Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A corner stone in comic book journalism.
Bearing in mind that no documentary, especially not on war, is ever going to be objective and thus that any reader's reaction is bound to be subjective, this work is going to stir people's feelings.
Joe Sacco's work is unique in that unlike most journalists, not only has he chosen to use comics/graphic novels as a medium but also he has a much less superficial way of...
Published on 9 Feb 2005 by Lucluke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great novel but only shows one side.
It's a very good book, i do recommend it. However, if you really want to learn more about the topic i would suggest you read more about Israel too. Jacob clearly picked a side to show, witch is not a real problem, as long as you can see it.

ps: i'm not english speaker, sorry if i made any mistake.
Published 8 months ago by Carla


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BOOK ON THE TROUBLES!, 1 Jun 2012
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
I've read many books regarding the Palistine/Isreal conflict & I've got to say this is the most important piece of work done on the subject,highy praise for what started as a comic strip you might think but it's true,it's also the most entetaining,with it humorous moments on a par with it's tragic moments.It deals with the years of 1991-'92 & in that period(which continues to this day unfortunatley)the Palistinians were getting the short end of the stick so it's easy to see why there is a slight bias towards the palastianians plight,but in no means does it make the Israily people out as anything but another people who the majority of just want to live in peace.I recommend this book to EVERYBODY especially those who love great artwork & have even the slighteast intrest in the Palastinians plight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 23 Mar 2008
By 
Nmm Hizbullah "Omer" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
The book brings out the best of the cartoon medium. There are books on Palestine especially the grave humanitarian crisis there. However none catch the gravity of the situation as graphically as this book. I fully recommend this book to anyone. Its a must read. When a book is written about Palestine it is often branded as 'pro-Palestinian' and is dismissed. This book withstand any such criticism and demonstrates that even through the grey area of the conflict, there is a right and wrong side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last..., 13 Sep 2003
By 
J. Hargreaves (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
This book is fantastic. It truly illustrates the horrors and injustices that the Palestinians are having to face under Israeli occupation. As a graphic novel it really brings to life what most academic authors would probably have turned into rambling, over detailed and dispassionate prose. It is greatly refreshing to find a book on Palestine that manages to combine so effectively the personal story of the author and his voyage of understanding, with the story of a whole population. And thank God that it isn't as long as all the other tombs that try to explain the Israeli-Palestinian disaster. This book is ideal for newcomers to the subject and will delight those who akready have an interest. Free Palestine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Palestine a wonderful example of graphic journalism, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
Joe Sacco's drawings gives back to the reader the sensation of a trip in first person. The often aimless roaming of the author around the Palestian Territories builds the imagine of a "absurd normality" awaiting for some major event that could change the situation but never occurs. Casual meetings are the ones that make this book unique in its capability to go beyond the surface of the news story. Sacco walks, listen, asks and records. The author keeps its Mediterranean ability of getting involved in people's feelings making the narration not always anglosaxonly impartial but often allowing the human side of both the traveller and the news to stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory Read! Comedy: ultimate weapon of the weaponless., 3 Jun 2003
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
I flicked through this at a bookshop and was impressed enough to order it from Amazon. Joe Sacco spent time with the Palestinians and in his unique style documented their everyday day to day struggle for, existence under extraordinary circumstances. The Palestinians maintain a strange sense of humour with a strong sense of tragedy. Above all the author portrays the Palestinians as people, not demonised expendable monsters of Western Media infamy. Sacco laughs at his own inabiliy to cope with the same situations as the people he is interviewing. If you had to read one book about the plight of Palestinians read this, especially American readers, sadly most won't I suspect. Journalism, history and art what more can ou want. I am definitely geting Safe Area Gorazde
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful insights, 26 Oct 2011
By 
abclaret (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
This is isn't really an ideological piece that some would have you believe. Its the foray of Sacco's journalistic experiences in Palestine proper and as such challenges conventions by pro-Palestian and pro-Israeli forces. There are lots of warts in the book - the behaviour of some islamic groups, and the lack of insight from some radical Israeli's for example. This is along with lots of blasé descriptions of torture and oppression against Palestians.

What I took from the book was the resolve of some of the people, particularly in the prisons and the despair which seems to pervade the hopeless the scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but still worth your time, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
I bought this after reading Safe Area Gorazde: The War in Eastern Bosnia 1992-1995 by Sacco, which I thought was excellent. But I was a bit disappointed with Palestine. It is much more episodic and less cohesive than Gorazde, probably partly because it was originally a nine-part comic, and of course because the situation has not been 'resolved' as in Bosnia (to some extent). As someone who doesn't know much about Middle-Eastern history, I still learned a lot from it, but would've liked even more history and context.

And as someone else mentioned, there seems to be even more Gonzo 'me me me' type journalism. The art puts me off at times too, it is quite Robert Crumb-like and he manages to make everyone look ugly.

Having said all this, this is still a book with a lot to recommend it and I would have given it 3 and a half stars if I could have. The chapter on Ansar prison was particularly good, perhaps partly because the author doesn't feature in it, constantly talking about tea :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb work of reportage, 10 April 2010
By 
Peter J. Gasston (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
This is among the best pieces of reportage I have ever read in any medium. Approaching the subject in comics allows the author to make the characters vivid and real in a way that prose never could, and to show himself among the subjects without seeming egotistical.

The book really highlights the humanity of its subjects, showing them as people instead of victims. The stories are sometimes funny and sometimes tragic. The art isn't beautiful, but captures characters in a way that reminds me somewhat of Robert Crumb, while the environment is displayed realistically and believably.

I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Nov 2009
By 
K. power - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
Before reading Palestine i knew very little about the history and the politics of Gaza, Israel and Palestine. Joe Sacco completely changed this for me by giving an illustrated insight into the conflict. The story consists of Joe travelling around Palestine and Israel and interviewing normal citizens about the on-going war between the Jews and Muslims in the country. He depicts these stories and his experience by using his brilliant drawing style, and for me it was so vivid i was piecing a film together in my head!. In parts the story makes you angry and sad at the persecution the Palestinians have been subjected to from the Jews, and just as sad is the bloodshed over the years from both sides (Sacco is neither Jewish or Muslim).
I've read quite a few non fiction and fictional graphic novels over the last few years but i think Palestine has to be reviewed as being one of the best. The drawing style, the story and the research Sacco went through to make this is really good. This is the kind of book they should be teaching kids in history classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 July 2009
By 
M. J. Harris (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Palestine (Paperback)
Perhaps not quite as superb as Safe Area Gorazde, because the characters are a little less memorable (I loved Riki and the Silly Girls from SAG), whereas the Palestinian characters are almost universally miserable, but then who can blame them. It gets a bit repetitive becuase everything is so awful for the Palestinians, but then this is not meant to be easy reading. In summary though it is superbly drawn and written, and Sacco is a great and entertaining guide to what is probably the most influential piece of land on the face of the earth right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Palestine
Palestine by Joe Sacco (Paperback - 2 Jan 2003)
11.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews