Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! The Best Tour ever.
Absolutely brilliant retelling of the events surrounding the 1986 Tour de France by Richard Moore. This was the first Tour broadcast on British TV by Channel 4 and as it was also my first Tour it brought back many many great memories.

Moore tries to unravel the events surrounding Lemond's victory and whether or not his team mate, Hinault (the badger) was riding...
Published on 15 Jun 2011 by Joman73

versus
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A different opinion
Richard Moore's Slaying the Badger seems to have gained universal praise and so it's with some trepidation that I offer a dissenting opinion. Don't get me wrong: the story of the 1986 Tour is a fascinating one. I'm just not sure that this book tells it in a fascinating way.

I should probably make clear at the outset that I work as a writer and editor. That...
Published on 21 July 2011 by readie


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Complex Inter-colleague relationships, 21 Jun 2011
As much as the Damned United can be read as a book about industrial relations this is a story of complex colleague relationships. Painted by many as a simple story of a broken promise, Moore reveals a complex relationship between the master and the not-so-apprentice in Hinault and LeMond. Drawing on a range of interesting interviews with key actors in this relationship, not least the main protagonists themselves, Slaying the Badger is a compelling and though provoking read. Far from backing one side the beauty of this book is the exploration of the character strengths and flaws of all the actors, illustrating how life never runs smooth and how there are no good guys and bad guys just people trying to do what they see best. And it opens with quite simply the best page and a half of any book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just superb, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took me back to my youth and why I have followed the tour every year since but none have come close and doubt they ever will to this race , superbly written and I learnt so much of what happened behind the scenes, makes Greg's win even more awesome , thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't become a cycling fan until Greg leMonds win in 1989 and I wish I had seen the 1986 tour it was one of the greatest ever, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaying the Badger: LeMond, Hinault and the Greatest Ever Tour de France (Paperback)
Briliant book, I didn't want it to to end !! Couldn't put it down. I didn't become a cycling fan until Greg leMonds win in 1989 and I wish I had seen the 1986 tour it was one of the greatest ever. I thoroughly recommend this book to all cycling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slaying the Badger, 17 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book shows how much of a bully Hinault could be. A fascinating insight into the goings on in a proffesional cycling team when the young upstart challenges the master.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars price of product and service though is great., 22 Oct 2014
This review is from: Slaying the Badger: LeMond, Hinault and the Greatest Ever Tour de France (Paperback)
This is bought as a present for someone else so cannot accurately rate hence the 3 stars . P&P, price of product and service though is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The year's most disappointing cycling book, 11 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. Ben Tisdall (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's been a vintage year for books about professional cycling. David Millar's book is arguably the best cycling autobiography since Rough Ride. Millar is not only a more talented cyclist than Paul Kimmage but also a better writer, at least on the evidence of Paul's first book. And Ned Boulting's book, How I won the Yellow Jumper, is a great collection of funny stories from ten years of covering the Tour.
So I came Slaying the Badger with high hopes, having quite liked Richard's earlier book about Robert Millar. But this book never gets going. As an earlier review suggests it's slightly overwritten. The pace is slow. It doesn't get onto the 86 Tour, the main subject, until two thirds of the way through. And having struggled through to the end, I don't feel like I've gained any great insight into that year's race, Greg Lemond or Bernard Hinault.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Badger Not to be Trusted, 2 July 2011
By 
M. Hogg "Penderhogg" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Back at School in the 1970's during Modern Studies classes we were shown a cartoon of the 'Stereotypical' British viewpoint of nations across the world. The French caricature showed a beret-wearing, garlic and bread eating individual in a hooped jersey. The tagline was, 'The French can be awkward and are not to be trusted'. It seems clear to everyone other than Bernard Hinault that a promise is a promise and that he would never have won the 1985 Tour de France without the help of Greg Lemond. The favour - at least for the majority of the race - was never returned.

This is a great book, released at exactly the right time, detailing the first ever televised (in the UK) Tour and I remember it with real affection. I cannot remember the TV ever showing the Lemond toilet problems though.(!)

Well researched and written, I would recommend this fascinating story of intrigue and human nature to cyclists and non-cyclists alike. A great way to get in the mood for the 2011 Tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 27 Nov 2014
By 
G. Donoghue "G D" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Abook writen for cyclyist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaying the Badger: LeMond, Hinault and the Greatest Ever Tour de France (Paperback)
All arrived as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Plodding read for the super- enthusiast, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Steven Clarke (Hannington, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting for the aficionados - but slighly plodding in its pace. This reads rather like an extended newspaper article in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slaying the Badger: LeMond, Hinault and the Greatest Ever Tour de France
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews