Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Testament To Brailsford
Let's be honest - if you're a cycling fan, you will have already had an opinion of Wiggins formed before the events of 2012 unfolded.

In the run up to this year he could be talented, wayward, self deprecating, vaguely self-destructive, passionate, humble, arrogant, and everything else in between. Compared with the other British guys on the scene, he was always...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. D. Hamilton

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Readable - but only just
Poorly written and repetitive; I guess it is impressive that they got it published in such a short time, but it would have been better to wait and actually concentrate on getting the content up to scratch. There is clearly a good book in there trying to get out. This feels like a bit of a cash-in on a great year for BW.
It leaves lots of questions unanswered - for...
Published 19 months ago by ben144


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rushed out to cash in, 13 Jan 2013
Completely mixed feelings on this book - as a cyclist I enjoyed the insight into changes to training approaches, the sacrifices he makes, and some of the technical inputs. But as a reader I was left a bit cold after looking forward to it.

As other reviews mention there is an awful lot of repetition on certain subjects and I totally agree. The chapters can also be disjointed, will start to discuss a tour stage and wander off onto another random musing, fine line between this capturing a conversational feel (like a Billy Connolly joke meandering) and feeling like lazy editing, this fell in to the latter category. There are also questions about what he really thinks of some certain individuals that are left unanswered - which surprised me from such a forthright personality.

I suspect the following:
You don't get the full story on some relationships as he is much more astute at playing the corporate role and doesn't want to upset the apple cart (or someone at Sky censored).
There is so much repetition to ensure that the book looked big enough to justify the cost,
Finally it was disjointed because to ensure out in time to cash in on Christmas and SPOTY exposure not enough time was spent pulling it together.

I am still a huge Wiggo fan but think I'll wait until he retires to find out more about the man and what he really thinks on some subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great athlete. crap biography., 25 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd stick to the video's of Brad. Much more inspiring than this book which feels like lazy story-telling just in time for the Christmas sale - which seem to be the opposite of Bradley's approach to life himself! A shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 23 Mar 2013
By 
Tony Hood "excercise nut" (Lancashire, the worlds best place to be) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was given this book as a gift at Christmas and was chuffed to bits. I have read many cycling biographies and commentaries and am a big fan of Wiggo. Unfortunately I have found the book to be a big dissapointment. I get the impression that the book was dictated on the bus home after winning the tour: it just rambles on with no apparent direction and frequent diversions. The opposite of a page-turner - my copy will soon be in a local charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An epic achievement let down by the writing, 2 Jan 2013
2012 was an awesome year for Bradley Wiggins and Britsh Cycling. This volume of his autobiography covers the year from the start until the Olympics, and intersperses his recollections of the Tour with alternate chapters looking at the preparation leading up to those weeks in July. Many cyclists will be interested in the background information on training, the move away from "racing as training" to "training to race" being one in point, as well as the drive towards "metres climbed" from "kilometers ridden". However, I felt that the excitement I feel when I watch the Tour de France is actually reduced reading Wiggins' account of it. Perhaps it's a result of the style of writing, which is very measured, but there were few moments where it seemed any more than just " a job to do". The section on the Olympics was great-a genuine insight into the frenetic world Wiggins' yellow jersey propelled him. It's a shame the rest of the book couldn't capture the emotion in the same way. My personal highlight? Robert Millar's beautifully written foreword. Now there's an autobiography I'd love to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "My TIme:An Autobiography", 10 Jan 2013
This was eagerly anticipated and therefore doubly disappointing when it turned out to be flat, repetitious and pretty colourless writing (apart from references to the jerseys). A bit like a long cycle ride through the Cambridge fens in the rain: you look forward to the end without enjoying much of the journey.
The "ghost" author failed to do justice either to his inspirational and idiosyncratic subject or to his personal qualities; it seemed as if not enough time and effort had been given to insightful and really meaningful research, nor to effective prompting during the working interviews, clearly, which might have derived more interesting reflections and anecdotes which Bradley could have offered on a host of events relating to the evolution of his talent.
Perhaps it had been prepared in a bit of hurry in order to be published before Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit dull...., 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest, I'm a little disappointed with this book. It would have been great to get some real insight into the thinking / emotions involved and also a more blow-by-blow coverage of the tour. Wiggins comes across as emotionally shallow in this book, which I'm sure he isn't, and this detracts from the story. I would have loved for him to put more of himself into this. I found Froome's book a much better read I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top rider, not a bad writer., 5 Dec 2012
By 
Calvin Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wiggins has been a cycling star for years, but i think it's fair to say it is only in 2012 with his supreme achievement, winning the Tour de France that he has become a household name in the UK. This book takes a look at how this Mod icon got the the pinacle of his sport and just what sort of commitment and psychological pressure this involves. I would have given it five stars if it had a section on the latest great sport, corporate tax evasion, although to be fair, with UK revenues of seven billion and corporate tax payments of a couple of million, certain online retailers may be in a better position to tell us about that. Great book shame about the online retailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what would Bradley say?, 4 Dec 2012
Hooray, great to see that Bradley has written an autobiography. Can't wait to read it. However, I won't be buying it from Amazon - in fact, I won't be buying anything from Amazon until they pay their fair share of UK taxes. The UK government is a big investor in elite sport, without which the likes of Bradley and other athletes would never have achieved their potential. When large companies such as Amazon avoid their taxes, someone has to pay - and that's us ordinary taxpayers. Come on, Amazon, stump up. I'll be going elsewhere until you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book but will have to buy it elsewhere, 4 Dec 2012
By 
R. Webb (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Loved this book but I hate the way Amazon reduces its UK taxes. We all need to shout loud until Amazon pays its fair share. I really enjoyed this author's earlier books and if you did, why don't you log in and leave 10 more reviews like this today. Tell Amazon to sign that cheque or forever lose my respect and the respect, no doubt, of this very fine author."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boreing, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very dull read, considering what was achived . Would help you fall asleep while you wait for some exciting extracts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography
Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography by Bradley Wiggins (Paperback - 23 May 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews