Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An under-rated illustrator, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
John Kenn Mortensen may not be the best known illustrator, and that is a crime. His drawing style is reminiscent of the late great Edward Gorey, and his subject matter is similarly dark, if not so morbid. The weird, creepy, monster-infested world the humans of Sticky Monsters inhabit is eerily serene and beautifully dark. And the monsters themselves? Well, every one is filled with character and personality, even if that personality consists of empty, blank-eyed wondering. Anybody interested in illustrative mark-making could learn a lot from the pages of this book, I certainly have, and will continue to do so for a long, long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this., 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
I can't understand why his work isn't promoted more widely???!! Where can I buy prints? Wonderfully imaginative and skilfully drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For the adult who has everything - and I love it, too!, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Mrs. Alison Taylor (Grantham, Lincs, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
I bought this on a whim, not being familiar with Mortensen in the past. It is fantastically "ghoulish" and I intend to buy one or two of Mortensen's books for my two sons (who are both in their 40's) at Christmas.

I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely horror, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
This artist draw monsters in post-it, like me when I'm talking with the phone... but it is really ART! Amazing monsters and ideas just with post-it and a pen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really unusual and great for the downstairs toilet, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
If you haven't seen this book then get your hands on one as it is really unusual and thought-provoking. Basically, this Danish chap draws pictures of monsters on Post-Its. The detail has to be seen to be believed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monstrously good, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
What a gem of a book this is. Each page is exquisite. Entire, fabulous, gruesome worlds completely realised in the space of a post-it note. Mortensen;s monsters are extremely creepy, yet wonderfully benign. They are as natural a part of the landscape as the trees or rocks. Sometimes, in fact, they are the trees or rocks.

But buyer beware! It will leave you wanting MORE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A strange little book., 9 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
Nice drawn monsters in a strange little book. I can't think of much more to write really, but I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The kind of book you keep forever, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sticky Monsters (Hardcover)
This book is high quality with no text at all, just a charming, beautiful and mysterious drawing on each page. The hardback is reasonably priced and worth having. I had purchased it for my 10 yr old god-daughter but to be honest, it's so gorgeous that I will be buying for adults (and myself) too. Reminiscent of 'Where the Wild Things Are' in terms of the images haunting you from childhood right through to the death bed. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sticky Monsters
Sticky Monsters by John Kenn Mortensen (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews