Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Merckx biographies are like buses....
I finished Friebe's The Cannibal immediately prior to reading Fotheringham so naturally my instinct is to compare the 2- generally both books come to more or less the same conclusions regards Merckx, what drove him etc. Fotheringham does have the advantage of actually having interviewed Merckx himself although this turns out to have been in 1997.
As a summary of...
Published on 26 April 2012 by M. McCann

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still don't feel I "know" Mr Merckx
While providing a very detailed history of Eddie Merckx's (too detailed at times, too much second by second narrative of too many races) it didn't do nearly enough for me in terms of exploring the nature of the man. I want to know more about how he thinks and more about what his day to day life during his race years was really like. I'd also like to know what he is doing...
Published 19 months ago by Sydneysider


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Merckx biographies are like buses...., 26 April 2012
By 
M. McCann "rednotdead1976" (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I finished Friebe's The Cannibal immediately prior to reading Fotheringham so naturally my instinct is to compare the 2- generally both books come to more or less the same conclusions regards Merckx, what drove him etc. Fotheringham does have the advantage of actually having interviewed Merckx himself although this turns out to have been in 1997.
As a summary of Merckx's career, this is well structured and draws on a wide range of interviews from those who worked with or against The Cannibal. There is plenty here to amaze and educate those not lucky enough to see the man when he qctually competed and it shows why it is not simple hyperbole to describe Merckx as the greatest cyclist ever. To be honest if I had to choose between Friebe and Fotheringham I would find it difficult-they complement each other well in that they go into different levels of detail on different epsiodes so something Fotheringham mentions in passing is dealt with more expensively by Friebe and vice versa. So neither is fully definitive on its own but still stand as useful and illuminating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IT'S ALL ABOUT MAN & BIKE!, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cycling fans enjoy; as I enjoyed reading this extreremely detailed account, but then I'm a cycling roadracing fanatic and the 'cannibal' has long been one of my heroes. William Fotheringham is clearly a Merckx worshiper also - His rendition of the life of a truly great sportsman who appears to have beaten everyone and won everything is clinical, precise and accurate. He describes the cycling achievements of the man no one could beat and his domination of his era with knowledge and enthusiasm. If the story has a fault it might rest with Merckx's constant winning ability and his total dominance of the peleton; so much so that everyone else appeared, at times, to just give up and let the 'master' ride to the inevitable victory. Of course things went wrong for Eddie in later years, when he finally lost some of his edge - but that's all in the story and that's life!

Read it if you love cyle racing and the 'BIG' TOURS ..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book but important omission, 17 May 2012
By 
M. Belcher (Lund, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great cycling book from Fotheringham. He seems to have a real knack for bringing cyclists from the past to life and putting some of the excitment of the cares from years back into his texts. I found it a real page turner and read it in less than a week. I really needed to find out the next stage of the story, how the race was won, etc. It certainly made me seek out some of the film and video footage from the races covered. I found the text from Fotheringham much more exciting than any of the film though, which whilst says something about 1970s cycle filming techniques its more a reflection on the writing abilities of the author.

There is one problem with this book that, how big a problem I'm not really sure and unless one reads French or Flemish, then its unlikely to be possible to tell. The problem is that the book doesn't really have much in the way of interviews with Merckx himself. Sure there are some quotes, stories and such from old interviews between him and the author and of course there is lots of historical sources and interviews with contempories but there did seem to be a noticeable omission of direct interviews with the main man himself. Not sure why that might be, I can only infer that he actively did not want to be involved, which is a shame, as I am sure it would have added something.

Its still an excellent book though and considering the lack of alternative English language books on Merckx, then its required reading. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not the biography I was expecting., 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isn't a straight forward biography of the great man but an attempt to discover why Merckx was driven to push himself to the point of destruction throughout his career. I was always aware of just how phenomenal Merckx was and how many races he won. What surpised me was this staggering success was often achived despite significant injuries. Excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant biography of the legend, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had always wondered why there wasn't an English language biography of Merckx. Then I saw two were due out this spring. I pre-ordered because I had enjoyed Fotheringham's other books on Coppi and Simpson. This is the best of the lot. Manages to avoid just listing the hundreds of victories and focuses on some key points in each of Merckx's seasons. A great attempt to understand the motivations of the inspirational man. It conveys something of Merckx's passion and puts the unparalleled achievements into context in a fascinating way. A very difficult book to put down. I absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So THIS is Eddie Merckx, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eddy Merckx. For people like me, whose knowledge or interest in road racing commences after the 70s, that name was something of a faceless, ubiquitous imprint all over the record books. Go to Wikipedia and look up the winners of Grand Tours and classics between 1968 and 1976; you will see 'Eddy Merckx' everywhere. Having got long accustomed to seeing and hearing the name without much actual appreciation of the owner, I thought it was time to find out more about the legendary cyclist.

William Fotheringham has put this biography together in a brilliant fashion. He gives some wonderful passage to Merckx's rise, and focusses on many rivals and team-mates/domestiques who were present during the great man's career. Fotheringham also does a brilliant job of putting Merckx's achievements into true perspective - particularly his one-hour record, and the fact that unlike today, there was no dedication to a single tour - Merckx, `The Cannibal', rode to win anywhere he could. When someone truly dominates their sport, such as Wayne Gretzky, Michael Jordan and Eddie Merckx, their resulting achievements can sometimes lose a bit of impact purely because there are so many statistics and high numbers to take in. Happily, the author manages to give weight and appropriate significance to many of Merckx's victories, and builds a picture of an unstoppable athlete, well ahead of his peers both physically and mentally during his dominant years - at a time when those self-same peers were often legends in their own right.

Now because I have no memories or recollections of Merckx during his career (because I wasn't around at the time), this book is the only personal insight into the man and his records that I have encountered - I therefore read this biography without prejudice. But I do think Fotheringham occasionally veers ever so slightly away from impartiality. As an example, Merckx's positive drug tests are covered; with his first, dubious result in 1969 given analysis, albeit with the impression that Merckx was more likely innocent than guilty. However, Merckx's second positive result is glossed over and his third - the one Merckx himself admits to - is not even mentioned. I would also have preferred Fotheringham to expand a bit more on Merckx's post-race years - the book does end fairly quickly after reaching his competitive retirement.

That said, these gripes are minor - this book is worthy of at least 4 out of 5 stars - and is a thoroughly entertaining delve into the career of the definitive road legend. Merkxissimo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merckx: Half Man, Half Bike, 23 April 2012
By 
Mr. James Hall (Mallorca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As one who has been both an active racing-cyclist, and also a very keen follower of all branches of the sport for the past sixty years I am very happy to recommend this wonderfully written book. Here is the inside story of all aspects of the racing career of probably the greatest racing-cyclist ever. There is fascinating reading on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 23 July 2012
By 
F. Pattwell "F P" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very informative book which gives a great insight into the peloton of 1960's professional cycling. Enjoyed it thoroughly.This is a well written and very interesting book. It is amazing to see how the cycling has changed a lot but not changed at all. The tactics are virtually still the same but the technology has changed. It is also interesting to see how the Tour de France was not the only cycling race that mattered back then and cyclists did not focus all their energy on just one cycle race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still don't feel I "know" Mr Merckx, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While providing a very detailed history of Eddie Merckx's (too detailed at times, too much second by second narrative of too many races) it didn't do nearly enough for me in terms of exploring the nature of the man. I want to know more about how he thinks and more about what his day to day life during his race years was really like. I'd also like to know what he is doing now and how he looks back on those times because distance often allows us to see what was occluded at the time. A more cycling aficionado might appreciate this book more, it is certainly excellently researched and I did enjoy it, but I would like more about the man than the medals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read about a great cyclist!, 20 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husband who is himself a racing cyclist.

A great read and very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merckx: Half Man, Half Bike
Merckx: Half Man, Half Bike by William Fotheringham (Paperback - 28 Mar 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews