Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Almost Nearly Perfect People
The author has lived among the Scandinavians, on and off for ten years, and is perplexed initially how the Danes appear to be the happiest people in the world, having consistently come out top in a Satisfaction with Life index - indeed other Scandinavian countries have also done well in similar surveys. But given the author's own experiences, he wonders what makes the...
Published 5 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I found it very amusing in parts, probably because ...
I found it very amusing in parts, probably because I have spent a lot of time in Scandinavia and recognised many of the 'types' (or stereotypes) described. The use of numerous sets of statistics (some scientific, others less so) were, on the whole, less interesting and I skipped large chunks.
Published 6 months ago by annie


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Almost Nearly Perfect People, 7 Aug. 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
The author has lived among the Scandinavians, on and off for ten years, and is perplexed initially how the Danes appear to be the happiest people in the world, having consistently come out top in a Satisfaction with Life index - indeed other Scandinavian countries have also done well in similar surveys. But given the author's own experiences, he wonders what makes the people of Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Finland and Iceland so unique - and so much the way that they are? Was there a Scandinavan template for a better way of living? To find out, the author has blended his own experiences with conversations with various authorities - "historians, anthropologists, journalists, novelists, artists, politicians, philosophers, scientists, elf-watchers and Santa Claus". The result is a book that is informative and factual-based, laced with humorous observations. For instance, I did not know that in Denmark "pre-empting the green man [on the crossing] is a provocative breach of social etiquette" liable to result in people tutting audibly at the transgressor.

There is much to admire in this book; it's true, I think (certainly from down here in New Zealand) that Scandinavian countries hold a certain aura of mystery about them - not only the snow-covered mountains and fjords, but also the history of these areas means that they are considered with some degree of `unknowableness' (if that's a word). So to try to encapsulate their similarities and differences as a group of people is a worthwhile endeavour, and a highly interesting read. The author's own take on life's little quirks that he finds in his travels make for many humorous interjections in the narrative, which is great as some of it can be a little dry and statistical as he tries to break down the secret of the Scandinavian way of life.

This is a highly engaging, really informative and vastly interesting book - I know now that the Danes have the highest taxes in the world, that Finns have the third largest per capita gun ownership in the world and that 54 per cent of Icelanders believe in the existence of elves. I'm really glad I read this book, and really glad the author took the vast leap into writing it. The Scandinavian air of mystery remains, but I feel better informed for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critical but in a respectful way..., 8 April 2014
By 
Christopher A. Bryant (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book. Michael Booth has a great sense of humor. He respectfully, but critically takes on the so-called Nordic Miracle. He writes about the positives and the negatives of the region. He bursts the bubble of several of the myths and also updates the reader on the changes that have taken place in the region over the last several years. I came away still respecting the Nordic countries a great deal, but with a more in-depth understanding of each of the nations and their people. I did not wait for this book to be available in the United States. I ordered it as soon as I saw it in British newspapers and I am not disappointed. In fact, I ordered several copies to give to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must read if you're going to go ex-pat. A good read anyway., 19 Feb. 2014
By 
Lionel Sacks "Lionel Sacks" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was intrigued by this book, having lived in Norway for the last 6 years or so. The various interactions in the comment sections of various Guardian articles gave a taste of things to come - the English humor and overly serious Nordic responses.
However, in the book, the author comes across as a serious Nordophile who is genuinely interested in understanding what made the place like it is. His approach is - surprisingly - well balanced, looking at many social characteristics and traditions; and weighing up many different explanations from reports, popular sociology theorizing (although he seems to have missed out of Putnam for social capital!) and interviews with leading (and, sometimes, slightly dodgy) academics and politicians. Overall, this makes the book a real contribution to the conversation many of us ex-pats have regularly around the coffee machine.

At the same time, it contains tremendous insights into various Nordic social mores, many of which I recognize (even Danish ones, common in Norway); but have not seen or heard described as well before. The potted histories are good - touching on important things, although missing out a few impotent events (eg the UK having to abandon Norway at the start of WW2, that the Norwegian sovereign fund was the idea of an Iranian, but then, it's not a history book), and giving a good overview of how the countries see each other, as well as think of themselves.

Of course real people don't fit nicely into potted analysis of national characters. But it's the exceptions which prove that there is a rule - and much of what's written here is palpable in daily life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended - and much better than the Radio 4 edited version., 22 Feb. 2014
By 
Dr. V. Stewart (Somerton,, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
You know that moment when you're a couple of chapters into a new book and you're enjoying it so much that you turn to the front to see what else the author has written? This is one of those. It's a delightful and thought-provoking analysis of the Nordic countries; I'm particularly impressed with his range of enquiry, which runs from the minute details of social interaction through to some pretty penetrating economic and political analysis, taking in several centuries of history on the way. It's a book that I'll be recommending to friends esteemed for their curiosity, because I can imagine how much pleasure it'll give.

One thing I did want to say, though: this was Book Of The Week on Radio 4, and for once I think that the editing didn't do it justice. The reading concentrated too much on the trivial (and on the intra-Nordic rivalries, which are fiercer than I knew); so much so that I was surprised - pleasantly - when I found that the author gives more in-depth analyses of more serious subjects. It's much more than the advanced 'misogynist guide' that the radio programme conveyed.

It has, of course, made me want to visit almost everywhere, although I've now been warned not to expect too much by way of chatty conversation, to be prepared for very high prices, and at all costs to avoid any delicacy made from shark. And if I were lucky enough to be more than a hovering tourist, this book will have helped me understand much more of what I'm experiencing. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pierre Daninos does Scandinavia, 12 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
Laughing is a social thing. It’s something you do with other people, or at the very least in their presence. Something needs to be positively hilarious to make you laugh by yourself or alone in the company of strangers in the tube. This book is so funny it had me doing exactly that more than once. It is hilarious.

So here’s me in the tube on my way to work starting this book and on page 8 I find out that the “ultimate spellchecker booby trap” is none other than the Nordic invader of Britain, king Cnut (Canute to you and me).

That set the tone. From then on it got funnier.

The research is superficial. If a high school student had submitted this volume of work as a research paper I would have given him an B+ and if a college Senior had pretended this was his research thesis I would have given him either the lowest passing grade (and him and I would share that joke for the rest of our lives) or an outright F, as in “fail.” And given the author has interviewed a good twenty luminaries from around Scandinavia to produce this 400 page volume I think I can state with some certainty that he was doing an Ali G on them. He lives there, of course, he needs to pretend this was research, but all that research has been done a thousand times.

And that’s the whole point. If you are a car fanatic you don’t watch Top Gear. It’s only tangentially about cars, even though it invites car people regularly and involves lots of driving. The program is about Jeremy Clarkson doing very embarrassing (but car-themed) stuff in a very embarrassing way. And it’s unbelievably funny in a very British way.

That’s the spirit of this book. The author interviews professors, researchers and politicians and puts to them theories along the lines of “you Swedish are trying to atone for taking the German side in WWII” and the poor fellows take him seriously rather than kick him out the door. And the prose is just unbelievably funny.

It’s not a serious or a necessary book and you would not miss it if it had never been written. It’s nowhere near as informative as buying the five separate “Xenophobe’s Guides” and reading them back to back. It's a hilariously set list of hunches and prejudices of a leftward-leaning, Nordic-loving Brit. Which makes it a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading if you are interested in the Nordics, 7 Feb. 2014
By 
MARK RICHARDSON (HULL, E YORKS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I eagerly anticipated this book having long been fascinated by the nordic region and Denmark and Sweden in particular. Copenhagen is my favourite European city. Booth , using a " Bill Brysonesque" style of interview, history, politics,personal bias, humour and insight gradually explores and explains these reserved egalitarian societies. Finland and Iceland were new to me in all senses and these chapters I enjoyed most. If the west is to match the bric and mint countries then we all need to learn from the nordic model and how they have achieved success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I found it very amusing in parts, probably because ..., 10 July 2014
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
I found it very amusing in parts, probably because I have spent a lot of time in Scandinavia and recognised many of the 'types' (or stereotypes) described. The use of numerous sets of statistics (some scientific, others less so) were, on the whole, less interesting and I skipped large chunks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a Dane living in Britain for years I have ..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
As a Dane living in Britain for years I have never laughed so much and completely agree with his observations !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable journey through all things Nordic, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
What`s behind the statement that the Nordic cousins are "the happiest people on the planet"? It deserves an investigation. Michel Booth a resident of Copenhagen provides a good extended synopsis; written with a dry sense of humour.
What makes these nations enjoy an unrivalled security; cradle to grave social care? The recurring concept of "hygge" (an untranslatable that means a complete absence of anything annoying). A word that appears in everyday speech in Denmark, but a concept that permeates the Nordic world. However, if all is well in the northern front, why not an en masse migration from their European cousins? However, let me say this: with the "trust" and "social cohesion" that exists in countries like Denmark, I would rather live there any day. So, Perhaps all is not well in the "state of Denmark" and its Nordic neighbours, but they are "nearly perfect". The author explores the paradoxes, and taboos that permeates the Nordic world. A great amusing and educational read. The best book I have read in the last decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you for your truthfulness, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia (Paperback)
Booth is a sexual refugee in a land he would never have chosen otherwise.
His account of Denmark is honest and will be greeted with grateful recognition by other expats.
His analysis of "hygge" is alone worth the cost of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Almost Nearly Perfect People: Behind the Myth of the Scandinavian Utopia
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews