Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (171)
4 star:
 (63)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Testament To Brailsford
Let's be honest - if you're a cycling fan, you will have already had an opinion of Wiggins formed before the events of 2012 unfolded.

In the run up to this year he could be talented, wayward, self deprecating, vaguely self-destructive, passionate, humble, arrogant, and everything else in between. Compared with the other British guys on the scene, he was always...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. D. Hamilton

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Readable - but only just
Poorly written and repetitive; I guess it is impressive that they got it published in such a short time, but it would have been better to wait and actually concentrate on getting the content up to scratch. There is clearly a good book in there trying to get out. This feels like a bit of a cash-in on a great year for BW.
It leaves lots of questions unanswered - for...
Published 15 months ago by ben144


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Testament To Brailsford, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. D. Hamilton "Duncan Hamilton" (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's be honest - if you're a cycling fan, you will have already had an opinion of Wiggins formed before the events of 2012 unfolded.

In the run up to this year he could be talented, wayward, self deprecating, vaguely self-destructive, passionate, humble, arrogant, and everything else in between. Compared with the other British guys on the scene, he was always a bit of an enigma. He could at times display the passion and eloquence of David Millar, the sheer bloody single mindedness of Mark Cavendish, and - periodically - the humility and affability of Sir Chris Hoy.

Like many, I saw him crash out of the 2011 Tour and thought "Well that's a relief" - his heart didn't seem in it, and Team Sky looked on course to miss their stated goal of winning the premier cycle race within 5 years. Then, early on in the season, things were obviously right at Sky, and more importantly right at the point where it mattered; between Wiggins' ears.

The Tour de France 2012 was, if we're honest, a bit dull - Team Sky just shut the thing down after the first week. But this actually made it more intriguing; it was obviously a team effort, a well oiled machine working at 100%. Perhaps it was also a watershed? The point where the big personalities of old dominated the race through pyramid teams (Merckx, Hainault, Armstrong, etc).

Towards the end of the Tour, it was apparent that Sky could have chosen either Froome or Wiggins to win if they wished.

This is, in essence, what this book is about. Although notionally centred on Wiggins, it really is a narrative of how Team Sky and British Cycling came to dominate 2012 on the road, and on the track. The professionalism, the science, the commitment, and the co-ordination of Brailsford and co really stand out - it is no wonder our cycle stars won so much. Through Wiggins' eyes, we are treated to an insight into this - and mightily jealous I am too. There is no hiding the fact that it didn't always work, but I'd have loved to have had the opportunity to have been part of an organisation such as this.

It also goes a long way in explaining all the praise heaped upon British Cycling by the likes of Hoy, Pendleton, Clancey, Storey, Rowsell, Thomas, Cav, Wiggo, Millar, and so on - it really is world class, and the story of Wiggins in 2012 really captures it. Once you read this book, you'll realise that in reality the BMCs, Rabobanks, OPQS, Katusha, and so on were competing against the combined might of British Cycling. It does beg the question as to how were the European teams so amateurish for so long given the money involved in the sport in the continent?

But really, in my opinion, this is an outstanding appraisal of Dave Brailsford's organisation. Wiggins winning what he did in 2012 is because of Brailsford, without him I think Bradley would still be where he was in 2009; talented, but adrift.

Allez Wiggo!
Chapeau Brailsford!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sporting Insight, 13 Nov 2012
By 
A. Rowe (Cheshire/Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to fans of cycling, and to readers who would like to know more about the psychological issues that can affect elite athletes.
I believe Bradley recounted his experiences to William Fotheringham (who `ghosted' the book), and a very personable and understandable character comes to light. That's not to say that Bradley comes across as a deity, as he certainly has his struggles. However he is very honest about what drives him, what his weaknesses are, and this makes his story all the more engaging.
My Time is a flowing read, and the observations and insights really allow the (sometimes) technical world of cycling to become much easier to grasp and understand.
Personally, I particularly enjoyed the anecdotes about the first year of Team Sky, and the frankness with which Bradley admitted he often struggled with the pressure of suddenly being a `Leader', and how he coped (or didn't) with what this entailed.
The book plots a great passage from those dark days of self-doubt to the exultation of Bradley's entrance to the Champs Elysees. Throughout the book, the scale of the dedication, hard graft, and ultimate achievement of winning the Tour really hits home, and this book is an excellent souvenir for those who lived and breathed every KM of this year's Tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Readable - but only just, 16 Jan 2013
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
Poorly written and repetitive; I guess it is impressive that they got it published in such a short time, but it would have been better to wait and actually concentrate on getting the content up to scratch. There is clearly a good book in there trying to get out. This feels like a bit of a cash-in on a great year for BW.
It leaves lots of questions unanswered - for example, there are hints that BWs relationship with Chris Froome is not great, but this is never really dealt with openly (for obvious reasons, but we have come to expect a bit more clarity from modern 'warts and all' autobiographies).
Ultimately, most decent books take some considerable time to write, so it is hardly surprising that this is no literary masterpiece. However, with such rich subject matter, this just feels like a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars So badly written its hard to pick up, 24 Nov 2012
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
A great, inspirational insight into a true British hero.
So why only 2 stars?
A book that is a pleasure to read is hard to put down. This is a struggle to pick up.
It's been rushed into production for the Christmas market. Lots of repetitions, not only from chapter to chapter but even within the same paragraph.
Poorly written, but then William Fotheringham wrote it so why am I surprised. I've not enjoyed his style of writing in any of his books.
If it gets re-written for the second edition (perhaps by an outstanding writer like Daniel Coyle) then this would be a 5* with no hesitation.
Worth reading because it's Brad's story, but it could have been so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awful!, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Brian Dickson "bogtrotter" (highlands , scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I started reading this after enjoying Tyler Hamilton's book on drugs and Lance Armstrong (The secret race) which was a revealing account of the skullduggery behind the cycling world. Recommended. However this book by Bradley Wiggens is one of the worst I have tried to read in a while. It appears to be ghostwritten but reads like one long sentence of chat taped from an interview. It badly needs editing. Don't bother- I wanted to like this but gave up after the first 50 pages or so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring unless u live for cycling, 5 Aug 2013
By 
Graham Lindsay (Southport England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit dull really.i expected more humour from Sir Bradley.
He's a national hero for 2012 & his Olympic exploits,I expected more personality & inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 21 Jan 2013
By 
S. Widdows "FW" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
A really inspiring book for my cycle mad son. Bradley is someone to try and emulate and we are all pleased by his triumphs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Time by Bradley Wiggins, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed the above book, I found the book very honest and interesting. I dont claim to be a sporty person but I was intrigued by all the information on cycling. I really admire Bradley Wiggins and would reccomend it to anyone who likes a true story and enjoyed the Olympics in London this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 4 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
Bradley seems to be a true source of inspiration. I'd read both of Armstrongs books, which although we're enjoyable you always suspected that he'd made a bit of a deal with the dark side. Bradley seems to be the real deal. Was going to buy this as a gift for my dad but due to Amazons aggressive avoidance of corporation profits I've decided to pay a pound more and buy at another well known shop. I urge you to do the same until Amazon sorts itself out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hard going., 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography (Hardcover)
I've been an armchair cycle fan ever since ITV4 started showing the Tour and watching Wiggins plot his way to winning it this year was a glorious experience.For him to follow up such an effort within days by winning the Olympic time trial showed not only complete athletic mastery but a sense of purpose and discipline rare in any walk of life. I was therefore pleased to receive a copy of "My Time" for Christmas and,although I've read it in relatively quick time,I must say that it has been a disappointment.

If there is one athlete who appears to possess personality and individuality,it is Wiggins. His various responses and utterances during the Tour were witty,honest and brave,from the savage and obscene rant against those who accused him of doping to the "raffle" comment on the victory podium in Paris. His ecstatic hand gesture on receiving yellow for the first time beat any raising of any cup by any footballer that I've seen.Yet in this book he emerges as nothing more than a decent man going about his business single mindedly with little to say about much other than training routines and the admiration he has for those in the team around him and his wife. Nothing wrong with that,of course but surely there is more to him than that.

What he says about doping and his attitude to it is interesting and moving but the most cogent words about it in the text have appeared in other places. The attempts to bring humour in tend to fall flat which is disappointing given Bradley's seemingly ready sense of the absurd.The pen portraits of those around him are often frank in part but tend to end in some variation of "I love him to bits".The attempt to recreate Bradley's own self deprecating,slightly laddish style fails to include the touch of devil that often comes with it.The cheeky,edgy quality that many admire is sadly absent and what remains is dutiful pleasantry.

The passages which deal with racing are informative but fail to capture the heady mixture of politics,strategy and sheer lung-bursting hard work that the actuality consists of.Perhaps the necessarily methodical nature of the training and its now certain outcome in victory for Wiggins and Sky described in the book must inevitably reduce the reader's enjoyment of reading about the playing out of the events.The increasing references to TSS and Vam statistics tend to mitigate one's response to the heroic efforts that they represent,interesting though it is to learn about their use.

In sum,I found it a bit dull,interesting in parts but mainly unimaginative in its approach and predictable in its treatment of what must have been towering moments of emotion in Bradley's life.There's a much better book to be written about these truly magnificent achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0ac294)

This product

Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography
Bradley Wiggins: My Time: An Autobiography by Bradley Wiggins (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews