Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh a minute..
This is a gorgeous, hilarious book, and right on the money, as anyone involved in the literary scene will tell you! The pomposities, pretensions and pettiness of the industry are perfectly punctured, but there's also a great sympathy with characters and dilemmas. Highly recommended!
Published on 28 Oct 2007 by Sophie Masson

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited stories
I don't know much about Posy Simmonds stuff and I was a bit worried it was going to be like the Archers, but fortunately she took the micky out of them. I like how she drew the awful parties and how everyone seemed to be wearing a shiny false smiles.

I liked the stories about the bookshop, stories of them saying some of the books they get are crap and how get...
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by Velvet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh a minute.., 28 Oct 2007
By 
Sophie Masson (Armidale, New South Wales Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
This is a gorgeous, hilarious book, and right on the money, as anyone involved in the literary scene will tell you! The pomposities, pretensions and pettiness of the industry are perfectly punctured, but there's also a great sympathy with characters and dilemmas. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious - and all too true, 12 Mar 2007
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
If you are a writer or have any ambitions to be published, then you have to read this book. Posy Simmonds' cartoons are always funny, but in Literary Life she turns her sharp eyes on the publishing industry. I've read and re-read this book many times and each time it makes me laugh because it's all true. Everything in an author's life is here - disastrous book signings, the perils of success, day time television and other displacement activities. I wish she'd bring out another collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Publishing funnies, 14 Feb 2004
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
A handsome selection of Posy Simmonds cartoons that originally appeared in the weekly book review supplement of the Guardian. They all relate to literature and especially publishing, either as strips or whole page cartoons. My favorites are the strips for Ask Doctor Derek, where a handsome young MD solves medical (literary) problems like a bout of plagiarism, the incredibly contagious writers cliché or dreadful critics mauling syndrome. Simmonds drawing style is typically British, slightly soft and with a caricature edge as opposed to the slick graphic style of Garry Trudeau's Doonesbury for instance.

Posy has a wicked sense of humor, especially when she is exposing the phonies of the English publishing establishment. A bull's-eye every time and great fun, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Literally brilliant, 24 Feb 2004
By 
G. Whyman "ger11569" (Newport, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
Posy punctures the pomposity, pretensions and preciousness of the literary world in this brilliant collection of cartoons from the Guardian newspaper. It may be a slim collection but it's worth every penny. Posy depicts a whole gallery of characters in this business; being a children's author/illustrator herself she must have a lot insider information about the subject. The artwork, as ever with Posy, is first-rate and the humour is spot-on and imaginative. One of the best strips in it is the 'Ask Doctor Derek' series where problems encoutered by readers and authors are dealt with by the handsome literary doctor. Very funny. My advice is simple. If you like cartoons and appreciate intelligent and thoughtful wit, buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good momento of the series, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
Many of my favourite cartoons from the series are in here, but the list price is pretty high for a relatively thin book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Posy takes on the poseurs, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
The graphic novels of Posy Simmonds have a great combination of narrative power and witty artwork. In this one she takes on the literary poseurs in a tale that mimics Thomas Hardy without ever forgetting to be funny. Numerous plot turns and great psychological insight made me laugh along with it, all the while thinking: Yes, yes, it's true, it's absolutely true! And a dark element in the book makes it even more satisfying than the recent excellent film adaptation. A smasher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Life is so real!!!, 23 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
Reading "Literary Life" of Posy Simmonds, I recognized every line, every word, because I'm married to a Flemish writer (very famous in Belgium).
This book is so well drawn and written, that I had to laugh at every page and to admire Simmonds' clear eye on the very litlle world of writers...
Even if I read it already, I look into it from time to time ...and I still have to laugh and enjoy!!
Great, great book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Literary Stardom, 1 July 2009
By 
Ms. Fiona Allen "catlover" (edinburgh, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
Posy Simmonds is on utterly vintage form here; anyone who's ever been near authors or people who work in bookshops know exactly what she's writing about! Immaculately well-observed, genius with a modest smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amausing and insightful take on the world of publishing, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
I'm a Posy Simmonds fan, so was very much looking forward to this book. I was not disappointed. Great use of cartoon and narrative to poke fun at some of the more outrageous aspects of publishing and being published. A great book for struggling writers, which reassures us that rejected mauscripts are not necessarily bad - They just don't fit, for any number of more or less outrageous reasons!
Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Middle-class, middle-income, self-absorbed literati, 18 Sep 2009
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Literary Life (Hardcover)
This charming and funny graphic book gives Posy Simmonds the chance to turn her spotlight on writing and the literary sub-culture that exists around it. She is good on the slightly predatory middle-aged male writer and even better on the mind-numbing business of book-signings. She has a nice line in struggling small bookshops and a wonderful way with the male writer's over-weaning ego and his wife's weary sufferance. But literary ladies don't get away with it either - one is shown watching a Wimbledon match, but as the family returns she switches off and rushes to sit rapt over her laptop.

A witty take on the story of Cinderella (Cinders and Buttons are in an old-folks home) allows Simmonds a longer comic strip, but nothing here surpasses her earlier wonderful comic strip Gemma Bovary.

One of the most talented and perceptive of our graphic artists, Simmonds more than matches the drawing with the story lines - and catches the zeitgeist of a whole culture (a middle-class, middle-income, self-absorbed English literati) - with panache and a lovely sense of wickedness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Literary Life
Literary Life by Posy Simmonds (Hardcover - 27 Nov 2003)
£12.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews