Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars28
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 October 2014
I'm a bit of a Viking geek. I did my Archaeology degree dissertation on them and managed to incorporate them in to my Masters, which was strictly only meant to be Medieval.

However, despite having a lot of existing knowledge about the Viking world, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was an excellent companion to the exhibition at the British Museum, but equally would be an interesting read if you didn't get to attend the exhibition.

For anyone with an interest in Viking history, this is a worthwhile read.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
Philip Parker writes in a really engaging way and makes the history of the Vikings and the people he describes come to life. The book is full of interesting information, and funny anecdotes about the Vikings and I didn't get bored reading it (as has been known to happen when reading history books). I really recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about the history of the Vikings and maybe even learn something they didn't already know.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
I am no expert on this aspect of history, but it is an absorbing one. Philip Parker is very readable and very straightforward about the reliability, or otherwise, of such sources as there are, both archaeological and sage material. The maps are clear, informative and helpful in clarifying the extent of this wide-ranging survey. There is, especially in the contemporary accounts, much scope for sensationalism: this is properly avoided, providing an account which, while by no means dull, gives an impression of solid scholarship and reliability. All in all, a book much to be recommended for the general reader.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
If you are looking for a single volume to cover Viking history then you have found the right text. Easy to read and with a light touch. The Viking names blurred after a while but I doubt it matters.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
Intense volume, extensively researched with pages of footnotes, covers the rise and fall of the Viking age. Heavy going at times, but persevere.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
This book really gets to the heart of the matter. Having lived in the Viking world for over 5 years on Shetland the book took me 'home' on numerous occasions. Easy to read, put down, come back to and read some more.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
Fantastic book, very informative yet readable - I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Exactly what I needed to argue a case on my university course.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
I found this book enjoyable and you cant but help admire an empire that's been largely discounted due to the populist rape and pillage view. The sheer scale of their enterprise in tiny little wooden ships is astonishing sweeping from one side of the globe to the other. Sometimes the sheer weight of people and place names is daunting but stay with it.

A good read and very informative.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
If you have a general interest or want an overview of the Viking age you could do a lot worse than read this book.
Well written and easy to digest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)