Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Inside the head of the Hand of God
This is a great chance to get inside the head of one of the greatest footballers the world has known. However, a word of warning - you might not like what you find. Maradona had many problems throughout his career - drug bans, conflict with clubs, his national side, other players the media, even with the Pope. Throughout it all, Maradona feels that he is hard done by and...
Published 14 months ago by Sport Nut

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but not the full story
This is a very good read from a great player and Maradona doesn't shy away from saying what he thinks of other people. What he does shy away from however is any admittance that he might on any occasion have been in the wrong. In Maradona's mind, the entire world revolves around him and is, usually, out to get him. He see's himself as a lone crusader, crushing corruption...
Published on 8 Jan. 2007 by Mr. M. Read


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written but not the full story, 8 Jan. 2007
By 
Mr. M. Read "mdaread" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
This is a very good read from a great player and Maradona doesn't shy away from saying what he thinks of other people. What he does shy away from however is any admittance that he might on any occasion have been in the wrong. In Maradona's mind, the entire world revolves around him and is, usually, out to get him. He see's himself as a lone crusader, crushing corruption and doing everything "for the people". What he comes across as, is a self obsessed and extremely arrogant and unpleasant character.

It's an entertaining read and I've no doubt that these negative points of the mans character are what have driven him to be possibly the best footballer the world has ever seen. I wouldn't want to spend a single second in his company though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stick to football, 15 May 2007
By 
Napolean (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
I bought this book hoping to learn a little more about the tormented genius of El Diego. I have no doubt that he is the greatest footballer of my generation having played in such a unique style and lifting so many trophies.

I wanted to learn more about the man and hear his side of his fascinating story. However, he never gives any kind of insight into his life; his motives, his ideas, his genius.

All you get is a very contradictory view of the controversies for which he is greatly known. Ok, he admits to taking drugs, but he doesn't explain why he took them or how he started. And worst still, he doesn't seem to understand or appreciate why he was banned so often for taking them.

All in all, a good story which could have been told much better...he really let the tortoise get away this time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inside the head of the Hand of God, 25 Nov. 2013
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
This is a great chance to get inside the head of one of the greatest footballers the world has known. However, a word of warning - you might not like what you find. Maradona had many problems throughout his career - drug bans, conflict with clubs, his national side, other players the media, even with the Pope. Throughout it all, Maradona feels that he is hard done by and the victim of conspiracies against him - he rarely admits to being at fault and feels that he doesn't get the recognition that he deserves (the Pope, for example, showed him a "total lack of respect"). It's a portrait of a selfish and driven individual. Perhaps he needed to be like that to be so successful in his career, but I was left wondering whether Maradona may have been even better if he didn't have these flaws in his character that seemed to hold him back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 17 April 2005
By 
D. Moore "dannymoore10" (Plymouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a great read by a true superstar. Maradona comes across as someone who despite having more talent in his right toe than most of todays international never really made the most of his god given talents.
He did win the World Cup and was probably the greatest footballer ever but he could have been so much better. He is honest and patriotic and never shies away from controversy.
Despite being English myself and a Maradona hater thanks to Mexico 86 after putting the book down I actually started to like the guy, great read for all footie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So dissapointing..., 5 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
Yes, Maradona is one of the greatest footballers; yes, he led a very interesting life both on and off the pitch and yes, he was (and still is) increadibly influencing as a personality!! But all the things you would expect to find in this book are not there!! El Diego was a great footballer but as a writer sucks!! I began reading his autobiography right after I finished reading John McEnroe's one and the difference was HUGE.
Some of you may say "what did you expect? Ernest Hemingway stuff?" and the answer to that is no; but I was expecting Maradona to shed some light to his most darkest days as a drug addict for example, not in a gossipy way, to see what the man Maradona was like... As far as Maradona is concerned he is a God, he thinks he's the poor people's representative and he has the right to say whatever he wants, whenever he wants and to whoever he wants. Somebody may argue that that is a good ingredient for a good, maybe controversial, autobiography but it's not. It becomes increasingly irritating.
I got this book the very first day it was on the shelves and I won't be giving it back but I won't bereccommending it to people either cause it doesn't provide you with a "backstage" pass to the life of one of the most gifted footballers the world has ever seen... Now, that's I was expecting from an autobiography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars El Diego, the ego!, 27 Mar. 2006
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
El Diego takes you through the life of Diego Maradonna through the words of Maradona. He focuses on the good times, the winning of the 1986 World Cup, the winning of Italian titles etc.
What you really want is the details of the low-points of his career, his taking of drugs is only touched upon. So if you want a full account of Maradona's career then don't get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 10 July 2014
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
El Diego is fascinating account of a turbulent and chaotic life of Maradona
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Insights into Maradona's Life, 7 Sept. 2014
By 
Wayne Lambert "Wayne" (Spalding, Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
Great book about the best footballer in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars El Diego, 17 Jan. 2006
By 
B. Davison "donutboy2k" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
As a man, I'm not entirely convinced how well Maradona comes across in this book. At times it seems like he expects special treatment, but at others he claims to speak 'for the people' and wants to help his fellow professionals escape the power of the 'machine'. He seems to have spent a good deal of time getting annoyed because managers refused to buy the players he wanted and this may explain why he fell out with just about every club he ever played for.
Despie this, as a writer, Maradona definitely succeeds, as does the translation. I found his style friendly yet gripping and I feel like (for better or worse) I have come to know one of the world's greatest footballers simply through reading his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
This review is from: El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer (Paperback)
Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer
El Diego: The Autobiography of the World's Greatest Footballer by Diego Armando Maradona (Paperback - 6 Oct. 2005)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews