Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I get annoyed when I lose a tenner I have no idea what its like to lose a fortune
Great book, Jordan doesnt mess about showing up Chairman, Managers, Players and Agents for the Mercenary rubbish they are, a truly interesting insight into the goings on at all Football Clubs not just at Palace.
Published on 8 Jun. 2012 by ouzodan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I have wished for...
...but still interesting and unique. Skip the first 70 pages containing a matter of fact summary of Mr. Jordan's childhood and career. Average guy with common talents (little computing, much self-selling) makes a fortune when selling his start up cellphone retail buisiness during the golden hey-days of mobile communication. At least the buisiness part could make an...
Published 22 months ago by Benno K.


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typifies everything that's bad about football, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished this book which I came to learn about from a throw-away comment by a contributor on Sunderland's Supporter's forum Pure Football. Definitely worth a read was the comment and it definitely was worth a read. From previously thinking of the author as a bit of a flash Harry type, having read the book, the only thing I can think of is that I'd actually now like to meet and have a reasonable conversation with him. It certainly gives you a different perspective on a number of "popular" football personalities and mostly not in a good way. Apart from being a bit of chancer and a hard nosed business man, it shows passion - passion for his family and for the Club he obviously loved. Well done Simon lad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A damn good read, 10 Jun. 2012
By 
C. Whitehair (Sutton, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good read even for non Palace fans.
Some business insight and a glimpse of life behind the scenes in football.
Lessons still not learned as we see more clubs in financial trouble.
Entertaining but hardly aspirational!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be Care What You Wish For - 5*, 26 Feb. 2013
Simon Jordan is fully aware that most people will be reading this book as means to see and understand how a Premiership football club is run. This is shown by the fact that although the book addresses Jordan's ascent to success, it merely does so, with what I believe are only the most important facts.

However, once Jordan has made his millions in telecommunications, the book takes on a new level of interest with his purchase of Crystal Palace Football Club, his hometown club - any boy's dream come true. This dream is carefully examined and slowly but surely put to ruin. Jordan gives us an all access pass to how he personally invested millions into all aspect of the club, coaching staff, playing staff and the academy. Many of his investments realise results, that are generally unfavourable on Jordan and CPFC.

Jordan describes certain coaching staff as unmotivated and difficult to deal with; and if they're not that, they seem to be only interested in their next managerial job. Jordan does well to address how certain football players and their agents only really seem to care about the pay packet they receive and what type of springboard to success CPFC may be for them. Whilst several of the academy players shun the treatment they received from Crystal Palace in order to join clubs offering more money and greater chance of success. His arguments with the FA, players, other football clubs and in fact pretty much everybody in the world of football are documented here and make for some surprising reading.

Having read several biographies from an athletes perspective, this book does more to show sports fan the highs and lows of actually owning a football club. Of course its hard to believe absolutely everything Jordan writes as it is always best to view two sides of any story, I can't help but Jordan is simply laying it out as he sees it. It is worth noting that the book is not all doom and gloom; Jordan recognises that although his reign as owner and chairman did ultimately end with the unfortunate administration of CPFC, he describes his happiness at purchasing the club and taking it to the Premier League.

A great book for any sports fan to read, a real page turner including many characters that are still working in the sport today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for ANY football fan, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Careful What You Wish For (Paperback)
I am not a Crystal Palace fan but this is a must read for any football fan. This is by far the best football related autobiography I have read to date. Fast paced and highly addictive - I found it very hard to put down. The first part of the book charts his background and rise to a self made multi millionaire. I found this still very interesting and he condensed this into a few chapters giving the reader a brief synopsis of how he managed to make his millions. However the rest of the book, and quite frankly the reason why 99% of people would want to read it, charts his acquisition of Crystal Palace, his time at the helm and his subsequent demise. he leaves no stone unturned lifting the lid on his managers, players, the players agents and people from the FA. I think more importantly for me, unlike player/manager autobiographies, he is extremely honest and has no problem naming names. Maybe as he was a little more removed he had no problem exposing some very well known names in football. As a football fan my opinion of Simon Jordan has definitely improved, and I even have admiration for the way he stood up to quite frankly ludicrous established practices which were taken for granted within the football world, and for which in challenging, he was condemned and vilified by those within the game. I certainly have a lot more sympathy for football chairman who have a rather thankless task. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away, 11 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst the prose may not exactly have William Shakespeare worrying about his legacy, it is a cracking read which I found hard to put down. If you love your football & really want to know what goes on behind the scenes as well as get an insight into what its like to get a huge pile of money at a very young age then this is the book for you.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I have wished for..., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Careful What You Wish For (Paperback)
...but still interesting and unique. Skip the first 70 pages containing a matter of fact summary of Mr. Jordan's childhood and career. Average guy with common talents (little computing, much self-selling) makes a fortune when selling his start up cellphone retail buisiness during the golden hey-days of mobile communication. At least the buisiness part could make an inpirational story in itself, but it's not told here as the man has moved on with his life and it is not the main subject of this book anyway. Start with chapter 5 to get to the heart of the matter right away, you won't miss much and can return to the first chapters if you want to get the full prologue. The storytelling gets better from then on, you feel the passion and at the same time get the feeling most football fans share, be it Mr. Jordan, the people recently taking the streets in Brazil during the Confed Cup, or the long faithful supporters not being able to afford a ticket for their club anymore...what's basically wrong with this game so many of us love can be summed up in one word: money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing read, very open and incredibly honest, 27 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking forward to reading this book for some time, when it was released I purchased one for my dad and one for me. I honestly couldn't put it down!! As a west ham fan that witnessed Simon Jordan's palace destroy my play off dreams in Cardiff it would be soo easy to say this book was rubbish but in reality it's a great autobiography!! Well done Simon Jordan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RARE GLIMPSE FROM A FOOTBALL OWNERS PROSPECTIVE, 26 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Be Careful What You Wish For (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, and contrary to what other reviewers have written, I think all football supporters and students of the game will enjoy it, not just Crystal Palace fans. The book gives a brief history of life for Simon Jordan before Crystal Palace Football Club, and nothing safterwards, so the bulk of the book is about his ten year tenureship. It gives an interesting perspective onto the managers, players and general hangers-on that seem to exist within a football club nowadays. Obviously the book is written with Simon Jordan's spin, but nonetheless it makes interesting and enjoyable reading. It also confirms I am afraid to say many confirmed views I had about football and footballers in general, and the outmoded structure and governance of the game.A must read for anyone who is concerned about the direction football is taking, and how difficult it is to instigate change. It needs,God forbid, another Heysel, Hillsborough or Bradford before the powers to be get shaken out of their complacency.
Good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and engaging account of what is everyone's dream!, 17 Sept. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of people have an opinion about Simon Jordan largely driven by the high profile tenor of his reign as Palace chairman. However regardless of what people may think of him, this book is testament to the great quality of his character. First of all, if I had lost as much money as he did running the club, I doubt I could have written as entertaining, humorous and engaging book as Simon has. Secondly it must have taken quite a lot of character to write the book so soon after the events it describes.
As a Palace fan the book is a must read, and it certainly sheds a lot of light on what was a very busy time for the club, the insights on major events from the collapse of ITV Digital to the Francis/Kolinko incident through the court case with Dowie are excellent. Jordan is never short of an anecdote and the book is laced with a good mixture of humour and an acceptable level of vitriol for certain individuals.
For those of you who are more familiar with Jordan, there are some excellent commentaries on the subjects of agents, the FA, the Football League, rivalries with Charlton and Birmingham, and the difference between football and business, whilst the early chapters dealing with Simon's early career and business activities are really eye opening and engaging. Whilst Mr Jordan may never escape the accusations of arrogance that some level at him, the picture of the man that emerges is one of strong basic principles and values who really wanted to do the right thing, what will baffle you is how many other people didn't seem to share that objective.
All in all an excellent read, especially for Palace fans but also for football fans and sports fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read - Be Careful What you Wish for, 16 Jun. 2012
I started reading this book & could not put it down. It is very frank & to the point exposing all the corrupt practices of the Football Association and Football Agents. It has changed my view of the FA totally. It provides a good read and gives an insight to running a club like never before!I highly recommend this to all football fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 317 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Be Careful What You Wish For
Be Careful What You Wish For by Simon Jordan (Paperback - 9 May 2013)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews