Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for the Imperial War Museum
The Imperial War Museum must house the greatest repository of images of the Great War to be found anywhere in the world and this book features some of the finest. The printing is of the highest order, the images sharp and restored to a clarity that is quite wonderful.
I don't care if this title has been called a 'coffee table cash-in' published to coincide with the...
Published 17 months ago by J E KERFOOT

versus
3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing!
As soon as this book appeared on my list from Amazon i began to read the reviews. It had great reviews and it was presented by the Imperial WarMuseum.

Could not wait for it to arrive. When it did, what struck me was the sheer weight of the book. That was where my expectations came to an abrupt end. Once opened. I found all pictures to be landscape, which means...
Published 10 months ago by jonnyreb


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for the Imperial War Museum, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
The Imperial War Museum must house the greatest repository of images of the Great War to be found anywhere in the world and this book features some of the finest. The printing is of the highest order, the images sharp and restored to a clarity that is quite wonderful.
I don't care if this title has been called a 'coffee table cash-in' published to coincide with the 2014 centenary of the outbreak of the war. The images, fortunately, speak for themselves with an eloquence and power that perfectly captures the mood of the times and the events of the days that followed the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand.
The large size of the book shows the photographs in astonishing detail so that even the images that are well known are seen here in a fresh and exciting light.
A wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Highly recommended., 12 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. C. Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
This book provides the reader a fascinating insight into the war and presents images that I have not seen before. It is fantastic, impressive and terrible in the content it contains. The collection is comprehensive and the photographs are superbably reproduced in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection of WW I Photographs, 21 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
A wide ranging collection of photos, in large format, covering ones already known but many more covering aspects of the war far away from the Western Front. The size and defintion of each photo enables them to withstand many minutes of close examination. It is a book of photographs of the Great War and not a detailed history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for anyone interested in World War One history, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
B. Dutton (Walsall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
The great selection of photographs carry the reader through this bloody conflict in a way that words sometime fall short. The many previously unseen images are incredibly powerful and as we approach the centenary of the start of the Great War they are a graphic reminder why we have a duty of care to those who gave the ultimate sacrifice to ensure that we never enter into armed conflict lightly. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photographs, 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
A pictorial history of the First World War. Pictures from the harshest reality to snapshots of
ordinary daily life. I found this book to be both interesting and absorbing. As a historian I
found it to be good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars photographic record world war one, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
a wonderful book on a great part of our history.
my fatherr was a photographer in world war two & very interesting to see the vast difference in equipmet ( cameras etc ! )
well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WW1 Captured, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
To use the hackneyed old saying, 'A picture tells a thousand words.' This book certainly manages that.

There are many, many books about WW1, some of simply breathtaking levels of detail and research. What they struggle to convey of course is the reality of that huge conflict. This book goes some way to filling in the gaps.

It's a large format book and yes, it is a coffee table tome. That should not diminish it's excellence because it really is very good with outstanding photographs from the premier collection in the world of them, the Imperial War Museum. It's never going to be possible to give anyone from our era the full experience of this war, certainly in book format, however this is as close as you can get. You see the people and the reality in fantastically reproduced pictures.

Overall a wonderful book if you are interested in military history, in particular the Great War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book Alibob123, 30 Jan. 2014
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
I received this book as a Christmas present and it is an incredible book. I have had a real interst in the human side of the Great War since the distant days of O Level when we covered the war poets. This moved me immensley and gives some incredible images of the horror that these men went through and the scale of destruction that continued for four long years. We visited the Somme several years ago on a coach tour with a guide and I can only liken some of the images in this book to the feelings I felt looking out over Tyne Cot for the first time. The scale was so vast it is impossible to comprehend without images like the ones in this book. I can't recomend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
Beautifully produced Book by the IWM that contains some of the most haunting, sad, uplifting, scary and artistic photos ever taken.

A superb and fitting testimony to the carnage of 1914-18 and the men, women and children who lost their lives in that dreadful conflict.

This should be in every school in the land to show and hopefully teach future generations of schoolchildren about the horrors of war and every library and in the offices of our rulers as well to hopefully prevent such mass suicidal stupidity ever happening again.

Stunning and very VERY highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great War, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
Excellent well produced book however, some of the pictures have been well published in the past. Not a great deal of text but in many instances the pictures speak for themselves.Would have been well worth the full cover price.Well done Amazon for a great deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum)
The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) by The Imperial War Museum (Hardcover - 3 Oct. 2013)
£26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews