Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for the Imperial War Museum
The Imperial War Museum must house the greatest repository of images of the Great War to be found anywhere in the world and this book features some of the finest. The printing is of the highest order, the images sharp and restored to a clarity that is quite wonderful.
I don't care if this title has been called a 'coffee table cash-in' published to coincide with the...
Published 10 months ago by J E KERFOOT

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing!
As soon as this book appeared on my list from Amazon i began to read the reviews. It had great reviews and it was presented by the Imperial WarMuseum.

Could not wait for it to arrive. When it did, what struck me was the sheer weight of the book. That was where my expectations came to an abrupt end. Once opened. I found all pictures to be landscape, which means...
Published 3 months ago by jonnyreb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph for the Imperial War Museum, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
The Imperial War Museum must house the greatest repository of images of the Great War to be found anywhere in the world and this book features some of the finest. The printing is of the highest order, the images sharp and restored to a clarity that is quite wonderful.
I don't care if this title has been called a 'coffee table cash-in' published to coincide with the 2014 centenary of the outbreak of the war. The images, fortunately, speak for themselves with an eloquence and power that perfectly captures the mood of the times and the events of the days that followed the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand.
The large size of the book shows the photographs in astonishing detail so that even the images that are well known are seen here in a fresh and exciting light.
A wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Highly recommended., 12 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. C. Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
This book provides the reader a fascinating insight into the war and presents images that I have not seen before. It is fantastic, impressive and terrible in the content it contains. The collection is comprehensive and the photographs are superbably reproduced in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars photographic record world war one, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
a wonderful book on a great part of our history.
my fatherr was a photographer in world war two & very interesting to see the vast difference in equipmet ( cameras etc ! )
well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection of WW I Photographs, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
A wide ranging collection of photos, in large format, covering ones already known but many more covering aspects of the war far away from the Western Front. The size and defintion of each photo enables them to withstand many minutes of close examination. It is a book of photographs of the Great War and not a detailed history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
This book presents a remarkable photographic narrative of The Great War. It's something we will look through time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photographs, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
A pictorial history of the First World War. Pictures from the harshest reality to snapshots of
ordinary daily life. I found this book to be both interesting and absorbing. As a historian I
found it to be good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for anyone interested in World War One history, 5 Nov 2013
By 
B. Dutton (Walsall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
The great selection of photographs carry the reader through this bloody conflict in a way that words sometime fall short. The many previously unseen images are incredibly powerful and as we approach the centenary of the start of the Great War they are a graphic reminder why we have a duty of care to those who gave the ultimate sacrifice to ensure that we never enter into armed conflict lightly. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great War, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
Excellent well produced book however, some of the pictures have been well published in the past. Not a great deal of text but in many instances the pictures speak for themselves.Would have been well worth the full cover price.Well done Amazon for a great deal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
Got this for my mum who is a Great War enthusiast. She was certainly very happy and noted how many images she had never seen before. Fantastic book for anyone who is interested in modern history and photographs of our very once different world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 14 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) (Hardcover)
This book of photographs is a great collection of the First World War. It takes you right into the scenes and we can only ponder as to what it was actually like.
A real tribute to the brave men, women and children who lived and died throughout the terrible war. And to the many horses that were lost too.
We must never forget any of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum)
The Great War: A Photographic Narrative (Imperial War Museum) by The Imperial War Museum (Hardcover - 3 Oct 2013)
26.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews