Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don McCullin - Shaped by war, 3 Jun 2010
By 
N. Tyler (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
An excellent introduction to the work of Don McCullin combined with an abridged autobigraphy. However, if you already own any or all of Don's earlier books then this will just be going over old ground.

As a stand-alone piece of work I've awarded this 5 stars - the printing is of excellent quality (Hardback edition) and the chosen images illustrate Don McCullin's catalogue of work very well. The writing is a very easy to read style, even if the content (and the accompanying images) can be somewhat harrowing.

If, taking into account the comments above, you choose to purchase this book then I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don McCullin. The Worlds greatest conflict photographer., 8 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. P. R. Eden "Patrick eden" (Cowes, Isle of Wight, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
Superb book beautifully printed and designed. I have all of Don's other books, so it is great to see some of his less well-known pictures, especially the colour work. The text is obviously taken from extensive interviews and there are some great insights. It is also great to see the pictures shown in there published context with captions and a two page spread of contact sheets from the Battle of Hue. This is a perfect accompaniment to the Imperial War Museums superb traveling exhibition starting in Manchester, England.
A must for all students and practitioners of photojournalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Mar 2010
By 
Ibraar 'Le Saracen' "le_saracen" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
Don McCullin is my all time favorite Photographer, I have a collection of his hardback books now and they're all brilliant! This is no exception. I wont bother adding much more to the review as what needs to be said has been said by the other reviewers who have given in 5 stars!

If you admire Don McCullin, and admire brilliant reportage photography and photography in general - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Brilliant, 12 Feb 2010
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
I thought by purchasing this book I would own a copy of some of the world's most iconic photographs. I wanted it to be slice of Don himself. I wanted punchy, gutsy, shocking images full of passion, desperation and raw emotion. I wanted to be transported into the world of the greatest photojournalist. This was to be a coffee table book to browse through too.

When I opened it and began reading I was more blown Away than some of the unlucky men Don captured!
I got far more than I'd bargained for and Don did not fail to deliver on my expectations.

The narrative accompanying the photographs bring them to life in a way that takes your breath away. Not only do I now have an amazing collection of superb journalistic images on my coffee table, I can also understand and appreciate what they're about and what Don was doing when the image presented itself to him. Knowing why he took a specfic photograph is more important than the photograph itself. I was so engrossed I read the entire book in one sitting and crept into bed in the early hours. My mind was racing that much I hardly slept. The narrative has not been constructed as I would have expected! It jumps backwards and forwards in time occasionally and is crafted from multiple interviews. The non-conformist way in which it has been written does not detract at all though. If anything, I find it pleasing and personal. It's written as though your sat with Don, and as we turn a page to see another photograph he tells you all about it. You get more than a slice of Don in this most memorable of books, you get a full-on one-to-one about each and every image.

There's little point in reviewing the photographs really. You're reading this because you're intriged to find out what people think of the book. Don's photographs speak for themselves and speak volumes. He's the best so what would you expect?

As an enthusiastic and completely amateur war photographer, I found the inclusion of his contact sheets complete with notes fascinating.

War is a great leveller and the more you witness the more you understand just how cruel and vulgar humans can be. This has taken it's toll on many of us that have witnessed it and none moreso than Don. He's very candid in his feelings of guilt and suffering but he should not punish himself or feel bad. He brought the world of war into ordinary folk's lives and etched their minds for life. Someone had to take the images and not intervene. That man was Don McCullin and we all owe him a great deal of gratitude.

That you for a splendid book Don and well done.

Ed Macy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don McCullin, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
Don McCullin - quite simply, is a very special human-being whose work is something that should be seen by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great photojournalism, 11 April 2010
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
Amazing book fantastic stark images worth adding if you're a Bailey/Donovan fan first rate aresring images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don McCullin, Shaped by War, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
Great fotographer, fantastic pictures, a good book to keep...if you like McCullin's work than this is a book you need in your colection, however some of the fotos have been published in other McCullins books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book Review, 17 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
Book was bought as a present for our son who is a keen follower of war correspondents and pictorial events taken during the wars. Book and photographs are excellent. Extremely good value and the usual excellent delivery from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent companion to the current McCullin exhibition, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
McCullin hates being labelled as a war photographer - and indeed he is much more than this - but there is no escaping the fact he is known for capturing images of war so hauntingly.

This book accompanies the current Imperial War Museum exhibition of his war photography, and in many ways is an updated and larger format version of his memorable autobiography "Unreasonable Behaviour". The book is excellent in that it collects together many aspects of McCullin's work in the arena of war, often presenting the images as they appeared in publications of the time, such as The Sunday Times Magazine. There is also rare colour work contained here as well.

The accompanying text - placed in the context of McCullin's life, experiences and influences, never overpowers the images, and the book also contains one or two of his haunting landscapes, most notably from the Somerset levels and the Somme.

Production values are, as you'd expect, high, but the feel of the paper and sharpness of the prints is not quite up there with other volumes, such as "In England". Nevertheless, given the price of the book and the amount of images it contains, it's great value, and one to consider if you don't have earlier collections of the man's work. Engrossing and memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaped, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaped By War (Hardcover)
James Stewart just can't take the feelgood aspect of cinema too far. He took us all there with "It's a Wonderful Life" and Harvey is yet another where you are left with that warm glow you thought only christmas infront of a warm fire could provide. This makes the ultimate Christmas gift, to be watched on boxing day it is a film that all the family can truly...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaped By War
Shaped By War by Don McCullin (Hardcover - 4 Feb 2010)
20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews