Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant collection, 31 Aug 2011
By 
J. H. Bretts "jerard1" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Cat Bone (Paperback)
This is a very good book indeed. No one else writes quite like John Burnside and every poem bears the stamp of his unique style - conjuring up strange yet familiar landscapes and emotional states using deceptively simple language and poetic structures. What perhaps makes this collection special is the way that there are blended echoes of influences as diverse as Robert Frost and Edward Thomas and American Blues singers like Charlie Patten - all in the same poems. Highlights for me are the long opening sequence - an evocative chase through mythical forest and farmland - and a moving exploration of the meaning of a painting by Pieter Bruegel the Elder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterful Book, 20 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Cat Bone (Paperback)
This is a book written by a brilliant author at the height of his powers. John Burnside deservedly won the T.S. Eliot Memorial Prize for this volume. Its range is large and disturbing. It encapsulates a world both ancient and disturbingly modern. I had high hopes of it when I read the initial reviews, but it far exceeded those: it is both profound in its subject matter and adept in its poetics. I have not bought a book of poetry so adroit since Seamus Heaney's "Seeing Things".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and elegant, 23 Feb 2012
This review is from: Black Cat Bone (Paperback)
Beautiful story poems, vividly in touch with the natural world and with inner human spaces. They are sparse but elegant and, using a minimum of words, highly descriptive - like looking at a winter tree blackened against the dusk. In my opinion this is what poetry should be. It is what I aspire to write. Stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Burnside, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Cat Bone (Paperback)
Stunning poetry, and a beautifully produced book. It is always a pleasure to possess a book of this quality - it allows the reader many visits, and each one a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Cat Bone, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. A. Chambers "nala" (London W5) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Cat Bone (Paperback)
John Burnside is a poet at the height of his powers.
I have most of his work stretching over the last20 years or so, which means I was on the lookout for his new publication. I was not disappointed. I found the opening long poem about a hunted animal and a hunter both though provoking and poignant. He has an ability to create a rural landscape which is founded in reality but moves easily into a profounder realisation
of the possibilities that might lie beyond the surface.
These conserns permeate the rest of the shorter poems in the book.
I finished it with a great deal of satisfaction and will reread soon to explore his vision more deeply
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A special collection., 4 Nov 2011
This review is from: Black Cat Bone (Paperback)
worthy winner of the forward prize.
Well balanced collection that has been a pleasure to read over the last week or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 29 Oct 2011
This review is from: Black Cat Bone (Paperback)
Wonderful!!! I've yet to be dissapointed by a Burnside poetry collection and this is a worthy winner of the Forward prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Cat Bone
Black Cat Bone by John Burnside (Paperback - 4 Aug 2011)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews