Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The painfully funny truth of life on the pro-tour
`Bring Me The Head of Sergio Garcia!' by Tom Cox. ISBN: 978-0-224-07860-3
Only the naive are foolish enough to think that pro golf is `the ultimate lifestyle.' The sacrificing of `normal human activities' to endless hours of practice, travel, sombre nights alone and tunnel vision, is no fun. Heartache over missed putts is far more common than fortune and glory. To...
Published on 5 Nov 2007 by Caroline Morris

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly but not quite
This is a good book, and a clever book, but I could not bring myself to love it, although I really wanted to.

It tells the true story of Tom Cox's attempt to make it as a pro golfer on the Europro tour, only for him to find out that even in these relatively humble surroundings, being able to drive the odd par four is nowhere near enough to cut the mustard...
Published on 1 Jan 2008 by Peter Compton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The painfully funny truth of life on the pro-tour, 5 Nov 2007
By 
Caroline Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
`Bring Me The Head of Sergio Garcia!' by Tom Cox. ISBN: 978-0-224-07860-3
Only the naive are foolish enough to think that pro golf is `the ultimate lifestyle.' The sacrificing of `normal human activities' to endless hours of practice, travel, sombre nights alone and tunnel vision, is no fun. Heartache over missed putts is far more common than fortune and glory. To get to the top you have to be born gifted, take the game up very young, practice incredibly hard and allow absolutely nothing to stand in your way. When Tom Cox decided to try his luck on the `third division' EuroPro Tour his life degenerated into the sub-title, My Year of Swinging Dangerously On The Pro Golf Tour.
Cox, who also wrote the extremely funny, irreverant golf spoof, Nice Jumper, has hit top writing form again. His insights are both cruel and hilarious. This book won't teach you how to be a successful pro but it does explain the harsh realities from a self-deprecatingly painful and amusing perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest golfing book ever read, 3 Jan 2008
By 
E. Cockroft (Bingley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Just finished "Bring me the head...." To use the authors golfing parlance - I p...ed myself laughing at a tale of heartbreak and misery. With profanities ringing in my ears, the descriptions of shanks, chypps and the mind numbing 86's reminded me of so many "character building" events I have put myself through in over thirty years of playing the great game of golf. Congratulations on what for me has been the funniest read in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Tom Cox Masterpiece!!, 22 Oct 2007
By 
A. Seibert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Tom Cox, as always, has provided a fun read about his year out as a professional golfer. He discusses the thoughts, the fears, his impressions, and all in an easy read and one that will keep you entertained from cover to cover. This is the second of Tom's books I have read and it will certainly not be the last. Anyone who is a fan of golf, curious about the life of a professional, or wonders what goes through the head of an out-of-place person, you will love this book. Do yourself a favor and pick up a copy. Cheers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the love ....and the loss of Golf, 24 Feb 2012
Last night I just finished reading this little gem of a book, and I hope based on the fact you are reading a review you want to buy it. I say do.

You might be someone who is looking for a present for their golf mad dad, lad or lady, or you might be a driving range nut looking for a good read. I'm a golf widow and I can honestly say I have never laughed so hard at a single read.

After over a decade away from professional golf, a magical moment on his home course at sunset and comments from playing partners that don't understand why he doesn't make the most of his potential, Tom goes back on the road to try and recapture his dream of being a Pro Golfer. "Bring me the head..." takes you through the highs and very human lows of the Europro circuit, the obsession with swing paths, biorhythms, short game prep, focus, fees and why a good drive and a good putt can make a round. If you have ever been curious about what it would take, what sets your club pro and the Lee Westwood's of this world apart; this would be a good place to start.

If like me you're an Edie (you'll understand when you read this book) and that golf ball lying next to you in bed is the only reason the sport entered your otherwise peaceful existence, and you just want to know what is going through that head of theirs, why they think in yardages, why they can't just have a good round, and why the hell it's so important to stay on plane, and what you should say after they come in from a tournament, or a medal, this is for you too!

An honest and uplifting portrayal of pursuing a dream that will make you laugh out loud...and will certainly make you think twice before you change your shoes on the car park!*

*or at least will make you laugh while you're doing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent tale from Tom Cox, 3 Sep 2010
By 
Chris L (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia (Paperback)
In conjunction with his other book, 'Nice Jumper' Tom Cox has produced some timeless books that really do capture not just the addiction of the golfing nut but also the sheer futility. Clearly a talented golfer in his youth Tom has 'one more go' at cracking the big time and produces an excellent dry humourous take on the world of golf and those it affects. All golfers will enjoy this but also anyone who enjoys a look at human nature at it's funniest and, at times, it's most frail. Buy the both of these books (read 'Nice Jumper' first) and you will enjoy an excellent, humourous, read through the travails of a junior and latterly club golfer trying to 'beat' golf. Of course we, and mostly the author, know that this is never going to happen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring Me The Head of Sergio Garcia, 12 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia (Paperback)
Bought as a present for a golfing "nut", it was received with delight. Keen price - brilliantly instant delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pitch perfect, 18 Sep 2009
By 
H. Mount - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia (Paperback)
A humour classic. Gets man's love-hate relationship with golf down to a tee. And threaded through with a stunning series of self-mocking, highly observant, beautifully written witticisms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!, 26 Aug 2009
By 
Neil A. Pirie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia (Paperback)
The book is as good a read for non golfers as dyed in the wool golfers. You will see the comparisons between your game and Tom's and laugh endlessly at his observations. A fact that the whole episode is true almost makes it funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Golfy Than Nice Jumper, 6 Aug 2009
By 
L. Kay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia (Paperback)
Fantastic book from Tom Cox. Another read I have recommended and given out as a gift. If you really love golf (or even if you don't know anything about golf. Like me before I read this book*) and can see the funny side of life then read this!

* And after reading this book I still don't know anything about golf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Read This Book..!, 4 Dec 2008
This review is from: Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia (Paperback)
Don't read this book...

it'll leave you wanting more - and Tom just cannot write fast enough.

If you play, watch or have ever thought about golf you should read this book. It offers an insight into the mind of the top golfer and just how good these guys need to be.

More please - why not try to get onto the Asian Tour or otherwise!???

J
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9896fa4)

This product

Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia
Bring Me the Head of Sergio Garcia by Tom Cox (Paperback - 4 Sep 2008)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews