Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Photographic Tour de Force
Don McCullin is one of the greatest photographers of our time and this 295-page book beautifully reproduces Mr. McCullin's work. The book includes stunning black and white images of England, Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin, Cyprus, Biafra, Vietnam, Cambodia, Beirut and Bangladesh. For example, the book contains (at page 90) an exceptionally moving photograph of a Turkish...
Published on 1 Dec. 2001 by David Enzel

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Strong photos but no background stories or context.
Saw the film about his work and was inspired to buy this book. The photos, all black and white, are strong but include the briefest description of each. Some are self evident, but others are not. A sentence of two of the background story and what McCullin was trying to convey, even if it was only one or two sentences, this would have given these images context and made...
Published 3 months ago by A. Magee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Photographic Tour de Force, 1 Dec. 2001
By 
David Enzel (Chevy Chase, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
Don McCullin is one of the greatest photographers of our time and this 295-page book beautifully reproduces Mr. McCullin's work. The book includes stunning black and white images of England, Checkpoint Charlie in Berlin, Cyprus, Biafra, Vietnam, Cambodia, Beirut and Bangladesh. For example, the book contains (at page 90) an exceptionally moving photograph of a Turkish woman discovering the body of her new husband, killed with his brother and father in Cyprus in 1964. On the lighter side of life, the book includes gorgeous landscapes of Scotland. And the size of the images is large enough to really do them justice. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning images, 19 July 2005
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
I had been aware of McCullin's renown Vietnam images and would have bought a book only for those images, themselves worthy of a dedicated publication. The key for this book is the many varied subject areas that demonstrate what a fantastic artist he is.
The images are simple, powerful, captivating and thought provoking. Taking every day subjects and people and capturing them in this way should serve as an inspiration to any budding reportage photographer.
You are left with more questions than answers in many cases and with a stark represntation of reality in others that can leave you somewhat uncomfortable.
A compelling set of inmages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' masterpiece, 8 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
This is a stunning collection of photographs that clearly captures the grittiness and extreme emotions of conflict. Don McCullin's photographic style oozes throughout to enhance every photo and result in a real gem of a publication. This really is a 'must have' masterpiece for anyone interested in this type of photography - or indeed anyone wishing to gain a glimpse of how conflict affects the lives of both combatants and those innocents caught up in the middle of conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those 'must have' books, 15 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. M. Yeats (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
Make no mistake about it this is a grim book, there are some pictures in it that are hard to look at, but that surely is one of the points, to show politicians who start wars but never fight in them what it is really like, to show people who glorify war that this is the reality of their glorification, to show people what famine or destitution really looks like.
But to the man who took these pictures, Don McCullin, it is worth buying the book just to put money in his pocket, though he would surely not want to make money out of other peoples suffering. When you look at the pictures, and as a photographer myself, you stop and think of the difficulties of taking many of these pictures. He went to the battle for Hue with only thirty rolls of film. Imagine having to load film into a camera, make sure it was in properly then only having thirty six pictures available before putting in another film, each one has to count. He lost two rolls of film in the battle. As he said about the photo of the American soldier throwing a hand grenade, he had to bob up first to take a light reading, set the camera and then bob up again to take the picture. all this with the noise, death and fear everywhere. He also said that he took the same risks as the soldiers, the difference was he could go home when he wanted, they couldn't.
You can see from this book why he is the person he is, you can see why his recent work of landscapes in Somerset in England look as they do.
The hope in those days was that pictures like these would make people think twice about going to or starting wars. Sadly and tragically they failed. These days photographers are embedded with troops and their pictures largely sanitised.
This is a beautifully produced book with the pictures all in black & white, not all about war but most are of a sombre nature. At the price a real steal. It is worth buying to thank him and other photographers of war for having the courage to go and do it rather than staying at home photographing glamour models.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make a space on your bookcase, 15 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
I saw a McCullin exhibition at the V&A a few years ago and was blown away by his work. At the time there were very few books available which did his work justice. This book (although still only dipping into his huge portfolio) is a vast improvement - large images which does them more justice and a comprehensive overview of the many projects and assignments McCullin has shot. Any student of photography should own this book from one of the world greatest photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw photojournalism, 22 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
A bleak presentation of serious issues at at home and abroad, spanning from the 60's onwards. Its very moving stuff. Print quality seems good. I particularly like the portraiture, such as the one of the tormented tramp is superb, or the Indian family. Its very striking that this suffering he has recorded can be found wherever you look, and is not restricted to Vietnam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing but shocking, 2 Mar. 2005
By 
Jack Allwood "Puppu" (Savannah, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
A fantastic set of photos. Incredibly powerful. Really moving. I would really recommend his autobiography as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 6 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
Some of the most chilling pictures I have ever seen, as well as some of the most normal. However on the whole a FANTASIC purchase. A book that I have looked at many a time and shared with a number of people.
If you like photographic publications, war, feeling, famine compassion and insight then this a purchase for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!!!, 3 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
I watched Michael Parkinson do an interview with Don McCullin on the Sky Arts channel and was completely drawn in by this amazing man who has seen things we could not imagine. Of course had to go and purchase his book and my heart cracked open from the pictures on the pages. Some I couldn't turn away from and some I just couldn't stay long looking at. This man capulates a story as you turn each page. Very glad I have added this book in my collection. And if your thinking should I or shouldn't I buy this book....let me make it easy for you..... add it to your collection, you won't be disappointed. Moving!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don McCullin, 19 Oct. 2011
By 
K. C. Towers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don McCullin (Hardcover)
What I like about Don McCullin's work is that he doesn't try to cover up reality with perfect wall hanging pictures. There is nothing pretty about his imagery, though it is often poignant and meaningful. What you see is what you get, and what you get is how things really are through his viewfinder. There are no apologies for that and you wouldn't expect any. You may well argue that his dark and moody landscape images reflect the personality of a disillusioned man, and maybe that's true also. Living through and photographing the horrors of war would have surely left anyone feeling disillusioned. And who can blame him? War is an ugly thing and certainly photographing it isn't a Sunday afternoon walk in the park. Being a war photographer is not the glamorous occupation that some young photographers who are starting out with their photographic careers think it might be. If you like meaningful black and white photography, and you like it dark and gritty, then you will love this book. So buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don McCullin
Don McCullin by Don McCullin (Hardcover - 21 Aug. 2003)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews