Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 July 2013
Well, have been trying a fair few non-superhero Graphics of late, some enjoyable and some less so, but this is RIGHT at the top. Intriguing story, interesting and fleshed characters throughout, absorbing future-look at the Smoke, and all done full justice by the superb art. Haven't enjoyed a story/book more for quite a while. Immediately on the look for other books by the Authors. Can't recommend highly enough - 5* insufficient: have re-read three times already, taking it all in. Just wish it was longer cos didn't want it to stop.

Can't wait to see where Drowntown goes/what everyone is/has been up to (and more Rats riding an Alligator in the sewers please!) - Amazon state Book 2 being due in October 2014! Please say that's a typo - can't wait THAT long!?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Drowntown features some of the most gorgeous artwork I've ever come across in a comic book; its exaggerated character models combined with the colourful backdrops make every page a feast for the eyes. However that's where the compliments end; the plot simply doesn't reach a conclusion by the end of the book. This isn't so much "Drowntown" as "Drowntown part 1", and that's a huge problem with the book.

If it wasn't for the awesome visuals I would pass on the book. It depends on what you want most out of a graphic novel.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Jim Murray is the most incredible illustrator working in comics today. Taking on the mantle from Bisley and running with it like a demented Roger Bannister (substitute Husain Bolt, if you must) I can't think of anyone that applies greater attention to detail or manifests a more personal ambience an absolute master of the order of Simon Bisley, Greg Staple and Robert Bliss. Also see 'Batman and Demon, a tragedy' if you haven't already.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
I love John Constantine, Cal McDonald, and everything Ed Brubaker is doing with the sleazy noir worlds he creates. With that in mind, I was always going to be drawn to Drowntown.
With Drowntown, instead of supernatural detective we get detective mixed with sci-fi. A familiar London reaping the effects of global warming. A very British dead beat protagonist in Leo Noiret who is struggling to keep his beer belly from dragging him under the sewage water. Our other mysterious antihero, Gina Cassel, is very intriguing and book 1 sets up the story of who she is nicely.
However, unlike most trade paperbacks which collect a story ark or two, this feels very much like a prelude. Using 2000ADs layout with larger pages makes the chapters seem shorter. It did feel like a quick read, but that made me give it a second read. The artwork is immense, Jim Murray has done sterling work, and perhaps because of this I got more out of it when I went back to it.
I recommend picking this up and look forward to the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
A drowned city a la JG Ballard with genetically manipulated rats, pandas etc plus a slob of a "hero" but the usual pneumatic action babe in the other half of the story. Well drawn with an almost realistic style ie not cartoonish and the story is intriguing. Let us hope it develops satisfactorily in the other two parts which is the biggest bad mark as it is too short and this volume ends with everything in the air. An omnibus edition might be the one to wait for!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Reading Drowntown I was struck more than once by the resemblance of the artwork to the illustrations produced by some of the more famous American and British comic book artists of the 1950s and '60s. There is definitely an old school vibe here but with a fresh spin that makes the pages veritably hum with energy and vibrancy. The storyline is interesting, if a little predictable, but it is the art that brings the story alive. Looking forward to the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
This may be a slim volume but the art is astonishing and the world building satisfying and logical. The set up of this story is really enjoyable. I don't have anything negative to say apart from the length but again it's understandable considering the depth of the images. I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Robbie and Jim have created a gorgeous, very Ballard-esque take on a future detective story. Fabulous graphics, engaging script.

Was tempted to deduct a star for the lettering (balloon tails wander- SERIF-ED 'I's in the middle of words- rookie error!) but no, it's fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Cool cover, cool story, cool personages. Great art. I'm instant fan!
I never thought i would really like the story. Because a lot of times the art is great, but the story is disappointing. But not with Drowntown!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Interesting beginning to a longer story with fun and well developed characters and above all amazing artwork. Based in a flooded London there are some fun nods to some local London history and culture
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.29
£12.44

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.