Customer Reviews
Aya


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden book...
Aha, this is volume two of the wonderful graphic novel series and finds our heroine Aya continuing her role as the calm hub at the centre of some wild comic goings on.

Not to give the story away... (see vol1)... but the baby is born and who will claim paternity?

As I said in a review of vol 1 this is almost Shakesperean in its comic mastery, and the...
Published on 15 Jun 2009 by N. Black

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All families are dreary in the same way
I read the first Aya book after several years of avoiding comics and really enjoyed it. The artwork was fresh, the story (though somewhat soap opera-ish) was enjoyable, and the world seemed familiar to Westerners yet distinctively African. I picked this sequel up after a few years of reading hundreds and hundreds of comic books and found it to be not at all what I was...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden book..., 15 Jun 2009
This review is from: Aya of Yop City (Hardcover)
Aha, this is volume two of the wonderful graphic novel series and finds our heroine Aya continuing her role as the calm hub at the centre of some wild comic goings on.

Not to give the story away... (see vol1)... but the baby is born and who will claim paternity?

As I said in a review of vol 1 this is almost Shakesperean in its comic mastery, and the drawings are even better than they were in volume 1. The unfortunate Moussa gets a job. Herve wants to spell and will Aya enter a beauty competition?

What is so heart warming about this series is the time and care taken over the artwork... all sorts of special details and subtle effects.

I think we have here a modest legend in the making. Indispensable, for anyone who might have read other graphic novel classics like Maus, Persopolis, Alison Bechdel's Fun House and Dykes to watch out for. But all this with an African twist.

Golden, heart-warming, life affirming. What is there not to love, o?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars All families are dreary in the same way, 31 Dec 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aya of Yop City (Hardcover)
I read the first Aya book after several years of avoiding comics and really enjoyed it. The artwork was fresh, the story (though somewhat soap opera-ish) was enjoyable, and the world seemed familiar to Westerners yet distinctively African. I picked this sequel up after a few years of reading hundreds and hundreds of comic books and found it to be not at all what I was expecting it to be.

The artwork is ok but the story is just too slight to make up an entire book. Aya is an independent woman who isn't throwing her life away too early by becoming a single mother and then abandoning hope of a career or a life outside of Yop City. Commendable but then she doesn't really do much else but observe her friends and family doing the opposite. Her friend is pregnant - but who's the father? Her dad's having an affair! And that's about it. Some romantic misunderstandings and it feels very much like a comic book version of your average soap - slight, brainless, and ultimately a waste of time.

I wanted to like this series but having discovered a wealth of comic books available that offer far more substantial content, I've found that "Aya of Yop City" isn't one of them.

Better comic books: "Habibi" by Craig Thompson, "War Stories" by Garth Ennis, "Transmetropolitan" by Warren Ellis, "It's a Good Life If You Don't Weaken" by Seth, "Fun Home" by Alison Bechdel, "Hark a Vagrant!" by Kate Beaton, "Paying for It" by Chester Brown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very happy!, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aya of Yop City (Hardcover)
Finally managed to purchase (in English) the complete Aya set and was very happy with my purhcase--from beginning to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book 1 is a lovely introduction to the world of Aya, 7 Aug 2013
By 
V. Hayrabedian (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aya (Hardcover)
Either everyone is reviewing the wrong book, or Amazon has decided to group the reviews of all the different volumes of Aya's adventures together. This review is for Book 1 only.

I thought it was wonderful. The Yop City setting was well realised, and the characters felt quite distinctive while retaining their broad comedic brushstrokes. It felt a little odd to have the title character play an almost peripheral part to the story, but seeing the interaction of her friends and family through her eyes was actually rather interesting. I quite liked the art as well, it had a certain 70s quality to it, with strong bold colours and firm inking. You don't need to be an Africaphile or graphic novel devotee to enjoy it: the storyline is sufficiently fun and accessible for casual graphic novel readers, and there are some fun, witty comments on gender relations to enjoy. I will be checking out Marguerite Abouet's other work following this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charming and Clever, 27 Aug 2011
By 
J. P. Marsh (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aya (Hardcover)
As a white man in his early twenties living in the western world, I could be accused of being patronizing by saying that "Aya is a lovely introductry account of what it is to live in Africa". But simply, it is. This is such an absorbing and heart warming story of a young woman in Yopougon during the Ivory Coast's great boom in culture and industry. We're treated to the daily comings and goings of the studious and steadfast Aya and the amusing attitudes and indiscretions of her friends and family. But this isn't all sunshine and charm, there is a regular element of transition running throughout this book and in the next two sequels which I've also read; the transition of Aya into an independent young woman whilst her friends dither, the crumbling and re-building of the inter-personal relationships of all around her and the very temporary nature of the Ivory Coast's prosperity - these factors add a very real political undertone to this radiant village story.
Sublime, colourful and shrewdly written this is one not to overlook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aya comics, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: Aya (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading all 3 installments of the Aya comics. The dialog was vivid and animated each character has his or her own well developed personality. It was great reading about Aya and her family relations,along with the relations of her friends. All of the pages were displayed with beautiful art that captured your imagination and brought her environment to life. I hope that the subsequent volumes will soon be publised in English!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AYA, 13 Mar 2010
By 
L. Crawford "LC" (Paris) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aya (Hardcover)
All the Aya comic books are wonderful. The drawing improves and the stories become more complicated but full of humour. It gives a fantastic insight into African culture.
Recommended reading for adults of all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aya
Aya by Marguerite Abouet (Hardcover - 2 Aug 2007)
£11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews