Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
Many sports books are written to celebrate the glory of winning and achievement. Kimmages book is different because it is an honest account of an also-ran, a dreamer, a slogger. Paul never enjoyed the trappings of success, never earned anything more than a pithy wage and experienced in rare measure the dream of winning.
Against all this, Paul is forced to deal with...
Published on 2 Jun. 2005 by Karl McCann

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I must say I was disappointed with this book after so much I'd heard about ...
I must say I was disappointed with this book after so much I'd heard about it. Nowhere near as good as 'Racing through the Dark' by David Millar or 'Hunger' by Sean Kelly. Kimmage comes across as an average pro cyclist who struggles to get noticed and achieve success, but he's also quite negative about the whole sport and not just because of doping. It's all a bit...
Published 12 months ago by Acee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars insightful book, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
insightful book with a good account of life inside pro cycling, a but a bit too much self pity but many be that's the point
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first of its kind, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seems almost low key compared to recent publications but a groundbreaker at the time and well worth reading for context
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite an insight, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Paul Kimmage tells it how it was in cycling, This book shows how cycling got to the drug taking we all now know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
P. Willis (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting insight into the life of a professional cyclist from the point of view of someone who wasn't a superstar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rough Ride (Paperback)
Interesting read would highly recommend, you will find this one hard to put down. Would read it again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT READ, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
James McHenry "Cardrona" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good read - a great insight into the world of pro cycling in the eighties.
I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wanted to fill the gap on the shelf and like the recent, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rough Ride (Paperback)
Bought it back in 1998, lent it to somebody, wanted to fill the gap on the shelf and like the recent addendum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rough Ride (Paperback)
I heard my husband laughing at one point, which means it must have been worth reading, and he finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The truth is out there!, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rough Ride (Paperback)
We knew it was happening and it's thanks to Paul Kimmage that the cheating has been exposed. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Down and dirty cycling, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent view of the experience of pro cycling in the 80's. Read it if you love to ride a bike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rough Ride
Rough Ride by Paul Kimmage (Paperback - 7 Jun. 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews