal of the battle in drawings and simple notes seemed more effective than any number of documentaries with voice overs.

It is also beautifully presented and packaged so will be one of those special family books to look at together and treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Hester Bee (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
A great discussion point and hours of pouring over the drawings. Felt their was something too 'nice' about it though, compared to the horrors of what it was portraying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning visual record, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for historian, it's absolutely stunningly in the detail of the battle.
I can't believe it was only 20.
Buy it for anyone interested in WW1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic publication, 1 Jan 2014
By 
R. MCGINLEY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
Sacco's work in this book is utterly amazing. Thought provoking, detailed, informative and very powerful, the addition of the description booklet puts the incredible artwork into context.

Please do not hesitate to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for First World War buffs!, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War (Hardcover)
This unique book/panoramic frieze contains so much detail, that many happy hours will be spend studying it closely. The text is good, but the drawings are really worth sharing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great War
The Great War by Joe Sacco (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews