Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent
A stunning, magnificent, warmly enveloping work - startlingly evocative imagery on both a grand and intimate scale.

Carson uses her boldly brilliant words to conjure an engaging involvement in the small things of Geryon's life, while effortlessly laying open the eternal themes of outsider experience and unrequited love.

Rewards multiple readings.
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by HartWud

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but a little flat.
Ultimately I was hoping for something a little more in tune with the classical world it invokes. Despite the character being called Geryon and Herakles, they really have nothing more in common with their mythical counterparts than the name. I also felt the world of the classics did not seem present. Other authors (such as Mark Merlis in his novel An Arrows Flight) manage...
Published 17 months ago by RML Franklin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 14 Oct 2011
This review is from: Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry) (Paperback)
A stunning, magnificent, warmly enveloping work - startlingly evocative imagery on both a grand and intimate scale.

Carson uses her boldly brilliant words to conjure an engaging involvement in the small things of Geryon's life, while effortlessly laying open the eternal themes of outsider experience and unrequited love.

Rewards multiple readings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but a little flat., 20 July 2013
By 
RML Franklin "Surells" (Solihull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry) (Paperback)
Ultimately I was hoping for something a little more in tune with the classical world it invokes. Despite the character being called Geryon and Herakles, they really have nothing more in common with their mythical counterparts than the name. I also felt the world of the classics did not seem present. Other authors (such as Mark Merlis in his novel An Arrows Flight) manage to set the myths in the modern world whilst still keeping ancient Greece as an influence. Anne Carson leaves every trace of classicism behind. That isn't necessarily bad, but it raises the question of why she is using these myths at all when her poem has so little to do with them. it just feels like a waste, and is a little frustrating when the matter around the poem itself promotes the myth so heavily.

The poetry is solid but unexceptional. There were some nice passages, though nothing really memorable.

Ultimately, this is an enjoyable enough poem, but I couldn't recommend it at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing and emotional read, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Rosie (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry) (Paperback)
One of the most absorbing books I have ever read. As a non-academic type it was a bit strange at first, but once I got over that I was lost so deeply that I carried the character and his story around in my head all the time for weeks on end. Reading this was an emotional experience! I can't wait to buy the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Poetry., 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry) (Paperback)
Anne Carson is a part of the very rare numbers or elite poets. This book takes you on a journey, that no other prose poem can. Recommended read for poetry lovers, and those that appreciate fine art, through the medium of words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book was genuinely like brand new, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry) (Paperback)
This book was genuinely like brand new. Better condition than I expected even for a 'used good condition' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Authobiography of Red, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry) (Paperback)
The book was in good condition, even if I was a little bewildered by a tag clearly qualifying it as a public library book.
Beside that, nothing wrong with the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry)
Autobiography Of Red (Cape Poetry) by Anne Carson (Paperback - 15 July 1999)
£12.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews