Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
52
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 2013
The Imperial War Museum must house the greatest repository of images of the Great War to be found anywhere in the world and this book features some of the finest. The printing is of the highest order, the images sharp and restored to a clarity that is quite wonderful.
I don't care if this title has been called a 'coffee table cash-in' published to coincide with the 2014 centenary of the outbreak of the war. The images, fortunately, speak for themselves with an eloquence and power that perfectly captures the mood of the times and the events of the days that followed the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand.
The large size of the book shows the photographs in astonishing detail so that even the images that are well known are seen here in a fresh and exciting light.
A wonderful book.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
This book provides the reader a fascinating insight into the war and presents images that I have not seen before. It is fantastic, impressive and terrible in the content it contains. The collection is comprehensive and the photographs are superbably reproduced in the book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
A wide ranging collection of photos, in large format, covering ones already known but many more covering aspects of the war far away from the Western Front. The size and defintion of each photo enables them to withstand many minutes of close examination. It is a book of photographs of the Great War and not a detailed history.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
a wonderful book on a great part of our history.
my fatherr was a photographer in world war two & very interesting to see the vast difference in equipmet ( cameras etc ! )
well worth the cost.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
A pictorial history of the First World War. Pictures from the harshest reality to snapshots of
ordinary daily life. I found this book to be both interesting and absorbing. As a historian I
found it to be good value.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
The great selection of photographs carry the reader through this bloody conflict in a way that words sometime fall short. The many previously unseen images are incredibly powerful and as we approach the centenary of the start of the Great War they are a graphic reminder why we have a duty of care to those who gave the ultimate sacrifice to ensure that we never enter into armed conflict lightly. .
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Beautifully produced Book by the IWM that contains some of the most haunting, sad, uplifting, scary and artistic photos ever taken.

A superb and fitting testimony to the carnage of 1914-18 and the men, women and children who lost their lives in that dreadful conflict.

This should be in every school in the land to show and hopefully teach future generations of schoolchildren about the horrors of war and every library and in the offices of our rulers as well to hopefully prevent such mass suicidal stupidity ever happening again.

Stunning and very VERY highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To use the hackneyed old saying, 'A picture tells a thousand words.' This book certainly manages that.

There are many, many books about WW1, some of simply breathtaking levels of detail and research. What they struggle to convey of course is the reality of that huge conflict. This book goes some way to filling in the gaps.

It's a large format book and yes, it is a coffee table tome. That should not diminish it's excellence because it really is very good with outstanding photographs from the premier collection in the world of them, the Imperial War Museum. It's never going to be possible to give anyone from our era the full experience of this war, certainly in book format, however this is as close as you can get. You see the people and the reality in fantastically reproduced pictures.

Overall a wonderful book if you are interested in military history, in particular the Great War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Excellent well produced book however, some of the pictures have been well published in the past. Not a great deal of text but in many instances the pictures speak for themselves.Would have been well worth the full cover price.Well done Amazon for a great deal!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
This book of photographs is a great collection of the First World War. It takes you right into the scenes and we can only ponder as to what it was actually like.
A real tribute to the brave men, women and children who lived and died throughout the terrible war. And to the many horses that were lost too.
We must never forget any of them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse