Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
45
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2008
I really enjoyed this book. It is about Michael Hutchinson's attempt to cycle further in one hour than anyone else ever has - although of course it isn't that simple.

He covers the history of "The Hour": the riders, technology, drugs, and how it has now become the anti-technology Athlete's Hour.

He talks about how he got in to cycling quite late in life, his training, racing, creating the bike for the attempt, the attempt itself and much more.

He has a writing style that is easy to read and addictive - I read the book over one weekend. There are lots of funny bits and his descriptions and opinions of the people involved are refreshingly honest - especially of himself.

I'd recommend this book if you're at all interested in cycling, record attempts or the mind of professional athletes - great stuff.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2008
It's not often I read a book that I just can't put down, but this has been one of them. For any cycling enthusiast who wants a detailed insight into The Hour this book is a must. It gives a blow by blow account of how the author prepared to attack the record and is filled with interesting and fascinating facts on the cycling greats who have also attempted it over the years. Even if you have no real interest in cycling, the story is so good that this is still a riveting book. It is mainly a factual account, but is written in a style that at times has you laughing out loud. Michael Hutchinson is to be applauded for having written such a splendid book on his Hour attempt, and for having had the sheer guts to take it on, and stick with it, in the first place.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
Good and easy read. I like a cycling book and this provides some insights into the hour and the training and preparation around it that is of great interest if you're into cycling.

The author is at times annoyingly ill prepared and I suspect that some of that is for the sake of a more lively read and for dramatic effect, as it seems out of character of so much else that comes through from this story. Even so, an enjoyable read.

A good compliment and perspective to some of the other hour rider's books out there. Might also help provide some context for people expecting Wiggo to walk into a new record. It seems pretty like a rough, tough ride is in the pipeline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This book was a total and unexpected delight. I am only a recreational cyclist with no great knowledge of the cycling world but within minutes I was totally engrossed in Michael Hutchinsons story. It made me laugh out loud and kept me on the edge of my seat til the last page. I lost my copy to my Ironman brother and had to buy a second copy for my cycling mad partner. Both of them thoroughly enjoyed it as well. Great little book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Starkly honest, off-beat story of an already very successful cyclist seeking something to really define his career.

The Hour record (how far you can ride on a track within the hour) has been little written about and in riding terms it has been a book-end to a career, rather than a book. Michael writes about its background, the controversies, the favouritism, the beurocratic bungling and the wondering of possible cheating. And his attempt ... No, I'm saying no more.

It is full of rather shocking insecurities, laced with acerbic wit. It would make a good replacement on the bookshelves for those binned Lance Armstrong tomes (who perhaps, oddly, never attempted the Hour)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
This is not just a wonderful book about cycling but it is a wonderful story which people with no real interest will find hugely enjoyable. Although the book is the story of Michael Hutchinson's attempt to take cyclings hour record it is also a tour through the annals of cycling history and is full of witty observations of life. The author pulls off the incredibly difficult trick of conveying his passion for cycling whilst also retaining a wider perspective and avoids taking either himself or cycling too seriously. The hour record attempt took over the authors life and clearly it became something of an obsession for a period in his life yet he is able to look back and write in a wonderfully engaging style which displays great self awareness. The book is infused with a rather dry observational humour and wit with many laugh out loud moments and for the most part doesn't fall into sarcasm, the impression is of a writer in love with cycling whilst also seeing the absurdity of some things and seeing the humour of life around him. For any potential reader worried that they have no knowledge of cycling and that this will mean they will either find nothing of interest in this book or that it will be incomprehensible I'd say just try it. This is a book that somebody who has never taken any interest in professional cycling will e able to enjoy as well as being gloriously funny and well observed story of a fine cyclists attempt to take one of sports blue riband records. A terrific book, five stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2010
Absolutely brilliant book, whether you like cycling stories or not! This book is so much more than a bike book, it's about the man, the event, the person, the history, the help of others, the hard work, the journey & the fun. The book is easy to read & rolls along nicely, funny, informative, exciting, interesting & good natured. Plenty of historical backup to help you get involved in the story if you don't know the ins & outs of it, very respectful to those who've gone before, very inspiring to those who may follow. A seriously good read, one i shall enjoy reading again in the near future.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Bought this for my husband, he said it was a great read and he too would recommend- one of those books recommended by Amazon - 'other people bought' - so much so I have now purchased twice (not realising)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Hutchinson is always an intelligent and funny writer, it's good to see him doing an extended book. His own heroic failure to crack the hour record is the framework that builds the book and allows him to work in the history of this land mark test in cycling into a very readbale book. Shame it didn't end with him breaking the record but this is real life not a fairy tail- it's not a Lance Armstrong work of fiction!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Great book, well written, entertaining and informative.

I'm a cyclist so it appealed to me and I think anyone interested in sports books, endurance feats etc. will be interested in the subject matter.

It's an interesting record of one man taking on the athlete's hour - the preparation, training, research etc. It also has interesting facts about the history of the challenge and the people who attempted it before.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.