Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing
What's it like to be in battle? Many of those of us who haven't actually been in battle must have wondered now and then. After all, war and battle seem to be a permanent part of the human condition, and evidence of past battles surround us on all sides.

We may never truly know (except if you're willing to join one, I beg to be excused) but reading this book...
Published on 17 Sep 2007 by Didier

versus
3 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed by awful grammar
Whilst undoubtedly this book has a lot of useful information I found the written style to be awful. The sentences were far too long and convoluted to the point where it was hard work to read, hard work to grasp the intended meaning.
Published on 11 Sep 2011 by Mr. M. Kostyrka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 17 Sep 2007
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
What's it like to be in battle? Many of those of us who haven't actually been in battle must have wondered now and then. After all, war and battle seem to be a permanent part of the human condition, and evidence of past battles surround us on all sides.

We may never truly know (except if you're willing to join one, I beg to be excused) but reading this book will bring you as close as possible to understanding what moves men to go out and kill others.

John Keegan tries to shed light on the matter using 3 well-known battles (Agincourt, Waterloo and the Somme) and does so in an eminent matter. What he has to says is compelling, convincing, and very readable as are all his books. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why do soldiers stay on the battlefield?, 4 Sep 1999
By A Customer
It has been several years since I read this book, and while the details are fading, the overall impression remains vivid. A theme running through the book is why a soldier would commit the seemingly irrational act of remaining on a battlefield, where a person could get killed. Keegan finds that the reasons have changed through time, and posits that one of the challenges leaders in modern warfare face will be getting their troops to fight rather than hunker down for the duration.
_The Face of Battle_ is, or at least was fairly recently, required reading for the U.S. Army Command and General Staff Course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive work on battle & the human condition., 22 Dec 2004
This is a great work. I've always been facinated by the Human elements of war making. What posseses people to endure battle? What were the experiences of the various types of combatants through the ages? This book looks at all of this and much more.
Be warned, this is not light reading and nor shoul it be. Keegan employs complex structure in his language. This adds value for me. I've read this over and over and derived new thoughts each time. If you are interested in military history this is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 12 July 2011
This review is from: The Face of Battle: Study of Agincourt, Waterloo and the Somme (Hardcover)
Brilliantly written and easily readable. Well-informed and thought-provoking. It often states the obvious that many people interested in military history would not even think about - for example, how did soldiers relieve themselves during battle, especially when wearing armour; how much of the actual battle did a soldier see; how many soldiers actual fought in a battle; how did they react to conflict? Highly recommended for anyone interested in battles, military history and even human nature.

Dr Mike Dobson
University of Exeter
Research area - Roman military archaeology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic of Military History--or better, A Classic, period, 17 Nov 2007
Surely The Face of Battle was meant to be a very specialistic study of military history, dealing with a very specific issue, that is, what is combat seen from those who fight, be they medieval knights or modern soldiers. But the success of this book goes far beyond the narrow boundaries of military history, making this essay a classic of history in general--a classic of culture, one should add. This is a book that has fueled the writings of other military historians, of literary critics, of intellectuals of any kind; you find it quoted just everywhere. Because the main issue of the book is war as it was lived by human beings, not statistical abstractions; and Keegan has managed to render vividly and powerfully that experience. His elegant and classical prose helped him, no doubt; plus his brilliant scholarship; but there is also a powerful intelligence at work here, which enables him to provide us with dazzling insights in every page. So this is not just a book for academics or war buffs; it's a great monument of culture and thought that should be part of anyone who wants to understand the world we live in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Keith A. Mellard (Aberdeen, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fine exposition from a viewpoint I was not familiar with. The fact that the book is a 'classic' is I well known to specialists in the field, which of course, I am not. However for me it offered thoughts to consider that I have often wondered about, 'how would I react' to those sort of battle situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pioneering modern military history!, 27 Aug 2006
By 
Steen Lykke Laursen "Fortes Fortuna Juvat" (Oksboel, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The face of battle (Hardcover)
This is the way to document and present military history! Many a contemporary author and historian have learned from Keegan.

Studying the evolution of battle by closely examining the battles of Agincourt (1415), Waterloo (1815) and Somme (1916) - all set in North-Western Europe - is a brilliant idea. Further more it is done expertly with specific emphasis on the ordinary soldier as part of the cycle of warfare; "technology, doctrine/tactics and organization" constantly revolving around "training".

Four stars is a modest and thoroughly subjective rating on my part. I could have done without the first 70 or so pages where Keegan justifies his approach and method. The three "battle chapters" provide more than adequate justification! More than 30 years have passed and that makes Keegans closing speculations on the future of warfare kind of odd and not that interesting ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Military analysis with the smell of battle, 11 Nov 2003
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Keegan has a real ability to write in an accessible and engaging way about warfare, which is presumably why he has found such great success. In this wonderful book he applies (more or less) the same framework to three battles fought in different time with different weapons, dividing them up into individual components (archers vs infantry and cavalry at Agincourt, machine-gunners versus infantry at the Somme) that make the whole more intelligible. And while he dispassionately discusses the tactics used by the generals at the three battles, he never loses sight of the men who fought them nor of the conditions they endured and maybe died in. This is no sanitised account with pretty arrows on diagrams - there is a real smell of fear around the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soldiers view of the relatity of three different battles, 1 July 1999
By A Customer
Keegan delivers a military history book from a different perspective - the soldiers eye and with little detail on the 'greater' tactical picture of battle. The concept is original and engaging. Takes away any glory of victory and details the truth behind the clatter of Agincourt, the thunder of Waterloo and the iron rain of Somme. The well written frankness of the book seldom disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're not in kansas anymore., 31 Aug 1999
By A Customer
After reading many history books I have to say Keegans work takes you right onto the battlefield. Its one thing to know who took the hill and when but now I know what it felt like before during and after! Keegan has not limited himself to one era and seems to excel in making the reader understand what an archer, cavalryman, or artillaryman dealt with in their time. Should be required reading at west point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Face of Battle: Study of Agincourt, Waterloo and the Somme
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews