Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Keeper of Dreams' by Ronald Reng
A must-read for any young footballer who dreams of reaching the top, this is a vivid, but level-headed account of the spectacular rise and fall of Lars Leese, a beanpole German goalkeeper, who catapulted from playing in the very lowest reaches of a German local league, to a season in the English Premiership with newly promoted Barnsley. And then back again, with...
Published on 3 Jan 2004 by Peter B Schilt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as engaging as hoped
I bought this off the back of reading Ronald Reng's fantastic A Life Too Short, which won the William Hill Sport's book of the year in 2011.

This book is not in the same class, probably because the story is weaker and the background/personality of Lars is not on the same level as that of Robert Enke in A Life Too Short.

As Lars admits in the book, he...
Published 20 months ago by E. Balcomb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Keeper of Dreams' by Ronald Reng, 3 Jan 2004
A must-read for any young footballer who dreams of reaching the top, this is a vivid, but level-headed account of the spectacular rise and fall of Lars Leese, a beanpole German goalkeeper, who catapulted from playing in the very lowest reaches of a German local league, to a season in the English Premiership with newly promoted Barnsley. And then back again, with disconcerting speed.
It is a tale told with admirable honesty and generosity of spirit, and is full of detailed and intelligent observations about football culture in Germany and England. Leese (correctly pronounced 'Laser', but happy to be mispronounced in Barnsley) never shirks the truth or disguises his feelings, and the result is a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total And Utter Class!!!, 3 Jun 2006
By 
Jane (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership (Paperback)
I cautiously bought this book, wondering about just how good it would be, but as i'm such a MASSIVE football fan i thought why not i'll have a try.

I got the book home and i couldn't put it down. Lars Leese's story is an amazing one and the book is written in a very skilled and personal manner.

I would recommend this to just about every football fan on the planet as it is by far one of the best books i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An eye-opener, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Bantam Dave (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership (Paperback)
The name Lars Leese doesn't mean a thing to me. Apparently he played for Barnsley when they had a season in the Premier League back in the late nineties, but even though he must have stood out being 6'5" tall, Lars Leese's goalkeeping career completely passed me by.

But, as this book explains, Lars Leese had a remarkable career. In his mid twenties he still had not established himself in German football. In 1997, after working his way up through the lower leagues he was at last playing for a big club, Bayer Leverkusen, but he was not the first team goalkeeper, nor was he the first reserve - he was the third choice goalkeeper. Despite this, within a few months he had signed for newly promoted Barnsley and therefore become a Premier League goalkeeper. Although his stint at Barnsley was brief - less than two seasons and only 21 games played - he did have his moments of glory, in particular a game in which Barnsley beat Liverpool 1-0 and Lars Leese was the hero, managing to keep out the Liverpool forwards and thus gaining the respect of the Anfield crowd.

Leese knew that his stay at Barnsley would not last once Barnsley changed managers following Barnsleys relegation and he was proved right. When an opportunity to join Scottish club, Hibs, fell through he found himself back in Germany, where he found it difficult to find another club. This book excellently manages to portray the anguish that Leese must have felt at this time. It was obviously a difficult time for him; months earlier he was starring in the Premier League and now he was finding it hard to find a club that would even give him a trial.

The most memorable chapters though are those that concern his time at Barnsley. His recollections of the players Christmas Party are proper eye-openers. At the one he attended two players were tactfully dressed as Adolf Hitler and Eva Braun and he then tells us that these parties usually degenerated into orgies as the booze would help the players lose any of the few inhibitions that they may have. He also tells us about the time when Barnsley went to Exeter for a pre-season training camp. Predictably this also included a drinking session; Leese couldn't understand why the English players did not visit the toilet every so often to empty their bladders like he did. His discovery why goes a long way towards explaining why at one point he asks `why do English players always act as they are in a kindergarten?'

This book is regularly lauded to be one of the best football books written by one leading monthly football publication. I wouldn't particularly rate it that highly but it is still worth a read to learn about the other, less glamorous, side of football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cut above the average book of this type., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership (Paperback)
Witty and poignant with some unusual insights into the game from the viewpoint of someone not well known by many fans.Found that my views were shared by several of my friends to whom I lent the book.Reng is an excellent writer .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership (Paperback)
a great insight into lars' life, brilliant book l l l l l l l , l l l l
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dreams of a keeper, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership (Paperback)
what a great read . it's a very honest and funny account, from a german goalkeeper on the goings on behind the scenes, of a small english football club. In there one and only season in the premiership . highley recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as engaging as hoped, 31 Dec 2012
By 
E. Balcomb (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership (Paperback)
I bought this off the back of reading Ronald Reng's fantastic A Life Too Short, which won the William Hill Sport's book of the year in 2011.

This book is not in the same class, probably because the story is weaker and the background/personality of Lars is not on the same level as that of Robert Enke in A Life Too Short.

As Lars admits in the book, he relied on luck for a lot for his goalkeeping opportunities in his career and so it is not altogether a shock or really a shame when things don't work out for him after his time in the English Premiership. Sport is a cut throat business and you have to be a incredibly passionate, dedicated and competitive to succeed, which are qualities that feel like they didn't always come naturally to Lars.

Having said that, it's an interesting read, especially the season he played in England. Some of the stories he mentions which happen behind the scenes are as unbelievable as they are tasteless and provide a good idea why Barnsley got relegated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership (Paperback)
Good value for money..good delivery service... Easy to order... Happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keeper Of Dreams: One Man's Controversial Story of Life in the English Premiership
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews