Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars30
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
24
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 August 2013
(Corrects first name of Wendy Weber) Posy Simmonds' superb cartoons are ostensibly a fond look at the lives of three-middle class families in Britain in the late 1970s and 1980s as they deal with the challenges of teenage kids, a struggling economy, the growing gap between rich and poor, discrimination of various types, sex, relationships and jobs. Does this sound familiar? I hadn't read these cartoons since they first started appearing more than 35 years ago and they are as relevant today as they were then. The strip is remarkably timeless. It is focused on the earnest and well-meaning Wendy and George Weber, a left-leaning intellectual couple with six children. While Simmonds is very sympathetic towards her main characters, she is also quite happy to skewer them as well and often expertly notes the hypocrisy of people who betray their principles when it suits them. There is nothing dogmatic or strident about these cartoons; they are pointed and warm and funny. I am very glad to have found them again.
33 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2012
The Webers are an archetypal middle class family of the 70s and 80s, but seem remarkably contemporary in many ways. Mrs Weber's Omnibus takes us back to the lives and concerns of a couple who try to live their lives by the values of their youth - and do a pretty good job of it.

Sadly their modern equivalents seem to lack the gentle and well meaning aspects of their lifetsyle ,while retaining the righteousness, but with a hard edge of intolerance that the Webers would never have stood for.

The Webers are basically gentle, while their successors are not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Hilarious tales of mirth and woe, brilliant writing, funny and moving. George Webber is an inspiration to us all. This is what being middle-class should be like.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Reading it was like bumping into 'old friends' that you hadn't seen for ages but still recall with affection. Posy Simmonds perfectly captures the zeitgeist of the London middle classes of the mid 1980s. Really great fun. However, while not wishing to be too po-faced, parts do come across as rather twee, especially when one remembers the real economic hardship and political upheaval of these times. Given the substantial size of the volume one added benefit to the reader is the fitness value of actually having to lift it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
bought this for my lovely daughter in law whos intelligent, clever and a great "lefty". im know she knows people like the Webers and loved the"leftisme" as she put it. loads and loads of reading in it. the only thing i wasnt that sure of was the"density" on the page . when you see it , youll know what i mean. however, lovely daughter in law nearly ended up with smellies and me holding on to Mrs. Weber.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
Just a joy to have all those Posy cartoons in one collection - they livened up my Mondays for so many years!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Brilliant work from the UK's greatest non-political cartoonist. i was a little worried that the insights might be getting as flared as the trousers, but absolutely not. It's a book to take slowly, but for most part it is as fresh and incisive as it was when it livened up the Monday Guardian all those years ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
I've bought all of Posy Simmonds books & I especially enjoy the Weber family. I spent three weeks in hospital, in isolation, & the omnibus was a life-saver! The book is huge & the reader can dip in & out; the stories of everyday life in the Weber household amuse, the social comment is acute. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
All lefties should own Mrs Weber's Omnibus. It is an accurate and embarrassingly funny reminder of the what the late 1950s / 1960s generation was like. Oh, and if you haven't been in The Partisan you really aren't one of us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
consider for subject of your next learned thesis - also suitable for all who knew and loved the Webbers - an empathetic but incisive graphic history of the faraway times before Neo-Liberalism became the order of the day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.88
£13.48
£14.88

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.