Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful book...
After being captivated by the unique and quirky 'Three Incestuous Sisters' i was excited to read Audrey Niffenegger's second 'picture novel' offering and would definitely say this is just as good. Slightly longer and more detailed than the first picture novel, i again found The Adventuress to be a really worthwhile and beautifully designed book with a unique story,...
Published on 12 Feb 2007 by Heather

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
The pictures have an elegant simplicity and are often beautiful in their minimalist way. However, they are not strong enough to replace the text of the story. And frankly the text is weak. The words verge on the facile, and the story itself is random (it is a "dream sequence") and disappointing. The heroine starts out strongly enough but soon fades out altogether,...
Published on 27 Feb 2007 by Andrew


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 27 Feb 2007
By 
Andrew (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
The pictures have an elegant simplicity and are often beautiful in their minimalist way. However, they are not strong enough to replace the text of the story. And frankly the text is weak. The words verge on the facile, and the story itself is random (it is a "dream sequence") and disappointing. The heroine starts out strongly enough but soon fades out altogether, with a somewhat hackneyed ending. Yes it's imaginative, but after the fabulous Time Traveller's Wife I expected much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful book..., 12 Feb 2007
By 
Heather "star_reader" (Leeds, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
After being captivated by the unique and quirky 'Three Incestuous Sisters' i was excited to read Audrey Niffenegger's second 'picture novel' offering and would definitely say this is just as good. Slightly longer and more detailed than the first picture novel, i again found The Adventuress to be a really worthwhile and beautifully designed book with a unique story, definitely not like anything else you will have read!

If like me you love books and appreciate something beautifully crafted and 'good looking' then this book is definitely for you.

I cant wait to see what Niffenegger comes up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adventures in style, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Noel - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
A woman captured by an avaricious lord. A metamorphosis into a moth. A union with Napoleon. A cat born from a woman. A betrayal. A death. Spirit travelling.

This is basically the story of Audrey Niffenegger's picture story The Adventuress. Fascinating artwork strung together with single sentences or labels to construct something of a mystical fairy tale.

The story is second after the art as Niffenegger says in the afterword. She created the pictures as they came to her in a dream-like state and only when they were completed did she try to sequence them into the story of "The Adventuress".

The book design and pictures are superb with high quality paper used to bring out the best of Niffenegger's art. Given that the words used as minimal at best, this is a very quick read but then it was created not to be read but really looked at. Each picture has detail and atmosphere to capture your attention for several minutes at least.

It's an interesting book of art similar in style to Niffenegger's other book "The Three Incestuous Sisters" and has some excellent pictures. The story, while meandering, is in the best of fairy tales compelling and magical in equal turns. A good, well produced book but perhaps not for everyone given it's brevity in prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book of illustrations, 24 Mar 2010
By 
E. Morgan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
This book is pretty as an object but definately not a novel, more just a book filled with picutures and one sentence on each page. Nothing like Time travellers wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars returned, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Mrs. Sheila A. Mcglynn "noddy" (windsor,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Adventuress (Hardcover)
I returned this and another book by the same author ordered at the same time, as they were picture books. Not entirely sure that this was clearly marked when ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a8aae0)

This product

The Adventuress
The Adventuress by Audrey Niffenegger (Hardcover - 28 Sep 2006)
15.49
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews