Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Food Fairy Tales For A Modern World
A single story thread of The Storyteller of Nord ties together a wonderful set of other stories of the beginning of world, love, hope, manipulative Gods, a bit of violence (nothing above a U/PG rating for sure), and all those other great things that make myths and fairy tales so much fun!

There's an undeniable English Wit here, from little textual asides, to...
Published 13 months ago by Marshalsea

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and intriguing, but ultimately more of the same.
This book's premise - that it is set in a forgotten era of earth's history - is not a new one but the storytelling is playful and pacy and the artwork appropriately primitive and shadowy.

Rregular readers of fantasy, though, will notice many more cliches being wheeled out - fantasy analogue cultures (renamed versions of Inuit and Vikings) and rehashed myths...
Published 1 month ago by Rgills


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul Food Fairy Tales For A Modern World, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
A single story thread of The Storyteller of Nord ties together a wonderful set of other stories of the beginning of world, love, hope, manipulative Gods, a bit of violence (nothing above a U/PG rating for sure), and all those other great things that make myths and fairy tales so much fun!

There's an undeniable English Wit here, from little textual asides, to little bits in the art itself. Ms Greenberg has created a lovely place to escape to and has managed to capture something of that childhood wonder.

Yet more proof (isn't it about time that the stuffy old Literati gave up denying it?) that Graphic Novels should not be derided, and are of the great tradition of storytelling. This is a perfect present for anyone young and old who will open up to the possibility of a great story from a Graphic Novel.

Do not read the synopsis, do not read any spoiler reviews, just delve straight in and be lost in a wonderful world where you can find out what happens to The Storyteller and what has happened in the world he lives in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Combines comic format, mythology and drama delivering interesting story collection that can be recommended, 24 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
"The Encyclopedia of Early Earth" written by Isabel Greenberg is intriguing book that combines the comic format and interesting story about the ancient civilization that existed before our own, on this planet.

Inside this graphic novel reader can found many stories that are told by boy who is member of fictional culture while he's on an expedition from North to South Pole where he'll meet his love, though their love won't be completely happy.
Reason being our planet has provided them different fate than the one they want, while Earth magnetic field will prevent them to ever touch again.

And while his life is passing, full of solitude and longing for a distant love, a man from North will tell us many stories, to fulfill the emptiness because he cannot be with his beloved...

The stories author delivered in his Encyclopedia fit perfectly into each other, while author delivers one myth after the other, many times bringing smile on reader's lips.
The novel illustrations have been made in an interesting way, usually in black and white technique, sometimes combining them with other colors when author wants to point out something, producing innocent looking pictures even in situations when the story will be bitter.

Although many myths that can be found inside will be known to reader, the author combined them with some unknown stories, and using above mentioned humor all together results in compilation that looks interesting and modern.

Therefore, this unusual experiment that made good use of graphical novel form in a literary way can be both recommend to young and older readers; given its genre is difficult to determine I recommend you to give it a chance if you like comics, mythology or drama because a bit of everything of these you can find inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, quirky graphic novel, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
The Encyclopedia of Early Earth is a graphic novel that follows a storyteller as he travels from the North to the South Pole to look for a lost part of his soul. He finds it being taken care of by a girl he meets at there. He and the girl fall in love but appear to be magnetically repelled by each other and are unable to touch (this is mentioned at the start so is in no way a spoiler).

The book recounts the stories and adventures our storyteller has experienced along the way. He collects stories from the various people he encounters, which cover a variety of folktales, and the beliefs of the people. We also get to hear about Birdman (god) and his children and how the Earth was created, as well as stories that have a familiar biblical feel - the great flood, splitting a baby in two (or three as the case may be).

The stories are told in a quirky voice which works for the most part. Occasionally, a phrase will be used that feels too modern for the setting and I know it is probably intentionally done but it grates slightly in places. Otherwise, it is nicely written and humorous.

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth is a lovely book. Before you even delve inside it looks nice on a shelf. My copy is hardcover and the faint drawings you can see are actually shiny and slightly embossed. The inside looks a bit like it has been drawn in fountain pen. Isabel Greenberg says at the end that she had a font made of her handwriting - it is so neat. The art style is effective, mostly using a minimum number of colours on each page.

I really enjoyed reading this. It was a nice, uncomplicated read that gave me a break from heavier, more intense books... and it smells like crayons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Earth is Enchanting, 17 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
I loved this book. I'm very new to graphic novels and I saw this book at a comic fair and I just had to buy it. It was a good decision. The central characters (insofar as there are central characters in this gorgeous smorgasbord of stories) really felt alive to me, and held the book together. I've now lent the book out (twice!) so I haven't got it to hand, but Isabel Greenberg's pictures of the pair and their story have stayed in my head and heart. Early Earth, with all of its stories, seems like a very rich place to live. Greenberg shows remarkable skill in bringing it to life, and above all, imagination. Buy it now! You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
I had to read this in one sitting because the story was so emotionally compelling. The art style is homogenous and endearing and I love the way the writer/artist mixes motifs from different cultural backgrounds. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very popular with teens and young adults, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
This went down very well with my 19 yr old daughter and her boyfriend. This particular book had a lot of praise in the press and does have terrific appeal in it's quirky way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well-written and intriguing, but ultimately more of the same., 29 Oct 2014
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
This book's premise - that it is set in a forgotten era of earth's history - is not a new one but the storytelling is playful and pacy and the artwork appropriately primitive and shadowy.

Rregular readers of fantasy, though, will notice many more cliches being wheeled out - fantasy analogue cultures (renamed versions of Inuit and Vikings) and rehashed myths abound. The storytelling is - just- enough to save this though and I hope Isabel Greenberg will be able to develop her obvious imaginative and literary talents in future works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and unique book., 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for someone. They loved the art a lot and enjoyed the story.
I also read it myself. It offers something completely different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and knowing in a good way., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
This is wonderful story telling. Encyclopedia is the right term if you like to open a reference book or go on the Internet and go wandering. Here you are guided on your journey around early Earth by very good company. I shall be making return trips on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Hardcover)
Love this book, brilliant illustrations very different, interesting story. Its a treasure. Looking forward to Isabel's next offering. go girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth
The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews