Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars44
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2013
A marvellous book, giving a thorough study of Nelson. The descriptive content was absolutely wonderful and kept me enthralled all the way through.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
bought for my son in law who really enjoyed it. My daughter complained that whenever she wanted some thing done he had is head in the book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Having finished this mighty work, I have to admit feeling a little lost. I mean, you know Nelson will die at the end but by the time you get there you actually feel the loss almost as much as the country did.

You cannot compare Nelson with, say, Beckham today in terms of popularity. This was not a man who was just 'famous', he was the country's hero, it's protector, the man who could lead a fleet against the French. We will possibly never see that sort of adulation ever again.

I had read about Trafalgar, but Nelson was a 'character' in the version I read, whereas here you get the man, the build up and the battle. Following on from the first book this starts just before the Nile and Baltic Battles and covers those and Nelson's two periods in the Med before ending with Trafalgar.

What is fascinating is how Sudgen gets underneath the skin of the man and his relationship with the Hamiltons, his love affair with Emma and the subsequent collapse of his marriage - or rather the enforced seperation he enforced on his wife. Yes, this isn't just about the fighting.

Sugden also gives a comprehensive insight into the logistics of the Royal Navy from the stocking of ships to the inside lives of the crew. It's not just about Nelson.

But Nelson was an interesting person because he was possibly one of the last people we of the British Isles will see that basically physically led the country into battle. He could not go into a town or city by carriage unless the local people came out and took the horses off and carried it into the centre. At one point he even toured the country in a manner very similar to Elizabeth the First might have.

People were calling for him to fight the French and Spanish fleet when it was sighted, but amongst all this adulation was a man who thrived on approval, was financially poor and emotionally torn.

One final point: Don't make the mistake I made and get this book, get part way through the first chapter and realise this is Book Two of Two. Doh! Saying that, you can simply pick this up and go. Briliant.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Having read the part 1 of Mr. Sugden's Nelson already, this book is excellent as well. Detailed, well researched, easy to read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Together with the first part, “A Dream of Glory", this two volume biography of Nelson by Dr Sugden is unlikely to be surpasses as it is both well written and authoritative. Dr Sugden gives sources for all of his contentions, and differentiates between provable facts and likely probabilities. Both volumes give life to Nelson as a man, rather than simply as an Admiral, and might well be of interest to someone who is interested in the social, rather than the military History of the period. Others have used superlatives to describe these volumes and I can only echo these sentiments. My only personal quibble, and it is a personal quibble, is that I would have liked to have seen a little more of Nelson's friendship with Collingwood. If you only read one biography of Nelson, this has to be it.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
If your interested I Nelsons history this is an excellent book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
My husband really enjoyed this as he is a fan of Nelson
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
This is a fantastic book revealing all about the life, loves, battles and every day life of our hero. The research and detail is amazing and Sugden reveals the full character of Nelson with many flaws, but also his amazing charm, drive, ability and incredible courage and determination. Worth reading volume 1 (Nelson, A dream of Glory) first.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Amazing read, Dr Sugden is an outstanding authour
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2015
Well written and completely absorbing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.