Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny - read it in a few hours!
Received and finished this on the same day! After reading 'Persepolis' and 'Chicken with plums' I have to say Embroideries lies closer to the latter in length. It's a short book, but keeps you gripped from start to end. I love how Satrapi keeps the same characters in every book, herself, and her hilariously blunt grandma. This book is centered around the 'tradition' of...
Published on 25 Jan. 2012 by Emily

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woven Tales of Women
Embroderies seems at first glance, to be a collection of funny sex stories told from the mouths of real women who grew up in Iran. However, the funny aspects of the book seem to cover up the more serious matters of underage marriage and violent relationships that are kept under lock and key. Not as good as its sister book Persposis, but fans of the first book who were...
Published on 18 Jan. 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Woven Tales of Women, 18 Jan. 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Waterlooville, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
Embroderies seems at first glance, to be a collection of funny sex stories told from the mouths of real women who grew up in Iran. However, the funny aspects of the book seem to cover up the more serious matters of underage marriage and violent relationships that are kept under lock and key. Not as good as its sister book Persposis, but fans of the first book who were interssted in the themes of female subversion from Satrapi's first graphic novel may want to give this a look.

The main downside to the book is that because the narrative jumps suddenly, it glosses over a few of the more interesting stories in order to fit everyone in. This is a collection of short stories (very short!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Comparison makes it a loser, 9 May 2010
By 
Anna Pitton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
I purchased "Embroideries" out of the enthusiasm oozing from "Persepolis". I opened the parcel full of expectations of another enthralling tale from that far-off country called Iran. I laughed and devoured it in a couple of hours (it doesn't take longer than that to read it), but I felt little enthusiastic when I finished it. As it's often the case with authors that you first approach through their masterpieces the difficulty to replicate success is around the corner. "Embroideries" is much more focused than "Persepolis" -it is conceived as a bubbly discussion among 9 women on issues linked to sex and relationship. However, the lack of the overall picture is a fault in this case. Funny at times, it is less a must-read than "Persepolis", for sure. And it also seems like it cannot stand on its own. I somehow think that reading "Embroideries" before reading "Persepolis" might put off the reader from Marjane Satrapi altogether, which may be a pity. And reading "Embroideries" after "Persepolis" might result in a big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny - read it in a few hours!, 25 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
Received and finished this on the same day! After reading 'Persepolis' and 'Chicken with plums' I have to say Embroideries lies closer to the latter in length. It's a short book, but keeps you gripped from start to end. I love how Satrapi keeps the same characters in every book, herself, and her hilariously blunt grandma. This book is centered around the 'tradition' of having friends and family round for tea, and the different conversation topics that come up, mainly marriage and general gossip! Overall, a fab read, but if you want a longer book, I suggesst you read 'Persepolis.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny book, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
I loved this book I laughed out loud as I read it It is nice to see the realtionships and humor in a very outwardly closed system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Embroideries - A nice way to word a startling procedure, 30 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
Marjane Satrapi, a name I am more familiar with thanks to a friend who thought I may like Persepolis. Indeed he was right - I loved Persepolis...but this is a reveiw about Embroideries, so first impression - it is a faster, shorter read than Persepolis...but with Embroideries, there is one topic on everyone's 'lips' and that is the Iranian women's experiences of sex,love,relationships and marriage. This is not the whole all-encompassing life story that was Persepolis, so of course sadly it's shorter. The stories are told amongst the Iranian woman in a confidential self help style group - what is revealed in the confines of their tea 'parties', must stay secret. Embroideries is written with the same wit, (bravo MS) that Persepolis exudes. But of course as a 'free Westerner' myself, there is a shocking way of life, a different culture to understand...under the veil though, these girls do like a giggle. Persepolis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable on Kindle, 13 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. S. Cmakal "iDevGeek" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Embroideries (Kindle Edition)
This is very difficult to read on Kindle. It's not been converted to e-book very well. Quite quirky book otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great insight and really funny, 11 July 2011
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
I loved her more famous book Persepolis and so was thrilled to see she has written more. This will only take you an hour to read but is well worth it. Her brilliantly subversive grandmother (such a star in the previous book) is the central character who hosts the gossip sessions that cover mainly sex, men, failed marriages and of course "embroideries" which you will be surprised to hear the true meaning of. I love the line that talking about others is ventilation for the heart, as well as the brilliantly drawn expressions and hysterical one-liners.
This book really brings home the fact that although these women are from a very different culture, they are really just like the rest of us. Well, her grandmother might ask, what did I think?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, witty, masterful, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
I almost never give five star reviews but embroideries deserved it! After reading Persepolis, i was introduced to the graphic novel genre and became curious of what else Marjane Satrapi had to say..I must say I was amazed! Funny and sensitive at the same time, it gives a clear idea of what the sexual lives of women in Iran are like and all the conditions and ideas surrounding it. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 April 2013
By 
A. Liuzzo Scorpo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Embroideries (Paperback)
Another masterpiece by Satrapi, which makes you think differently about Iranian society, gender issues, class definitions, etc. A pleasant read and an interesting starting point to challenge some of the most common stereotypes about women's situation in the Middle East. It is also another piece to add to Satrapi's graphic biography. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An insider's view of women in Iran, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
DubaiReader "MaryAnne" (Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Embroideries (Kindle Edition)
This simple graphic novel follows on from the author's two-volume Persopolis, though it is not a sequel. Presented in similar black and white drawings, we now get to hear the conversations between a group of women who have packed off their husbands for a nap after lunch, while they set the world to rights. A familiar enough concept, except that these women are in Iran and many of their topics of conversation reflect their different backgrounds. Sujects discussed all revolve around womens' issues, such as early marriage, plastic surgery and the 'embroidery' of the title, which allows women to appear virginal at the time of their weddings.

It is interesting to reflect on the similarities and differences between ourselves and these women.

A short, quick read which makes up for the fact that it lacks depth, by providing such an insider's view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Embroideries
Embroideries by Marjane Satrapi (Paperback - 4 Sept. 2008)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews