Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive
This book contains the pick (527 in all) of the page-length cartoon strip Dykes To Watch Out For that Alison Bechdel (creator of the graphic novel Fun Home), produced over 21 years (1987-2008), with an entertaining introductory strip recounting how she came to develop the strip and her reaction to what she has done. It concerns an interlinked group of multi-ethnic lesbian...
Published on 8 Mar. 2009 by OliverD

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not entertaining at all.
I thought the humour was boring, the storyline dragged and was also very stereotypical. Also the drawing style isn't exactly very sophisticated or particularly artistic.
Published 12 months ago by silvia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 8 Mar. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
This book contains the pick (527 in all) of the page-length cartoon strip Dykes To Watch Out For that Alison Bechdel (creator of the graphic novel Fun Home), produced over 21 years (1987-2008), with an entertaining introductory strip recounting how she came to develop the strip and her reaction to what she has done. It concerns an interlinked group of multi-ethnic lesbian friends in an unnamed but obviously urban American setting. We have been here before, with the L Word, and many of the same types are recognisable - but these are highly politicised lesbians, mostly committed to veganism, radical politics, and bringing down "the patriarchy", especially Mo, whose attempts to take the moral high ground on absolutely everything even irritate her friends. Yet they are also completely human and "just like everyone else". A constant theme is Mo's difficulties in getting and, when she has one, handling a relationship, and such difficulties in and out of relationships - jealousy, cheating, squabbles, differences in attitude - affect the other characters also. The problems of sharing a house, dealing with parents (whether supportive or not), deciding to have a child, all come up. All along the way there is much sly, sometimes surreal humour and social commentary, including background material being heard from TVs and headlines in newspapers, and there are nice touches, like the horror of some, especially Mo, when all sorts of people start coming out (Republicans! Gak!) and they discover that being gay does not entail having to hold the same political and social attitudes as they do.

Anyone interested in lesbians, and American political and social development viewed in a not always serious light, would find this worth a look. The only drawbacks are, for non-Americans some of the cultural references will be obscure, and read one strip and you will find yourself pulled on to the next ... That's why I call it addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 7 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
This is the second book i read from Alison Bechdel (the first was Fun home-also highly recommend). The comic is about a funny lesbian community of friends. In the first narrative level we observe their life and in the second narrative level we observe the general American civic life (book spans from 1990's to 2008). This is a great book because it records the cultural change inside the gay community and in general the LGBT life and attitude towards politics.

Enjoyed the humor, the characters, the witty description of lesbian women and the volume of information about the gay community

A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
Bechdel is a great artist.The strips are absolutely funny and smart, you can see all the different characters in her work.It's also a big book, which is great because I can't get enough of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining, 8 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
I bought this after stumbling across one of the old cartoons online. Ordered this and was not disappointed. It's funny and heartwarming and you really feel yourself getting involved with the characters lives. There are A LOT of cartoons in the book it't very addictive reading. Well worth the money. Bechdel's humour is in the little things, be sure to look at the titles of books or newspaper headlines in the background of each cartoon- they are very witty.

Also don't worry about the other review which says some of the cultural references will go over British people's heads, it's no worse than Friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An insightful reflection of lesbian life in the period., 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
I love this set if Cartoons. As a gay woman it is refreshing to read a clever, funny and political set of graphic stories. The characters are a blast from the past and after a few pages I was hooked. This is a must for any lesbian who wants to spend some time reflecting on the lesbian library verses the pub. Excellent writing at times laugh out loud a comic time machine. The drawings are fantastic the characters feel like old friends. Read it she is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sad when it ended, 12 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
I'd been recommended this series a few times. Not being into graphic novels, I'd never bothered. Then I was bought this whole tome for my birthday. One sleepless night I picked it up. Well ... utterly addictive. Funny, clever, loveable. I felt so sad when I came to the end.

Natasha Holme
Author of 'Lesbian Crushes and Bulimia: A Diary on How I Acquired my Eating Disorder'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bechdel's Best, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
On what a treat it's been to revisit old friends. If you've never read Bechdel do, if you have revisit her. She captures dyke life for my generation perfectly, poignantly and politically. a stunning piece of our history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dykes to die for!, 25 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
I have been following the "Dykes..." since the first anthology appeared in the UK, eagerly awaiting each installment, and have grown middle-aged with the characters. If you already know and love Mo, Lois and co, here at last is a handy volume containing most of the oevre; if not, you have a real treat in store!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars !, 23 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
a really great book. would love to have more os something like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2015
By 
C.G.C. (RS, Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For (Paperback)
Amazing comic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For
The Essential Dykes To Watch Out For by Alison Bechdel (Paperback - 4 Dec. 2008)
£15.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews