Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining
I agree with the other enthusiastic reviews here - this is a very good book in which Lawrence Booth gives thoughtful and very funny reflections on cricket past and present. He writes very well, with an easy, flowing and amusing style which has an excellent balance of real knowledge and insight with irony and self-deprecation. There's nothing shocking in the way of...
Published on 6 May 2010 by Sid Nuncius

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Rubbish. Clearly written by a cricket lover who knows little about the game. I stopped reading fairly quickly.
Published 7 months ago by D. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining, 6 May 2010
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game (Paperback)
I agree with the other enthusiastic reviews here - this is a very good book in which Lawrence Booth gives thoughtful and very funny reflections on cricket past and present. He writes very well, with an easy, flowing and amusing style which has an excellent balance of real knowledge and insight with irony and self-deprecation. There's nothing shocking in the way of revelation here, but Booth does give some very engaging and thought-provoking perspectives on things like sledging, the various national psyches and the politics of the game.

It's not as consistently hilarious as, say, Fatty Batter or Rain Men - that's not the point of this book - but it does have several laugh-out-loud moments and a grin on most pages. He also has the grace to credit others for jokes and insights - like Vic Marks's description of a tedious, cliché-filled press conference by Inzamam-ul-Haq as "Much Urdu about nothing."

This is very readable, very knowledgeable, very interesting and very amusing. What more can you ask of a book about cricket? Very warmly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable and entertaining...., 28 Nov. 2008
By 
Melanie G (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This is a corker of a book, which would appeal to both the hardened anorak wearer and those who couldn't care less about Bradman's career average. It's witty, informative, irreverent, inclusive, and takes self-deprecation to the nth degree (a quality sadly lacking in many cricket writers). I read the whole thing with a smile on my face and defy anyone not to chortle whilst reading the extracts from Graham Gooch's Indian blogs.

If you are lucky enough to find Lawrence in your stocking this Christmas, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the wittiest cricket writers around, 9 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game (Paperback)
This book was a joy from start to finish. As a hardened cricket-tragic, I found myself laughing out loud at the passage near the beginning where Lawrence describes sitting on a train and contorting himself to try and get a look at the next delivery in an anonymous village match he happens to be passing. Initially I was worried that he'd peaked too early and that it would be downhill from there on, but it wasn't. I'd thoroughly recommend this work to anyone interested in cricket who enjoys witty and sparkling prose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 20 Sept. 2008
By 
Ben Carpenter (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd read Lawrence's other book, or at least it was a 'toilet book', and so I was drawn to this more conventional work, being a sportsfan and a follower of Lawrence's work online.
Its just as good (better, even) as the easy wit of The Spin, his weekly cricket column, and is full of name-dropping, jokes, etc. All funny and accessible.

I love my sports books, and for once I don't feel like I'm being spoken down to. Mr Booth is happy for us to join us in his world. He welcomes us in.

Write something else and I'll pop in again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Says exactly what it does on the cover, 15 July 2009
This review is from: Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game (Paperback)
This book is a brilliant, whimsical look at Cricket the game, its players, the countries that play, the Media and the fans.

Lawrence Booth is an excellent writer with a brilliant sense of wry humour and I laughed all the way through the book.

Get this and get Armball to Zooter and get onto the Guardian site for the OBO coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cricxket Lovely Cricket, 17 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game (Paperback)
A very good book with an unusual aspect on the game looking forward to reading it when i have time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game (Paperback)
Bought this for a cricket loving friend as a birthday present. He was delighted with it and has been amused by it. Satisfactory idea then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cricket under the covers, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game (Paperback)
Above a string of anecdotes, the book goes quite deeply into the game, looking at it from the perspective of all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 28 Nov. 2014
By 
D. Smith "myownmind" (Doncaster, S. Yorkshirs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rubbish. Clearly written by a cricket lover who knows little about the game. I stopped reading fairly quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game (Paperback)
My son in law will love this at Xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cricket, Lovely Cricket?: An Addict's Guide to the World's Most Exasperating Game
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews