Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High quality with stunning photographs
Don't make the mistake of thinking that this is a Lance Armstrong autobiography in the style of It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life and Every Second Counts. He writes a brief introduction, but essentially it is a pictorial diary of a year in the life of Lance Armstrong, from when he made the decision to return to professional cycling through to the Tour de...
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by Julia Flyte

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Peterreview
A bit of a coffee table book. Lots of interesting photos, but very little text. A little disappointing in that respect, but ok for what it was attempting to do.
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by Ms. Loretta Hurst


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High quality with stunning photographs, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Don't make the mistake of thinking that this is a Lance Armstrong autobiography in the style of It's Not About the Bike: My Journey Back to Life and Every Second Counts. He writes a brief introduction, but essentially it is a pictorial diary of a year in the life of Lance Armstrong, from when he made the decision to return to professional cycling through to the Tour de France earlier this year. It's a busy year with lots of training (he gets noticeably thinner over the year); racing events in Australia, the US and Europe; a broken collarbone; a new baby and lots of fundraising and campaigning for cancer research.

The photographs are all taken by Elizabeth Kreutz and they are stunning - see the examples above. They are arranged in chronological order and each is accompanied by a little explanation from Lance about what he was doing or thinking at the time. The layout of the book and the paper stock are also high quality.

Reading this book feels like you've spent a year being a fly on the wall as Lance goes about his life. It's a fascinating glimpse into his world, from the high glamour (flying in private jets and hanging out with world leaders) to the mundane (running his kids to school and playing in the backyard with them - nice backyard by the way Lance). There's even a photo of him undergoing a urine test. You certainly get an appreciation for the hard work that goes into being a professional cyclist as well as the considerable work that he does for cancer research. His relationship with his partner Anna also comes across as being very close and strong. There's a photo of him smiling with Contadour at the press conference announcing that they'd be racing together, along with a wry comment that this was probably as friendly as they ever got.

It's a gorgeous book and very interesting, but do be aware that essentially it's a coffee table book rather than an autobiography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, 28 Jan 2010
By 
M. Capilitan "m_capilitan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As said, this is a photographic book, not an autobio. Yeah the small bit of text is good, but doesn't go into much detail, but it's not really supposed to. The photographs are supposed to do most of that! Buy this for the images, and they're great images at that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story - told in pictures, 15 Jan 2010
By 
A. Collen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great shots, great book. But as Lance has always been so out spoken about his causes and his racing there are very few words - when you consider breaking his collarbone in preparation and who his team mate was all of these points are skimmed.
I agree great coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Peterreview, 1 Jan 2010
A bit of a coffee table book. Lots of interesting photos, but very little text. A little disappointing in that respect, but ok for what it was attempting to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Photobiography of a legend, 1 Mar 2010
As said on previous reviews, this is more of a Photobiography of one of the greatest sports men ever.

This "biography" is a very honest account of Lance Armstrong over a season. I know people who arent his biggest fans due to his outspoken way and even they have loved the book.

From the start of the season pre Leadville right through to the Giro and of course his comeback to Le Tour.

A highgly recommended read to any cycling fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lance Armstrong My Comeback, 14 Feb 2010
Lance at his best, I have read all of his books and have been an admirer of Elizabeth Kreutz for some time, the way she captures the image is outstanding.

Her work with Lance over the years has captured the moment.

A must have for your bookshelf.

Arnold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of lovely images, 31 Jan 2010
By 
L. Smith "casual reader" (South West, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My Comeback: Up Close and Personal has lots of lovely images, many informal behind the scenes pictures and, from that point of view, it gives a very good 'fly on the wall' impression of the 2009 Tour de France etc
I've read several Lance Armstrong books - both those written by himself and by others and have followed his exploits with interest over the last few years.
Thus, his comeback was of interest and I, personally, would have preferred a little more text and background information, but that isn't what this book is about.
Interestingly, this is a book that I will keep for years to come. Having never attended the Tour, it gives a sense of the atmosphere. From time to time, when reading other books about Lance Armstrong or the Tour, I've wished there were more illustrations - this book fills those gaps.
Defintely, well worth buying. The limited text does mean that it would probably be an appropriate purchase for a young child who has an interest in cycling, the Tour, or Lance himself.
Similarly, this book would be particularly suitable for a individual who has just been introduced to his story and wants to see more - being a cancer survivor, Lance's career is followed by many cancer patients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a disappointment, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Don't be mistaken: This is a collection of photographs. Inside the covers of this large, square-shaped book there are a lot of excellent photographs taken during Lance's return to competition, but there's not an awful lot to read. Lance has written a short introduction, and each photo is accompanied by a short paragraph of text explaining what is going on, many of which are along the lines of "this is me with my friend Ben Stiller". For me the photos taken out of the saddle were more interesting, especially those dealing with his life away from the racing and celebrity circuits, but my favourite shot of all was probably the one on the cover - a fabulous study of determination and power. Buy it to look at the photos, but if you want something to read and be inspired stick with the stunning "It's Not About The Bike" - I read this one from cover to cover in an hour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At the time of perceived greatness, 15 Dec 2013
By 
S. Crispin (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To me this was a good book but after perhaps the biggest 'let down' for me in sporting history, I have downgraded it and given away all and everything related to his person. However, for purposes of reviewing this book and if you are still a fan, this is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dedication and Achievement, 26 Sep 2010
By 
G. Daniels "velovet" (Staffs, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lance Armstrong has always regarded himself as cancer survivor rather than bicycle racer. The desire to push the message of Livestrong, his cancer foundation, provided the catalyst for a return to professional cycling after three years of retirement.

Elizabeth Kreutz captures a unique year in an intimate camera record of Armstrong's life as he prepares for his greatest challenge, the Tour de France, once more. Along the way there are images of Lance the A-lister as he rubs shoulders with politicians and TV pundits and, above all, with cancer sufferers, carers and fundraisers.

Cycling at the highest level is woven in to a lifestyle that threatens to pull him this way and that but, still amazingly, he emerges as clear-sighted and driven as ever, if a little polish is now applied in this latter regard.

There are photos of Lance the family man, hard man metamorphosed into elder statesman of the peloton yet still disciple of the greatest of them all, Eddie Merckx. Elizabeth Kreutz's evocative pictures and the supporting text, much of it in Armstrong's own words, make this a compelling account of dedication and achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Comeback: Up Close and Personal
My Comeback: Up Close and Personal by Lance Armstrong (Paperback - 3 Dec 2009)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews