Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book�
I picked this book up on someone's desk at work and started flicking through. "Haven't read it myself but it's meant to be quite good" was the brief recommendation.
Quite good aren't really the words for this beautiful story of, well, just two friends and the short period during which they try to adjust to having left school and face uncertain future.
The...
Published on 15 Sept. 2004 by Jeremy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Old to Rock & Roll?
Much has been made of Ghost World world. It has a devoted following among reviewers and readers alike like who seem to be dedicated to the extreme. And maybe that's the problem. I approached the book with open eyes, unbiased by and inexperienced with graphic novels. That could also explain why I was a bit underwhelmed. I certainly understand that Ghost World is, for a...
Published 7 months ago by Keizu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book�, 15 Sept. 2004
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
I picked this book up on someone's desk at work and started flicking through. "Haven't read it myself but it's meant to be quite good" was the brief recommendation.
Quite good aren't really the words for this beautiful story of, well, just two friends and the short period during which they try to adjust to having left school and face uncertain future.
The tale(s) centre on Enid (a sassy, witty deep thinker with a sarcastic rapier like wit) and Rebecca (an attractive gentle girl, a more relaxed foil to Enid's barely concealed angry angst). Daniel Clowes chronicles their small time (and town) adventures, with a sensitivity that belies both his gender and dare I say the comic book format.
It soon becomes apparent that the friendship that served them well through school and through what could have been some very tough times (a funeral is suggested in the opening pages, Enid's had multiple step mothers and Rebecca appears to only have a single parent / grandmother / guardian?) is going to be tested and stretched as they grow apart and try to find out who they are and who they want to be...
I was amazed and unsettled as to how instantly I was whisked back to that painful time when you're told that you're completely free and everything is possible. Yet, at the same time - like Enid and to lesser extent Rebecca - you're seized by a terrible nostalgic fear of the future and clutch for security at what's in your past.
My only criticism (and this is probably actually one the books strengths) is the brevity of the stories is quite brutal. You begin to care desperately for these vulnerable characters and want to be reassured that they do indeed find some kind of contentment ... yet the ambiguous story lines and (in my mind) vague ending ensures that they remain ghosts not just from the author's but your own past as well...
Buy it, as the other reviewers have said it's wonderful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the very thing that happens, 31 Aug. 2006
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
Don't you just hate it when a reviewer titles their review with a line you'd only understand if you'd read the book they're reviewing, and why would you read it if you'd read the book.

Ghost World isn't exactly value for money at only 80pages. But its a great story of friendship and the transition between different stages of life, in this case high school to college, you'll feel gratified after reading it.

What's really interesting about Ghost World is the way its two characters are all so right about their judgments on the world around them, but they are so judgmental that not even themselves or each other live up to their expectations.
Like 'Black Hole' this story shows that life doesn't simply start and ends like a story, encapsulating just a piece of life.

The story is both funny and emotional, true to life and outrageously off the wall.
Daniel Clowes style is defined by its set black lines that in case ever detail, coloured simply in white and mint shade of green. It's not the value of other comics but it's one you'll want to read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fantastic introduction to Clowes & Graphic novels, 25 Sept. 2001
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
Not having read a graphic novel before (I can't remember why...), I was drawn to this by a description of the upcoming film adaption in 'Uncut'...It's as good as Coupland & Pahulinuk; it took an hour or so of a train journey to read (& therefore ranks up there with 'Anthropology' & 'Jesus'Son'& the complete short stories of Raymond Carver, as minimal masterpieces...)
It is funny & sad & true & satirical & all this and more. I re-read the end pages several times & felt a little like Enid staring at Thirties Rebecca. I wanted to be back at the beginning again...
For anyone who wants to taste the blue mood of the early 1990's- 'Generation X', 'Prozac Nation', 'My So-called Life', 'Everclear' etc. Or who is looking for another 'Catcher in the Rye' or 'Life After God'or 'L'Etranger'...Well, here it is...& despite the stereotype of comics/graphic novels & the book's brevity, I can think of nothing else I can reccomend more highly at the moment.
For teenagers; for adults with memories; for people who overuse the word "f**k". For...everyone.
Wonderful; what more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is just so incredibly GOOD!, 17 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
I came to discover this book backwards, almost by chance: Aimee Mann has a song called Ghost World which was inspired by this book. It's a wonderful song, so I figured I might check out the book.
Oh my god.
I read it in one sitting. It's very brief (80 pages or so) and completely absorbing. It draws you in like very few books, comic or not, can. The two main characters are two teenage girls, Enid and Rebecca, who are hanging around their small town the summer after they graduate from high school. That's it.
The thing is, it's not. Clowes somehow manages to convey in every sentence, every frame, the feeling of being a teenager and feeling the dead ends wherever you head. And the wonderful thing is, the dead ends are not shoved down your throat. It's a subtle thing, present in an empty street, a record store, a diner. Where you find them in real life.
Trust me on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm bailing this town or probably more like hanging around, 29 Feb. 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
I read this over a decade ago so I thought it was high time to return to what is widely regarded as Daniel Clowes' masterpiece and one of the finest comics to crossover to mainsteam literature. I thought on re-reading it with my teen years behind me that the book would seem silly but I was pleasantly surprised to find the book still remains funny, clever, heart-wrenching, and compulsively vibrant throughout.

The story follows two teenage girls, Edie and Becca, as they contemplate the void following high school graduation and the uncertain future that lays ahead. The book is also a brilliant portrait of two best friends and their complex relationship and is a paean to friendships held in our youth, and how finding out our true selves and desires can break these friendships and lead us far from the people we once were.

Edie rages against growing up but can't help but drift closer towards it by filling out college forms, learning to drive, taking holidays away from her hometown, and moving further away from her dad and his string of ex-wives. She tries to hang onto her youth by finding old records she listened to as a kid while wishing she were in a relationship with a boy she doesn't know how to reach.

Clowes does a fantastic job of creating these two rich characters, giving them moments of pathos, levity, and reality. There are some genuinely funny moments like when Edie goes to the sex shop, the Satanists in the café, and the way Clowes inserts himself into the story depicting himself as this sexually depraved weirdo. And there are heart-breaking scenes like the final pages when Edie can't speak to Becca anymore and sees her through a window before getting on a bus out of town, or when Josh and Edie try to express their feelings for each other.

I felt that Edie could be construed as hipster-ish with her moments of over-cutesiness and quirky fashion choices but I also felt that Edie wouldn't care what label you gave her, she's that well written, you could imagine having a conversation with her. And anyway there are too many excellent points about this book for any hipster nonsense to overshadow.

"Ghost World" is rightly considered a modern masterpiece of literature, not just for comics, but for all books. Edie and Becca are perfectly realised characters and their story is real, haunting, relatable, tragic, and wonderful. Clowes' subtle storytelling and perfect layouts of the panels makes this story far deeper than you would imagine and all the more memorable for it. If you know anyone who scoffs when you mention comics, tell them to read "Ghost World" and then ask them if comics are all men in tights. It's easily one of the best books ever written about growing up and an utterly absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes, you will feel young again., 6 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
Where do I begin. First of all, if you like the
wit of "The Catcher in the Rye" and enjoy
"anti-hero" characters, then you must buy this book. The girls are beyond Holden Caulfied and are quite rude, crude and, for the reader, downright funny.
The book worked in that, I as a 40-yo, felt what the young girls in the book were feeling.
Also, it is a great book for people who like to
people watch and make up identities for strangers ("Look, it's the satanists!")
Buy a few hours worth of your favorite mind-altering beverage, take off your shoes, get on the couch and read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourites novels, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
Jack Heslop (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
Ghost World is an understated, melancholy and often hilarious tale about the passage to adulthood. High school graduates Enid Coleslaw (anagram of Daniel Clowes) and Rebecca Doppelmeyer wander LA meeting various oddballs, as they put off the question of what to do with their lives.
Enid is the more prominent of the two. Quasi-intellectual, bitter, confused, she isn't as standardly pretty or outgoing as Rebecca, who reads teen magazines and has more interest in boys. Though best friends since childhood, as they've grown and their personalities evolved the friendship has become strained. They love each other but are crippled by apathy towards their oncoming adulthood.
Other characters include Enid's father; his current girlfriend; John Ellis, an acquaintance obsessed with the morbid; a paedophile priest; and Josh, another recent graduate whose niceness the girls exploit.
The humour, which touches on Satanism and child porn, is sometimes outlandishly dark (typical of Clowes) but as the story progresses its true themes emerge, until what you're left with is a tender, profound dramedy about growing up. Enid and Rebecca are lost in the ghost world of their late teenage years, unsure what to do next, denying to the last they have to do anything at all. They visit crappy diners and sex shops, poke fun at the people they meet, make crank calls etc., until finally issues like college catch up with them. The ending is at once ambiguous and achingly inevitable. Whether what happens is symbolic or not, it marks the natural culmination of the story.
The panels are black, white and pale blue, intended by Clowes to evoke the experience of walking home at twilight, which nicely accentuates the story's tone. The characters' features have a pleasing attention to detail - squinty eyes, down turned lips - which imply their independent personalities.
All in all, an excellent choice for fans of serious literature and comic books alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too Old to Rock & Roll?, 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Keizu (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
Much has been made of Ghost World world. It has a devoted following among reviewers and readers alike like who seem to be dedicated to the extreme. And maybe that's the problem. I approached the book with open eyes, unbiased by and inexperienced with graphic novels. That could also explain why I was a bit underwhelmed. I certainly understand that Ghost World is, for a graphic novel, ground breaking. I'm sure it broke all the rules at the time. The story and the two protagonists are interesting, eccentric and easy to relate to, even at my age (53). The visuals are strong and the dialogue true-to-life. I even, after a second reading, understood the universal themes Clowes was weaving that were less obvious at first glance-learning to overcome self-hatred, betrayal, the loss of innocence. I guess the problem was that I judged Ghost World not by the standards of youth fiction or comic books, but of literature and the post-modern novel. Against that backdrop it just felt thin and a bit trite. But more importantly it simply did not move me enough to really care about the fate of its characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, if a little short..., 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
The observational humour, teenage angst and slice of Americana are very enjoyable as Clowes gives us a little insight into two awkward adolescent girls and their mundane suburban existence. The print quality is great; the colour is vibrant and the pictures nice and detailed in a traditional comic book style.

My only disappointment was how short the graphic novel felt. It really only tickles the surface of the characters' worlds and this seemed like one edition in what should have been a bigger story. The film inspired by the book took the initial premise and expounded upon it giving the audience something a little deeper and more involving. This felt like it was over before it begun - a frustrating appetiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ghost world review, 4 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Ghost World (Paperback)
I'm new to reading graphic novels but this appealed after reading some reviews on the genre. I found Ghost World very entertaining and it made me laugh. The pictures are very well drawn, brilliant even in character observation and certainly tell more than half the story. The balance between words and images works like a film, (unsurprisingly) which for me makes this a particularly successful book. The characters though 'charicatures' are also painfully real, you just have to laugh. Daniel Clowes seems to capture the essence of young teenagers brilliantly. Very American in culture and delivery but still relevant to the British reader. Highly recommended if you can take the rude dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost World
Ghost World by Daniel Clowes (Paperback - 20 July 2000)
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews