Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic fishing and a love for nature make a great read
Thomas McGuane is known for his fiction: all american heroes loving freedom and independence and travelling trough love affairs, jobs ,places and landscapes with reckless pride.In "The Longest Silence", McGuane denounces where he has invested his personal slice of freedom: away from literary speculations and the ambition of fiction, in american and faraway...
Published on 22 Jan. 2002 by pedro.oliveira@rtp.pt

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars The Longest Ramble
Whilst this is a well written book, I found it rambling and uninteresting. I much prefer John Gierach's direct and straight-talking style.

Hey, it's only my opinion :).
Published on 3 Feb. 2011 by Grakers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic fishing and a love for nature make a great read, 22 Jan. 2002
This review is from: The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing (Paperback)
Thomas McGuane is known for his fiction: all american heroes loving freedom and independence and travelling trough love affairs, jobs ,places and landscapes with reckless pride.In "The Longest Silence", McGuane denounces where he has invested his personal slice of freedom: away from literary speculations and the ambition of fiction, in american and faraway trout rivers.
For McGuane fishing is a way of life, a way to discover the good things of life on earth.This is no fishing guide or the chronicle of an obsession.The author simply has interpreted what all lovers of fishing and nature feel when connected to the magic moments of their sport: oneness with life, the elements,the fauna and flora that surround us, and the conscience that all this is threatned, transient, fragile.
The great quality of this book- fishing scenes and technical expertise aside- is that McGuane manages to convey his outdoor passion in connection with friends, acquintances, communities and a general sense of belonging to this planet and of entitlement to fight for his preservation.Fishing is solitude and not loneliness, writes McGuane. In fact he takes us on a long trip through his best memories and that means a lot of travelling. In the end we come to think that the world would be a better place if we would all understand the beauty of catching and releasing a trout in some wild river somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully written essays that capture the charm of fishing, 3 Aug. 2000
This is a series of essays on fishing experiences throughout the life of the author. They are wonderfully written, and capture the charm and allure of fishing, of being out there in the great outdoors to 'go fishing' rather than merely to catch fish. McGuane is a wonderfully observant and expressive writer. This book has soul. If being out there, with or without fishing rod, appeals to you, I urge you to read this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Calming, 13 Mar. 2006
By 
D. Evans "fat5hark" (Off the Cape) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing (Paperback)
An excellent fishing book. Not a 'how to..', but a rambling, gentle examination of the ethos of the sport. If you enjoy Gierach you'll probably like this (and vice versa). More saltwater topics - blues, tarpon and (particularly) permit - here than Gierach but all beautifully written. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 May 2001
By 
spentgnat (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Longest Silence (Hardcover)
As a collector of angling literature, I would rate Thomas McGuanes book beside Negley Farsons "Going Fishing", Sir Edward Greys "Fly Fishing" and Patrick R Chalmers "Where the Spring Salmon Run". These men not only have the ability to write well about fishing, but also to describe the very essence and spirit of what is more than a mere pastime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-have" for anyone who loves reading about fishing., 20 Jun. 2000
By A Customer
In a book of vivid vignettes that take readers to locations as diverse as Russia, the Florida Keys and Ireland, Tom McGuane gets to the heart of the passion and obsessiveness that drives so many fly fisherman. His stories about Northern Canada, Ireland and Russia are memorable, but McGuane is undeniably at his best when writing about fishing the flats for permit in the Florida Keys. The Longest Silence is the one book that should be read by every fanatical fly fisherman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best angling writers I have encountered, 22 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Longest Silence (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a technical treatise on fly fishing this book is not for you. If on the other hand you enjoy wonderfully descriptive and evocative words describing the joy of all fishing, pick this up. Superb !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
Mr. R. D. Thomas (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing (Paperback)
Book arrived in a timely manner & the product was as described. Lovely little story to this book, small font is my only complaint but otherwise this is one for the collection, very nice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Longest Ramble, 3 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing (Paperback)
Whilst this is a well written book, I found it rambling and uninteresting. I much prefer John Gierach's direct and straight-talking style.

Hey, it's only my opinion :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fisherman's delight, 19 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing (Paperback)
This book was a gift for my elder son's birthday. He said that he loved the intelligence, the wit and the sober style of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good buy, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing (Paperback)
Just what it says on the tin - an angling saga. Fulfilment up to Amazon's usual high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing
The Longest Silence: A Life In Fishing by Thomas McGuane (Paperback - 2 Aug. 2001)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews