Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trivia Heaven!!, 21 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Michael Salkeld "Salky" (Cumbria, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has got to be the finest factual sport book I have ever read. Apart from being a keen gatherer of trivia as someone whose hobby in the past has been compiling pub quizzes, I have found this book an absolute joy. The author has the knack of presenting fact after fact, obviously based on months of research, in such a way that it's impossible to become bored. A difficult book to put down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xmas comes early, 24 Oct 2007
By 
J. B. Weston "lazy reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know (Hardcover)
The only thing I couldn't find in this marvellous tome is where Michelle Wie keep her spare balls on her caddies day off. (And it may well be that I simply haven't got to that page yet.)
But everything else you might ever wish to know about sport you'll find in its 940 packed pages. From the use of heroin in the 'pot Belge' or 'Madman's mix' in the Tour de France... and a pharmacopoeia of other drugs in other sports; the use of bungs in ancient Olympia; the origins of the Inanimate Bird Shooting Association; Roman Sport's Kits; to Anfield's famed 'Yellow River' that ran down the steps of the Kop. There's also loads of other stuff that you might get asked in the ' three options' bit of the pub quiz such as why do wickets have three stumps, why do centre-halves play at the back, and why a wooden spoon. And even if you don't get down the pub that often any more it's nice to have around so you can finally shut your mental brother-in-law up next time he screams ' If that's not offside can someone please tell me what is?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tome Raiders will appreciate this sports reference., 4 April 2009
This review is from: Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know (Hardcover)
Although a very weighty volume - unsuitable for bedtime reading! - sports devotees will enjoy this book which reveals many interesting and obscure facts. Written in an entertaining style this book is good value when purchased at the Amazon price.

Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, a great present for all dads, 21 Nov 2007
By 
Mrs. G. J. March "gwyn" (Steyning, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know (Hardcover)
I've had to wrestle this book off my husband. He reads one book a year so it has to be good, and he has loved it. I know - or knew - very little about sport. Now I feel I can hold my end up in any pub conversation. I've just ordered a copy for my dad, and brother in laws!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a blinder, 29 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know (Hardcover)
it's chunky but quite brilliant.. a christmas must for hard-to-buy-for blokes who are tired of getting socks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know (Hardcover)
In terms of condition and quality of materials / workmanship etc, this is probably the best book I have ever bought on-line. Combined with speedy delivery, this marks The_Perfect_Used_Book_Store out as a highly recommended and first class book dealer.
The book itself is a hefty tome covering the background stories to the development and history of the mainline sports. It would combine nicely with the more conventional sports almanacs with their endless lists.
The chief criticism in my view is the lack of a lengthier, in-depth appendix which would make reference-checking all the easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brilliant and fascinating book. If you have the slightest interest in the history of sport then I thoroughly recommend it. I liked the writing style, including the way the author's own views slipped through occasionally. A great book to help you understand why sport today is like it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good for dipping in to, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a Christmas present for my husband. He still has it on the sofa next to him and dips into it when he has an idle moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know
Sport: Almost Everything You Ever Wanted to Know by Tim Harris (Hardcover - 25 Oct 2007)
17.77
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews