Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timely and entertaining book with a serious message
This is a book about bumblebees, their ecology and behaviour, and why populations of many species have declined. It's also a book about what it's like being a research ecologist and a plea for conservation action.

The book starts with the author's childhood and describes the start of his fascination with, not just bumblebees, but wildlife in general. In this...
Published 14 months ago by k.j.park@stir.ac.uk

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice text but where are the pictures?
This is an enjoyable,instructive and easy read about bumblebees written by an expert, but at a level that requires no prior biological knowledge. However, how a biologist can write a whole book about bees where the only pictures are on the dust jacket is entirely beyond me: every chapter cries out for pictures of nests, bees, amber, experiments etc. Worse (for the...
Published 3 months ago by Jonathan Bard


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sting in the tale, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent book if you want to find out more about bees, also gives information on the danger that they are in through man destroying their habitat, a good read I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stimulating and poignant, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really informative and easy read. The author covers all aspects from bumblebees natural history to the need for conservation efforts to save these important creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very humorous read, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read. Highly recommend this book. Took me back to my childhood. In depth research from Dave Goulson and his team which I will follow with interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book. Well written with humour. All you wanted to know about bumble bees plus some. You will amaze your friends with all sorts of facts about bumble bees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bmail, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
'A Sting in the Tale' by Dave Goulson is a very good book; consistently absorbing if a bit depressing in places.
It is much more than an interesting read, with the XY chromosome* explanation beeing a bit of a bomb(us) shell to me.

Bumblebee data have always been extremely laborious to collect and as no body can measure the future all bees past, present and future concern me!

This elegant work is a clarion call
'specially to Westminster and Whitehall.

Patricia Norman Aidley, lapsed entomologist and retired biology teacher.

* See pp108-9 as not in the index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An accessible read for anyone with the remotest interest in the natural world, 4 Sep 2013
A delightful memoire.
Written by an academic but one with a very down to earth take on life.
No scientific knowledge required to read this book.
the narrative flows in an straightforward easy style.
I regret buying it as an e-book as I cannot share it. I wish it was possible to 'exchange' e-books for hardcopy versions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My dad loves it, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
And he loves Bees. Perfect Farther's day present. We are now bee saving warriors and I suggest you do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
Have just started reading this wonderful book, it's funny yet informative and the style of writing is easy to read too. For those people who complain that there's no pictures (obviously Sun readers) all I can say is you don't need pictures to tell a story and you might be better off looking in the children's show and tell section.
This book isn't a field guide to bumblebees, so don't complain that it isn't a field guide to bumblebees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and Insightful, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
Professor Dave writes very personally all the way from childhood and entertains as well as informs along the way.
Very readable and lots of information as well as fun stories.
A real bee man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sting in the Tale, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Sting in the Tale (Hardcover)
A ggod book - makes me love bees even more and convert more of our garden into bee habit - well written and easy to read. Still find it difficult to identify all the different types of bees but at least I am trying to whereas before did not realise there were so many types!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Sting in the Tale
A Sting in the Tale by Dave Goulson (Hardcover - 25 April 2013)
11.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews