Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exercises in sheer artistic play
Based as it is on Raymond Queneau's marvellous and erudite 'Exercise in style' this play of comic narratives on a simple set of variations spun out on a single scene is pure delight.

I defy anyone to remain unmoved at the sheer inventiveness of styles and variations.

Like a comic version of Beethoven's Diabelli Variations - or dare I say it: Bach's...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by Mr. Nadim Bakhshov

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Variations on a Visual Theme
Author Matt Madden credits Raymond Queneau's Exercises in Style as the inspiration for this collection of ninety-nine variations on the same story in one-page comic strip form. Madden presents an initial comic he calls "Template" that depicts a man working at his desk, then walking downstairs to look in the refrigerator. He then presents redrawings of this story that...
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by John M. Ford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Variations on a Visual Theme, 5 Jun 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Author Matt Madden credits Raymond Queneau's Exercises in Style as the inspiration for this collection of ninety-nine variations on the same story in one-page comic strip form. Madden presents an initial comic he calls "Template" that depicts a man working at his desk, then walking downstairs to look in the refrigerator. He then presents redrawings of this story that emphasize particular points of view, themes, artistic styles or styles of specific artists, and so on.

Some of my favorite "versions" of the story:

"Voyeur" presents each panel from a perspective outside one of the windows.

"Reframing" tells the story entirely with hands and punctuation marks.

"What Happens When the Ice Truck Comes to Hogan's Alley" pays tribute to Richard Outcault.

"A Lifetime to Get to the Refrigerator" ages the main character as he progresses through the panels.

"Actor's Studio II" has the story's character exaggerate the relevant emotion in each panel.

The story variations are interesting and clever. This book can be read for entertainment or as a stimulus for developing a less constrained writing style. It's also fun to pass around the office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exercises in sheer artistic play, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Nadim Bakhshov "Nadim Bakhshov" (Bloomsbury, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style (Paperback)
Based as it is on Raymond Queneau's marvellous and erudite 'Exercise in style' this play of comic narratives on a simple set of variations spun out on a single scene is pure delight.

I defy anyone to remain unmoved at the sheer inventiveness of styles and variations.

Like a comic version of Beethoven's Diabelli Variations - or dare I say it: Bach's Goldberg Variations.

Whatever the associations go out and get it.

You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have for anything involving a story, 18 Dec 2010
This review is from: 99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style (Paperback)
got this book after reading it for research. truly amazing, in the simplest way you can imagine. it is a must have for anything that involves a story. all this book is, is a series of the exatcly same story told in dozens of different ways. it came in really handy for a uni film project. i cannot recomend it enough. the writing is poor, for a reason- it shows how you can retell any story to make it more interesting. again, this book is a must have for any form of storytelling!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice try but no cigar, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style (Paperback)
A comic book that ranges across a largely redundant exercise in style. A man gets up from his desk, closing his laptop and walks into his living room. There is a spiral staircase through which he hears his girlfriend calling to ask the time. He responds with the time - 1:15. He crosses to the kitchen, goes in and opens the fridge door. He stands there for a moment, unable to remember what he came into the kitchen for.

That's the whole story, and Matt Madden ranges through 99 other ways of telling the same story. Many of them are drawn with wonderful inspiration - my favourite being the Krazy & Ignatz version Esk Her Size end Style (exercise in style) - five all too brief panels during which Krazy Kat gets his customary brick to the head - cue heart floating above him - there is nothing he loves more, but then along comes the jailer to put his `sweetheart' mouse in jail. If you haven't seen the original Krazy & Ignatz comics (by George Herriman), it won't compute. As a play on the business of style it is beautifully redolent of the original comics which only became popular after he stopped drawing them. Furthermore, this version of the story has very little in common with the original.

It's all down to Raymond Queneau (b.1903, d.1973), an intellectual who founded the Ouvroir de litterature potentielle (otherwise known as Oulipo). One of Queneau's most influential works is Exercises In Style, which tells the simple story of a man who sees the same stranger twice in one day. It tells that short story in 99 different ways, demonstrating the tremendous variety of styles in which storytelling can take place. This book is Matt Madden's graphical story adaptation of the book's concept. It works well in some contexts, especially the Underground Comix version, which cleverly reworks the story as that of a hippy, but it doesn't quite have the punch of the written versions, which used rhetorical tricks and terms such as metaphor, negatives, anagrams, Alexandrines, comedy, philosophy, etc. Madden has to work within the comic book ouevre, which has far fewer tropes that can be worked as different styles, and was, anyway linguistically based.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the effort, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: 99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style (Paperback)
The same short story is retold 99 different ways. This is a mildly interesting excercise, but unfortunately there's not enough original or challenging ideas to make it worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 99 Ways to tell a story, 10 May 2011
By 
C. Anker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style (Paperback)
Bought this as a present, and didn't have time to read it properly, just flicked through it. Liked the concept, and seemed interesting/fun from what I could gather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Amazon, 26 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: 99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style (Paperback)
I recieved this product in immaculate condition.
It was also on time (Next day Premium Account)

I bought it as a gift for my boyfriend, we both enjoyed it so much I'm thinking of buying my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style
99 Ways to Tell a Story: Exercises in Style by Matt Madden (Paperback - 6 July 2006)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews