Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best
Together with the first part, “A Dream of Glory", this two volume biography of Nelson by Dr Sugden is unlikely to be surpasses as it is both well written and authoritative. Dr Sugden gives sources for all of his contentions, and differentiates between provable facts and likely probabilities. Both volumes give life to Nelson as a man, rather than simply as an...
Published 12 months ago by A W Anderson

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Preferred Nelson dreams of Glory
I much preferred Sugdens first book, mainly due to Nelsons early life being characterised by constant action, whilst his later life which this book describes is a few fleet actions and his work as a diplomat. This period in his life was also taken up by Lady Hamilton. Pleased I read it but not as good as the first book
Published 16 months ago by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the Best, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
Together with the first part, “A Dream of Glory", this two volume biography of Nelson by Dr Sugden is unlikely to be surpasses as it is both well written and authoritative. Dr Sugden gives sources for all of his contentions, and differentiates between provable facts and likely probabilities. Both volumes give life to Nelson as a man, rather than simply as an Admiral, and might well be of interest to someone who is interested in the social, rather than the military History of the period. Others have used superlatives to describe these volumes and I can only echo these sentiments. My only personal quibble, and it is a personal quibble, is that I would have liked to have seen a little more of Nelson's friendship with Collingwood. If you only read one biography of Nelson, this has to be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 26 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the famous warship, this biography triumphs. The build up to Trafalgar is particularly well written; real tension before battle, then the explosive action with no sparing of horrific detail, finally great pathos in the description of Nelson's death. Masterly from beginning to end, throughout two hefty volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding scholarship, 1 Nov. 2012
By 
Gerald Hoare "gerrythegreat" (Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
This second volume of John Sugden's biography of Nelson does not disappoint. After impatiently waiting for its publication, John Sugden's scholarship once again, brings Nelson alive and shows us, warts and all,
the man who was perhaps Britain's greatest warrior. It's essential reading for children of a certain age and adults alike if we are to understand our nation's history and appreciate the horrors and grimness of armed conflict
to which we resort when threatened with conquest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite quite outstanding, 9 Nov. 2012
By 
Pyers Symon (Worcester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
Having waited 8 years for the second volume, I have astonished at the quality and detail of the scholarship shown here. I haven't finished the book yet (it is many hundreds of pages long) but what I have read makes it one of the best biographies I have ever read. It is not a military history so don't expect details of battles except where they pertain to Nelson himself. Quite brilliant. One tiny tiny quibble: the notes and references are dreadful to use when compared with Vol 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be Wowed, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
I am reading this book, having read John Sugden's previous book - NELSON A Dream of Glory. The first was brilliant and this one is no less inspiring. It is well written and easy to understand, with maps showing the where and when of battles. There are also several illustrations of various people who played an important part in Nelson's life, together with such written detail that I am filled with awe and respect for the amount of research that must have gone into this tome. It truly shows the man as well as the Admiral and both books must be the most informative and comprehensive ever written about Nelson. If you want a warts and all read and to really get to know Nelson then these two are in a league of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A biography worthy of it's subject, 1 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
Exceedingly well researched,Dr Sugden gives you an impartial view of his subject.The writing has a terrific pace about it,suitable to the man of action it portrays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you read just one biographer of Nelson then it has to be Dr John Sugden. Quite simply this is the summit of scholarship and readability combined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent second half of the Nelson biography, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
A very detailed account of Nelson after he'd achieved a certain fame and notoriety. I read both volumes in order to reach the climax and the Battle of Trafalgar. I only wish there was more pages detailing that one battle... The book could do with a schematic of at least one Ship of the Line, given the frequent textual reference to areas of these ships. But all in all, a very well written, very interesting, and very rewarding book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read, re-read and read again!, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my father, who enjoyed I immensely. There is so much information he has read it several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Be careful, it will take over your life!, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nelson: The Sword of Albion (Hardcover)
Quite possibly the greatest book ever written. OK maybe that's over doing it, but this is truly a magnificent work. 1000 pages of illumination. I thought I knew the essential facts of the man. I knew nothing, and the reality is so much more than the myth.

I bought the hardback after reading the e-book, just so I could hold it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nelson: The Sword of Albion
Nelson: The Sword of Albion by Dr John Sugden (Hardcover - 27 Sept. 2012)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews