Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice Trip
This book tells you so much more about the spices and their uses. Not just another cookery book but also gives tips on the medicinal uses of the spices. The information on nutmeg was particulaerly interesting. Having just visited Grenada made the book very relevent for me.
Published on 28 Dec. 2012 by Jacqueline Bearcoe

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but lots of discrepancies
Like others have said, this is a lovely book filled with lots of great recipes - all those from the TV show and more. Unfortunately there is a large number of discrepancies between the recipes on the show, online and in the book. I tried the orange and clove cake using the recipe in the book and thought something seemed wrong; I was sure on TV they used 3 eggs but the...
Published on 10 Dec. 2012 by Teacake


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice Trip, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
This book tells you so much more about the spices and their uses. Not just another cookery book but also gives tips on the medicinal uses of the spices. The information on nutmeg was particulaerly interesting. Having just visited Grenada made the book very relevent for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but better than feared, 16 May 2013
By 
Autamme_dot_com (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
Spice Trip is billed as "the simple way to make food exciting" and is a companion to a British television series of the same name.

In essence, the reader is shown some key spices (chillies, nutmeg & mace, cloves, cumin, cinnamon and black pepper), given the chance to learn about these often under-appreciated spices and provided with a wealth of recipes that let these spices shine within. Despite it being a companion book, you need not have seen the series to still enjoy it and eagle-eyed viewers may notice some differences between the recipes shown in the television series and the book but this is not really going to be an issue.

As you might expect, this is a very photograph-rich book, that makes it a bit of a mystery as to why not every recipe has its own photograph. The "lecture" or overview is not onerous and it manages to pack a lot of information in a relatively short space. The recipes clearly form the bulk of this book and quite right too. Looking through the recipes you find an impressive, diverse range so as long as you don't particularly dislike each and every spice you should be fine. If you fall into that category, maybe this book is really not for you.

It feels that the book publisher Gods have been listening when it comes to presenting the recipes. Well designed, concisely written yet informative text that features dual metric and imperial measures, even an estimation of a typical preparation and cooking time too. Good internal signposting and a great, comprehensive index. Invariably this book won't appeal to everyone, through no fault of its own. However it stands as a good, credible introduction (or reintroduction) to several commonly "misunderstood" spices with a lot of interesting recipes that are suitable for beginners and "experts" alike.

A nice little book. A fun way to learn something new and a great excuse to get in the kitchen and cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book but Badly Edited, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
D Webster "djelly" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
I wanted to cry when I first looked at this. It is so beautiful. It feels and smells wonderful (thick paper, colourful photographs of the people of the spices). More so, the layout is unhurried and the write-ups (the recipes) are anxiety free. Many of the recipes are introduced with the phrase 'incredibly easy'. This is so different from another recipe book we got recently which nearly gave my partner a panic attack in its lengthy description of making sour dough bread. The ingredients for these recipes are also easy to find in the supermarket and this, I feel, differs from many fashionable cook books whereby you find yourself going on a six mile hike to find some elusive herb.

I had already made the green apple salsa and the tomato salsa (Divorced Eggs)from the preview before ordering and was suitably wowed. I've made the tomato and chilli jam (very chuffed) and the green chilli con carne as well in the last two days and my partner said he felt like crying, they were so good (I hadn't told him then that I had nearly cried earlier!). I like the way that the order is spice sectioned - it is very easy to find recipes. I also liked the smiling photos of the creators: Emma and Stevie.

I missed the TV series - I was just interested in a cook book that was spice derived but not necessarily Indian as we already have Madhur Jaffrey and a great Indian takeaway.

I love the way you get the socio-economic history of the spices linked with the generating countries and the compassionate acknowledgement of the West's colonial and slave-trading past. It is altogether holistic in its approach and there are spice remedies as well. Next on the list is Pears Poached in Cloves and Red Wine.

This is a book that is fascinating on many different levels. Try and flip through it and you will find you have taken at least an hour.

I have a post-script caveat unfortunatly and am taking my 5 stars down to 4 stars. The gluten free salt and pepper brownie recipe touts up its gluten status and there is no flour in the ingredient list. However! The recipe instructs you to fold in the flour. This utterly confused me! Another issue is the tablespoon of ground cloves in the orange and clove cake? I just put a teaspoon in as I think that is quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice it up, 15 Dec. 2012
This book is about food, travel and cultural studies. An incredible mélange of three fascinating ingredients and as such a wholly different cookery book to every thing else on the market. The television series drives you into its arms and between pages from which it is hard to escape. The recipes are easy to prepare and cook: the tastes are multi-facetted, fresh and wholesome. I'm not a great cook but so far so delicious. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is one fascinating book, 23 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
started watching the series on 4 when Emma made a polenta cake with pineapples, cloves & caramel - intrigued, so I bought the book & so glad I did too. this is not just a recipe book with page after page of glossy pictures of perfectly turned out cooking, it goes a lot more in depth about the key spices, their uses in herbal medicine & beauty regimes. if you are thinking about buying - STOP THINKING - buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good - but some annoying features, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
Nice book but some annoying features.

Some of the recipes in the TV series are not in the book.
Some of the recipes in the TV series have been changed for the book without explanation.
Some recipes have no photos even thought there is plenty of room on the page. I think
photos are very important to wet the appetite and help in creating the dish. I suspect this
is cost cutting by the publisher. Part of the attraction of the TV series was the beautiful locations
and visuals.

Apart from those slightly annoying points, I love the series and many of the recipes
are in the book along with some new ones and extra info, so still worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have cookbook of 2013!, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
OK, I admit it. I am a cook book junkie that cannot stop coming out of a bookstore without at least buying one new cookbook. Saying that, I am quite disappointed with a number of previous purchases since they either fall into two categories - either they are beautifully stylized but not very practical and fun to cook with or they have great recipes but do not provide the necessary visual guide that motivates you to actually use them. This book is not suffering from either issue and is one of my best purchases of the year - not only are the photos in the book amazing, all the recipes are straight forward and accessible - you can judge a good cookbook by flicking through the pages and thinking 'ah, I like to cook this and that..." which happens a lot in this book.

My recommendation is to get this treasure to add to your cookbook collection - I also will buy some to pass on to my friends.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spice Trip, 1 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
Already tried some of the recipes - have reduced the amount of chilli and spices to my own taste buds. Very easy to follow. Coleslaw with Pulled Pork wonderful. Using this recipe regularly. Cinammon Chicken and Lemon for tonights meal! Yum Yum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book but lots of discrepancies, 10 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
Like others have said, this is a lovely book filled with lots of great recipes - all those from the TV show and more. Unfortunately there is a large number of discrepancies between the recipes on the show, online and in the book. I tried the orange and clove cake using the recipe in the book and thought something seemed wrong; I was sure on TV they used 3 eggs but the book only calls for 2. Having checked the online recipe I discovered the book is wrong (it should be 3 eggs and 2 tsp of baking powder, not 1). It seems that a number of other recipes contain basic errors which is disappointing considering the effort that has gone into the design, illustration and typesetting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Delicious, 26 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting (Hardcover)
I've always wanted a recipe book that helped me use more spice in my cookery, that wasn't tied to a certain cuisine. Turns out - this is it.

The Flattened Chicken recipe is pretty unbelievable - I'd never considered boning chicken and cooking it in this way, which keeps it from going dry.

The Thai Chicken is also crispy and spicy and delicious. Also loved the spiced ice-cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting
Spice Trip: The Simple Way to Make Food Exciting by Stevie Parle (Hardcover - 25 Oct. 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews