Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
The wonderful book arrived almost immediately - just as described and more! Inside were original cuttings and magazine exerts the owner had held onto. The book was a gift and these 'extras' made it even more special. It is a truly beautiful piece of artwork and we still haven't solved the puzzle!
Published on 9 May 2012 by Lucy Candice

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Masquerade
Book arrived as expected. On time and just as described.

However, the book was bent and I am not sure where this happened. It could have been by the postman trying to squeeze it through the letter box. Great shame.

Might be an idea to have "do not bend" on outer packaging.

Other than this delighted.
Published 7 months ago by Ms. S. Delaney


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
The wonderful book arrived almost immediately - just as described and more! Inside were original cuttings and magazine exerts the owner had held onto. The book was a gift and these 'extras' made it even more special. It is a truly beautiful piece of artwork and we still haven't solved the puzzle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The beauty of puzzles, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
With this, rather slim, hardback a whole publishing phenomena was launched - the picture puzzle book which could lead you to a real buried treasure. Masquerade was first published in 1979 by Jonathan Cape (U.K. edition) and garnered a massive amount of media attention and publicity.

Masquerade contains prints of fifteen painted pictures and is accompanied by a short story about Jack Hare. Jack is on a mission to find the Sun and give him a riddle and a gift from the Moon. The pictures and their painted borders contain the key clues with which to solve the puzzle, alongside some visual jokes and red herrings. Within the text are other riddles that are amusing to solve and easy enough to be read by younger children. The story itself is a fun, short, read with its featuring of Sir Isaac Newton, other strange human and non-human characters, flashes of humour in the dialogue and a mix of fable, myth and science.

I absolutely adore this book, although at the time that it was published I was a bit too young to really know how to solve the puzzles for the treasure hunt. The gorgeous paintings, the idea of a hidden treasure, seemed fantastical to me and what books should be all about.

The treasure itself, the golden hare necklace, was found in 1982 and is currently owned by a private collector; today the book remains as a curiosity item and getting hold of an original copy can be pricey. It is entirely worth the effort if you enjoy the rich style of Kit Williams' art and the inventiveness of picture puzzles (as a mental exercise).

The solution to the puzzle, also of Kit William's second treasure-related book (known as 'The Bee Book'), can be found online as well as other interesting - sometimes dramatic, real-life stories based around the hunt for the golden hare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an incredible book, a classic beloved by people worldwide, 2 Jun 2008
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
This book is simply magic -- an amazing puzzle that kept people fascinated worldwide for years before the solution was revealed. NOTE: GET THE BOOK WITHOUT READING THE SOLUTION THAT HAS BEEN PUBLISHED AND ALSO FOOLISHLY POSTED IN THE OTHER USER REVIEW ON THIS PAGE -- you will have more fun.

The illustrations are simply incredible and engrossing, and the puzzle is really an adventurous mind game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hare Raising!, 7 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
This is still a wonderful book to behold - even if the golden hare has long been found and the excitement of the hunt died away.

There are few British artists who could have pulled that publication event off but Kit Williams did and this beautiful book is his legacy.

If you do not collect his work, then shame on you! Make amends, and buy this. You will never regret it and your grandchildren will inherit a book that is a genuine modern classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
Masquerade is an inspiring & truly magical creation. Published in 1979, the hidden treasure has long since been found & auctioned off - nevertheless this collection of Kit Williams paintings is treasure in itself. Reminds me of my childhood daydreams & makes me want to paint & play again in imagined worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and Interesting, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
A lovely book, filled with beautiful illustrations. Interesting to look at. A nice book to own. The pictures are very detailed. Wonderful to consider that this book was once the source of a giant treasure hunt, don't think I would have been able to solve it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book I have always wanted, 19 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
I have always wanted to own a Kit Williams book; his artwork is fascinating and magical.
This one arrived on time and hardly worn despite being 39 years old ! ( Printed in 1979 ). Somehow that increases the the magic. Each page holds a clue and I shall now begin to solve the puzzle..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
One of my all time favourite books. It's magical and I am getting on for 70! I have copies of several others but none come close to the magic of "Masquerade", not even Kit Williams' second treasure hunt book. If you find it hard to locate a copy hunt shops selling used books. That's where I found mine and in the same shop I found "Quest for the Golden Hare" by Bamber Gascoigne for the princely sum of £2.50! It was a long time ago mind. Also an excellent book, it tells the whole story of how the hare and the the book was conceived, buried and found again. Very highly recommended for those who like to let their imaginations transcend the humdrum of ordinary life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first illustrated puzzle book by Kit Williams, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masquerade - The Answers (Paperback)
Everyone I know who sees this book falls in love with it, it is a pity the puzzle was solved so quickly, they should plant more jeweled hares
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masquerade (Hardcover)
very nice book in good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masquerade - The Answers
Masquerade - The Answers by Kit Williams (Paperback - Jun 1982)
Used & New from: £7.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews