Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read and very informative
I found this book enjoyable and you cant but help admire an empire that's been largely discounted due to the populist rape and pillage view. The sheer scale of their enterprise in tiny little wooden ships is astonishing sweeping from one side of the globe to the other. Sometimes the sheer weight of people and place names is daunting but stay with it.

A good...
Published 2 months ago by R. Mcpherson

versus
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An extremely dull book
I thought I'd read this book before visiting the BM's Vikings exhibition currently on, in the hope that I'd be enthused and informed. I did not finish it and it is not often that I can say that.

It's not badly written and it is full of facts, some "quite interesting". But there is no feel of a real narrative thread - or the thread gets lost. Too often...
Published 3 months ago by Fandango


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read and very informative, 9 July 2014
By 
R. Mcpherson "roymcp" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book enjoyable and you cant but help admire an empire that's been largely discounted due to the populist rape and pillage view. The sheer scale of their enterprise in tiny little wooden ships is astonishing sweeping from one side of the globe to the other. Sometimes the sheer weight of people and place names is daunting but stay with it.

A good read and very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is what I expected of the Vikings exhibit at the British Museum, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World (Hardcover)
Philip Parker writes in a really engaging way and makes the history of the Vikings and the people he describes come to life. The book is full of interesting information, and funny anecdotes about the Vikings and I didn't get bored reading it (as has been known to happen when reading history books). I really recommend it to anyone who wants to know more about the history of the Vikings and maybe even learn something they didn't already know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Vikings are Coming, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World (Hardcover)
Intense volume, extensively researched with pages of footnotes, covers the rise and fall of the Viking age. Heavy going at times, but persevere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Viking read, 29 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World (Hardcover)
This book really gets to the heart of the matter. Having lived in the Viking world for over 5 years on Shetland the book took me 'home' on numerous occasions. Easy to read, put down, come back to and read some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An extremely dull book, 23 May 2014
By 
Fandango - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought I'd read this book before visiting the BM's Vikings exhibition currently on, in the hope that I'd be enthused and informed. I did not finish it and it is not often that I can say that.

It's not badly written and it is full of facts, some "quite interesting". But there is no feel of a real narrative thread - or the thread gets lost. Too often it is just a long list of events - a bit like the Old Testament goes "Shem begat Japeth and Japeth begat" you get similar litanies about Viking clans. Fine, maybe, for history buffs but for those who just want a bit of buffing up on their Viking history it is just duff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Vikings Are Here!, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World (Hardcover)
Engrossing & comprehensive history of the Vikings! When are the history books going to rewrite the chapter on who really discovered America?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dry, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I almost exclusively read history books, from Tacitus to Tom Holland. Kudos to Philip Parker for such a well researched book but my goodness, what a dry and boring read! I can't bring myself to finish it. Good luck if you're buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets you informed, 14 Aug 2014
By 
J. Hardie "Art mad" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World (Hardcover)
A great summary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World (Hardcover)
Beautifully written and printed. Nothing more could be asked of it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World (Hardcover)
A good account that fills in many of the gaps in my knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World
The Northmen's Fury: A History of the Viking World by Philip Parker (Hardcover - 27 Feb 2014)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews