Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marvellous Book!
This is a wonderful book. The pictures weave a beautiful story based around Christmas. I am a teacher and have used the book as a stimulus for creative writing many times, A Small Miracle inspires children to produce the most incredible stories. I have yet to find a person, child or adult who does not enjoy and feel moved by this book.
Published on 8 Dec. 2001 by Mrs. H. M. Lewis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good book
I like this book (it was recommended to me) but I'm not sure it is actually quite what I had in mind. Lovely illistrations.
Published 23 months ago by Mrs. Karen L. Warne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Marvellous Book!, 8 Dec. 2001
By 
Mrs. H. M. Lewis "take that fan" (In my lounge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. The pictures weave a beautiful story based around Christmas. I am a teacher and have used the book as a stimulus for creative writing many times, A Small Miracle inspires children to produce the most incredible stories. I have yet to find a person, child or adult who does not enjoy and feel moved by this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 2 Nov. 2007
By 
Jadi (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
This book is quite hard to get hold of;snap it up if you see a copy.I have read this book to many infant classes over the years,and their excitement at the picture of the nativity figures moving over the snow to rescue the old lady is always a delight to see. Magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enchanting picture book story for Christmas, 1 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
One of the most delightful picture books I have seen. A wordless story with detailed, meticulous illustrations. A set of Nativity figures briefly come to life to help a penniless, hungry old woman on Christmas Eve. My daughter aged 4 loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and meaningful story, 20 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
A wonderful book for all ages. It has a lovely moral. We studyed the book at school and everyone loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One I return to year after year....., 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
As a teacher I use this book with a variety of age groups as the messages can be accessed at different levels. Makes for a good contemporary treatment of the Nativity but also addresses social issues sensitively leading to some wonderful PSHCE lessons and questions the real meaning of Christmas and the reason for Jesus' birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 9 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Paperback)
I don't understand why this beautiful book and the dvd hasn't yet become established as a classic. The summary is that an old lady, poor, hungry, cold and marginalised, stops to rescue the crib-scene figures who have been scattered around a church by a robber. She then collapses in the snow on her way home. Who comes to help her: the little figures from the crib-scene. They take her home, repair her wooden caravan, go to the supermarket (yes) to buy her food. She wakes up to a warm, cosy caravan, a full cupboard, and a big Christmas dinner, with no idea of how it all happened. This is the best Christmas book I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Small Miracle, 17 Nov. 2010
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
A little know and under-used story. I have used it many times with classes of children. They and I never cease to be amazed and it brings a real sense of awe and wonder. When I first bought it I wished it had words but now recognise its value for stimulating language and discussions with children. The message is powerful and often brings a tear to the eye.
A very special book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars quite a good book, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
I like this book (it was recommended to me) but I'm not sure it is actually quite what I had in mind. Lovely illistrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Book For All Ages, 2 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Hardcover)
A simple picture book with no words so it can be read by all ages. We studied this book at school and found it really interesting. It has a moral but is not based on one so if you like morals or not this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, 5 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Small Miracle (Paperback)
Beautiful book Used in Christmas RE lesson PROVOKED LOTS OF INTERESTING DISCUSSION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Small Miracle
A Small Miracle by Peter Collington (Hardcover - 2 Oct. 1997)
Used & New from: £6.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews