Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every countryside lover should have this on their bookshelf
Each Hedgerow ingredient is listed alphabetically and is beautifully illustrated. The folklore and medicinal input is captivating and the recipes are inspired too. I also like the name Angelica (Bloomsbury perhaps) but had no idea that the plant may be so named, because it is in flower on the feast day of the Archangel Michael. A truly stunning book and a joy to read.
Published on 17 Mar 2012 by FJM

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Hedgerow Handbook.
This is a nice little handbook. It has some easy recepies. The illustrations are drawings partly coloured in. I would have preferred photographs as l would be worried about mixing up safe and potentially harmful plants. It is good value for money it arrived well wrapped and promptly. I recommend this book for beginner's.
Published 3 months ago by Cally


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every countryside lover should have this on their bookshelf, 17 Mar 2012
By 
FJM (Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
Each Hedgerow ingredient is listed alphabetically and is beautifully illustrated. The folklore and medicinal input is captivating and the recipes are inspired too. I also like the name Angelica (Bloomsbury perhaps) but had no idea that the plant may be so named, because it is in flower on the feast day of the Archangel Michael. A truly stunning book and a joy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hedgerow Handbook, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
This was a wonderful little pocket sized book - as the weather warms up and the plants mentioned have begun to appear in the hedgerows the children have been fasinated by some of the many uses they have and some of the folk lore attached. Well worth taking on a walk to occupy children and older members of the party alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful little book, 20 April 2012
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
Beautifully written, content engaging and new to me, enlightening, illustrations are not only exact but also delightful.
This book is a gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hedgerow Bible, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
Having originally been a country girl and thought that I had a reasonable knowledge of wild flowers and hedgerow plants, then moved to London and became a townie for some years, have realised just how much I don't know about our native plants. This is an informative and beautifully illustrated handbook, making the plants instantly recognisable in their habitat. The recipes are an added bonus, & can't wait to try Adele's version of Elderflower cordial. A great handbook to keep as a reference or keep in mind for future Christmas gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Informative & Beautifully ilustrated, 17 April 2012
By 
Mrs. Helen P. Sheppard (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
A beautifully illustrated, easy to follow, informative book brimming with information on a huge selection of hedgerow plants and their culinary and medicinal uses. Would make a fantastic present for just about anybody. Reading for a second time just in case I missed something first time round. Absolutely Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative book and beautifully illustrated, 3 April 2012
By 
Michaela (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
This is a cracking little book. The book is set out alphabetically allowing you to locate plants easily. The book contains a combination of recipes, folklore and medicinal uses for a range of familiar hedgerow plants. The delicate watercolour illustrations provide clear detail for each plant.
I shall from now on refer to Himalayan Balsam by it's folk name Bee Bums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to try some of these recipes, 10 July 2012
By 
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
LOVE this book, i live in the country so there is an abundance of produce to choose from. This book has made me realise you can use things i would never of considered that you could eat, i can't wait to try out some of these recipes (thats if i can ever get the book back from my mum who's borrowed it!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hedgerow handbook:recipies, remedies and rituals, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
This book will make your walks in the country even more fun! Searching for wild plants that can be used to create some amazing culinary dishes, a wonderful choice of beverages as well as traditional herbal remedies. A fantastic book, which is beautifully illustrated and a delight to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, full of interesting things!, 21 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
I was bought this book as a present a little while ago and think it is absolutely beautiful!

It is full of interesting facts, recipes, suggestions for remedies and all sorts of bits of information about plants in and around the hedgerow and garden that you otherwise wouldn't think twice about. I can see that I shall be dipping in and out of it for years to come, though I'll have to add another way to add notes as the pages are just far too good to mark!

The illustrations are amazing, really well thought out and beautifully presented.

I would highly recommend this book, it is a must for any and every bookshelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Hedgerow Handbook., 21 Sep 2014
By 
Cally (Prestwood, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals (Hardcover)
This is a nice little handbook. It has some easy recepies. The illustrations are drawings partly coloured in. I would have preferred photographs as l would be worried about mixing up safe and potentially harmful plants. It is good value for money it arrived well wrapped and promptly. I recommend this book for beginner's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals
The Hedgerow Handbook: Recipes, Remedies and Rituals by Adele Nozedar (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2012)
£10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews